Missing icon

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Hoon37, Jan 11, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hoon37

    Hoon37 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Posts:
    18
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    OK, not a big problem but my TI icon has gone missing from my START MENU. I'm using TI11 and while the shortcut is still there, the icon has reverted to the generic Windows icon used when it can't find the correct one. Even the trueimage.exe file has lost the proper icon. I've tried using the Properties function to restore it and even though it goes through the correct process, it still makes no difference. I'm beginning to think it may be something with the permissions in Vista.
    Anyone else had this problem and have a fix?
    Thanks,
    Peter
     
  2. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Maybe a reinstall over itself would cure it.
     
  3. Hoon37

    Hoon37 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Posts:
    18
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Tried that when I upgraded to the latest version but still didn't work.
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Was TI installed for All Users or just the Current User?

    Was TI installed to its default location?
     
  5. Hoon37

    Hoon37 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Posts:
    18
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Hi Mudcrab,

    TI installed for all users and to its default location.
     
  6. thecreator

    thecreator Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Posts:
    87
    Location:
    Baltimore Co., Maryland USA
    Hi Peter,

    http://www.tune-up.com/download/

    TuneUp Utilities 2008 has the ability to repair icons as well as clean the Windows Registry plus more.

    30-day Free Trial is available.
     
  7. Hoon37

    Hoon37 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Posts:
    18
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Thanks everyone for the replies but I've found a (simple) solution. While I was attempting to reset the icon in the "Quickstart Menu", I should have been resetting the icon in the "Programs" menu. Once I did this, the icon automatically restored itself (and stayed restored) in the "Quickstart Menu". Silly me. :oops:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.