Missing Firewall Settings

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by mbonus, Jul 15, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mbonus

    mbonus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Posts:
    12
    I am sorry for the silly question, but I can't seem to find the firewall settings within the setup menu.

    I just reinstalled v4.0.437.0 on winXP 32bit sp3. It shows firewall module 1050 as being installed but I have no interface to change the settings in the setup menu.

    What am I missing?
     
  2. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,410
    Could you post a screenshot here ?
     
  3. mbonus

    mbonus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Posts:
    12
    Here is my attempt at screen shots...
     

    Attached Files:

  4. m176244

    m176244 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    I'm having the exact same problem, running windows xp sp3 as well, downloaded the installer a second time and got the same result.
     
  5. mbonus

    mbonus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Posts:
    12
    any ideas?
     
  6. m176244

    m176244 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    Haven't found any solutions, tried again this time removed all eset files from app data and local settings, still have the same problem.
     
  7. m176244

    m176244 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    Sent an e-mail to eset support and got an automated reply with a knowledge base link on how to uninstall it, replied back to it again, will update this if they send me a working solution.
     
  8. DobrePC

    DobrePC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    Bo?etěchova 36, 61200 Brno - Kr?lovo Pole, Czech R
    I'm having the exact same problem... still no solution from support?
     
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2009
  9. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    did you try to re-download the installer direct from eset?
     
  10. DobrePC

    DobrePC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    Bo?etěchova 36, 61200 Brno - Kr?lovo Pole, Czech R
    Re-download installer? Problem isnt in installer of ESS, I even tried to install older versions of ESS and problem is the same everytime...
     
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2009
  11. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    Yes, the idea is to exclude that is a cause. Since you are convinced that is no it, try creating a new user profile on the comp to exclude some corruption there
     
  12. m176244

    m176244 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    Done it three times
    Tried that, no change.

    Eset asked me to send them a log from sysinspector so hopefully we'll get a reply soon.
     
  13. DobrePC

    DobrePC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    Bo?etěchova 36, 61200 Brno - Kr?lovo Pole, Czech R
    I tried these steps:

    1) reinstall ESS with newest ver., older version - :thumbd:
    2) TCP and WinSock fix and reinstall ESS with newest ver., older version - :thumbd:
    3) although firewall settings is "hidden", firewall drivers are runnig in the background (i figured it out by using sysinternals utils). When i rightclick ESS tray icon, and disable antivirus - network stops working, after enabling it again, network starts working again. So firewall is probably working only interface is hidden in ESS - :thumb: :thumbd:
    4) tried to clean everything by ESET from registry and disk - :thumbd:
    5) finaly, i sent this problem to ESET support, hope we find the solution to this together :D :thumb:
     
  14. DobrePC

    DobrePC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    Bo?etěchova 36, 61200 Brno - Kr?lovo Pole, Czech R
  15. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    one way to find out ;)
     
  16. m176244

    m176244 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Posts:
    5
  17. The PIT

    The PIT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Posts:
    185
    Ah ha the uninstaller and the mods haven't noticed the link. Quick download.
     
  18. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    the active link is in kb article
     
  19. The PIT

    The PIT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Posts:
    185
    Eye but unless they've changed there heart in the last few days you had to email for permission to get it.
     
  20. DobrePC

    DobrePC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    Bo?etěchova 36, 61200 Brno - Kr?lovo Pole, Czech R
    BINGO! ;-)

    TESTED! ESETUninstaller is the right cure! :)
     
  21. mbonus

    mbonus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Posts:
    12
    That solved the issue. Thanks!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.