missing NTLDR

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by dragergo2, Aug 30, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dragergo2

    dragergo2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Posts:
    10
    I have read many threads, but got confused. Please help me with a simple solution (it cant be so complicated)

    I have a dell laptop with several partitions with XP pro os
    Half year ago I made an image with TI home of my OS partition(C:)
    Now I had some problems, and decided to step back to the previous os state
    chose to recover entire C: partition, reboot -NTLDR missing
    then chose to recover MBR, reboot still NTLDR missing

    What shold I do?
    Please help
     
  2. MrMorse

    MrMorse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Germany
    Hi,

    do you have a WinXP-OS-CD?
    Then you can do this:

    follow these steps:
    1. Use the Windows XP CD to start the computer.
    2. At the Welcome to Setup screen, press R to repair Windows.
    3. Log on to the Windows XP installation that you want to repair.
    4. Type fixboot, and then press ENTER.
    5. Type y, and then press ENTER to confirm that you want to write a new boot sector to the system partition. When you do this, the following information appears:
    The new bootsector was successfully written.
    6. Type exit, and then press ENTER to exit the Recovery Console.
    7. Restart the computer

    If it doesn't help please do the same procedure using "fixmbr" instead of "fixboot".
     
  3. jonyjoe81

    jonyjoe81 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Posts:
    829
    Another fix would be to just edit your boot.ini file.

    Missing 'ntldr' always occurs on multi boots or hidden partitions etc. Mainly the boot.ini file is pointing to the wrong partition.


    sample boot.ini

    [boot loader]
    timeout=30
    default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINDOWS
    [operating systems]
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Professional" /fastdetect /NoExecute=OptIn

    The fix here would be to change the (2) to 1 or 3 depending on how many partitions you had on the source hard drive, and see if that will get the computer to bootup.

    you'll need a bartpe bootcd to be able to get into the non-booting harddrive and do changes.
     
  4. dragergo2

    dragergo2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Posts:
    10
    Unfortunately I have a Dell vostro, and cant boot from a simple xp cd,
    the xp live didnt work either
    I get blue screen on installing see http://forum.notebookreview.com/showthread.php?t=230123
    I need to slipstream an xp, now Im trying, but isnt there a simpler way?

    Gergo
     
  5. dragergo2

    dragergo2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Posts:
    10
    I have downloaded a bartpe xp but it didnt work

    mrmorse way I was able to reach the command promt

    my hd has the following 4 partitions:
    Xp C: c(0)p(2) no2 were my XP is

    Munka F: c(0)p(3) no5

    Fat 16 c(0)p(1) no1

    Mediadirect c(0)p(4) no6 dell program, I never use it, dosent even work

    when I enter command promt 1 c:\ windows seems to be my XP disk
    2 f:\ windows seems to be my Mediadirect disk

    at the moment boot ini, ntldr, and ntdetect.com are on the Mediadirect disk (whyo_O?)

    which windows should I log on to, and what shold I do

    Please help, I cant finish my work, Im dead since 3 days now

    Gergo
     
  6. dragergo2

    dragergo2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Posts:
    10
    I have copied the ntdetect.com, ntldr files to c: (XP)
    new message appeared on booting (not missing ntldr): a windows file was missing

    dose it mean that my os is on the mediadirect partition??
    I have run fixboot F: but on rebooting still NTLDR missing

    o_O
     
  7. dragergo2

    dragergo2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Posts:
    10
    Im afraid to make fixmbr cause it says it can mix up the partition table which is now ok

    how can I see and edit the boot.ini

    Gergo
     
  8. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,652
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    dragergo2,

    Can you tell us more about your hardware/partitions?

    How large is the HD?
    How large is your TI image?
    How old is the laptop?
    Did you remove the HD from your computer at any stage?
    Have you deleted any partitions?
    Can you boot to the Dell Diagnostic partition?
    Do you have partitioning software? If so what is the current partition layout?
    What problems did you have that led to the image restore?
     
