Missing Firewall Settings

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by mbonus, Jul 15, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mbonus

    mbonus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Posts:
    12
    I am sorry for the silly question, but I can't seem to find the firewall settings within the setup menu.

    I just reinstalled v4.0.437.0 on winXP 32bit sp3. It shows firewall module 1050 as being installed but I have no interface to change the settings in the setup menu.

    What am I missing?
     
  2. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Could you post a screenshot here ?
     
  3. mbonus

    mbonus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Posts:
    12
    Here is my attempt at screen shots...
     

    Attached Files:

  4. m176244

    m176244 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    I'm having the exact same problem, running windows xp sp3 as well, downloaded the installer a second time and got the same result.
     
  5. mbonus

    mbonus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Posts:
    12
    any ideas?
     
  6. m176244

    m176244 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    Haven't found any solutions, tried again this time removed all eset files from app data and local settings, still have the same problem.
     
  7. m176244

    m176244 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    Sent an e-mail to eset support and got an automated reply with a knowledge base link on how to uninstall it, replied back to it again, will update this if they send me a working solution.
     
  8. DobrePC

    DobrePC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    Bo?etěchova 36, 61200 Brno - Kr?lovo Pole, Czech R
    I'm having the exact same problem... still no solution from support?
     
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2009
  9. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    did you try to re-download the installer direct from eset?
     
  10. DobrePC

    DobrePC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    Bo?etěchova 36, 61200 Brno - Kr?lovo Pole, Czech R
    Re-download installer? Problem isnt in installer of ESS, I even tried to install older versions of ESS and problem is the same everytime...
     
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2009
  11. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    Yes, the idea is to exclude that is a cause. Since you are convinced that is no it, try creating a new user profile on the comp to exclude some corruption there
     
  12. m176244

    m176244 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    Done it three times
    Tried that, no change.

    Eset asked me to send them a log from sysinspector so hopefully we'll get a reply soon.
     
  13. DobrePC

    DobrePC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    Bo?etěchova 36, 61200 Brno - Kr?lovo Pole, Czech R
    I tried these steps:

    1) reinstall ESS with newest ver., older version - :thumbd:
    2) TCP and WinSock fix and reinstall ESS with newest ver., older version - :thumbd:
    3) although firewall settings is "hidden", firewall drivers are runnig in the background (i figured it out by using sysinternals utils). When i rightclick ESS tray icon, and disable antivirus - network stops working, after enabling it again, network starts working again. So firewall is probably working only interface is hidden in ESS - :thumb: :thumbd:
    4) tried to clean everything by ESET from registry and disk - :thumbd:
    5) finaly, i sent this problem to ESET support, hope we find the solution to this together :D :thumb:
     
  14. DobrePC

    DobrePC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    Bo?etěchova 36, 61200 Brno - Kr?lovo Pole, Czech R
  15. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    one way to find out ;)
     
  16. m176244

    m176244 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Posts:
    5
  17. The PIT

    The PIT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Posts:
    185
    Ah ha the uninstaller and the mods haven't noticed the link. Quick download.
     
  18. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    the active link is in kb article
     
  19. The PIT

    The PIT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Posts:
    185
    Eye but unless they've changed there heart in the last few days you had to email for permission to get it.
     
  20. DobrePC

    DobrePC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    Bo?etěchova 36, 61200 Brno - Kr?lovo Pole, Czech R
    BINGO! ;-)

    TESTED! ESETUninstaller is the right cure! :)
     
  21. mbonus

    mbonus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Posts:
    12
    That solved the issue. Thanks!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.