  9. dragergo2

    dragergo2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Posts:
    10
    laptop is a dell vostro shipped with vista one year ago
    HD 160GB
    the information of the partitions I got from TI rescue media
    Xp C: c(0)p(2) no2 were my XP is

    Munka F: c(0)p(3) no5

    Fat 16 c(0)p(1) no1

    Mediadirect c(0)p(4) no6 dell program, I never use it, dosent even work


    TI image is 5GB
    I didnt touch the partition on purpose
    what is dell diag partition?
    no partitioning software

    I tried to fix some problems like Outlook express didnt send/receive, skype stopped working, network problems (a virus maybe, but I never had before, I always protect the system) with the image restoration.

    at the moment Im trying to edit the boot.ini

    originally it was:
    [boot loader]
    timeout=0
    default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS
    [operating systems]
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Embedded" /fastdetect /KERNEL=NTOSBOOT.EXE /maxmem=768


    I have tried, but same NTLDR missing with:
    [boot loader]
    timeout=0
    default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(4)\WINDOWS
    [operating systems]
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(4)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Embedded" /fastdetect /KERNEL=NTOSBOOT.EXE /maxmem=768

    thanks for trying to help
     
  10. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,652
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    dragergo2,

    What tool are you using for editing boot.ini?

    You have nothing to lose. Try this boot.ini

    [boot loader]
    timeout=30
    default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINDOWS
    [operating systems]
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP" /fastdetect /NoExecute=OptIn
     
  11. dragergo2

    dragergo2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Posts:
    10
    funny, right now I started to try exactly the same

    Im editing on another pc, using external hd, copying it each time, after xp install rescue option
    Is there an easier way?
     
  12. dragergo2

    dragergo2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Posts:
    10
    same result
    should I copy ntldr, and ntdetect.com on the XP (2)partition?
     
  13. dragergo2

    dragergo2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Posts:
    10
    I have copied them to c:
    now the following message came up on booting

    Windows could not find system32\hal.dll
    what now?
     
  14. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,652
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    That's a better error.

    I'd again try...

    [boot loader]
    timeout=30
    default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINDOWS
    [operating systems]
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP" /fastdetect /NoExecute=OptIn

    If it doesn't work, try

    [boot loader]
    timeout=30
    default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS
    [operating systems]
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP" /fastdetect /NoExecute=OptIn

    If it doesn't work, try

    [boot loader]
    timeout=30
    default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(3)\WINDOWS
    [operating systems]
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(3)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP" /fastdetect /NoExecute=OptIn
     
  15. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,652
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
  16. dragergo2

    dragergo2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Posts:
    10
    still not working

    I can edit boot.ini, copy ntldr, ntdetect.com (but which version)
    I was able to reach the blue windows screen (before the login comes up) but login did not arrive, I could move the mouse on the screen

    Its just nonsense that I have an OS image and cant start my laptop :'(
     
  17. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,652
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    dragergo2,

    Can you press F12 during the POST and access the boot menu? One choice should be Dell Diagnostics. The diagnostic partition. Any help?
     
  18. tuttle

    tuttle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Posts:
    376
    I get that error message on certain laptops if:
    1. I boot from the Rescue CD and create an image to an external USB HD, and then
    2. Click the "Close" X of the Rescue CD application, in order to reboot the laptop into Windows.
    3. When the laptop begins to reboot, if the external HD is still connected I see the "missing NTLDR" error.
    If I disconnect the external HD and then reboot, I do not see the error.
     
  19. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello dragergo2,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for delayed response.

    Could you please collect some information to let us investigate the problem thoroughly?

    Please create Acronis Report in the way described below:

    - Download and run Acronis Report Utility;
    - Select the "Create Bootable Floppy" option;
    - Insert a blank floppy disk in the A: drive and proceed with creation of the bootable floppy;
    - Boot the computer from this diskette and wait for report creation process to finish;
    - Collect the report file from the floppy.

    Then submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. To expedite the resolution we recommend you to use our Live Chat service after that. We will do our best to investigate the problem and provide you with a solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.