Mint 12 is officially released

Discussion in 'all things UNIX' started by vasa1, Nov 26, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. taytong888

    taytong888 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Posts:
    168
    Hello mack_guy911,

    Greetings!

    A couple of questions for you:

    1. How do I set up or configure Oracle Virtual Box after I install it?

    2. How do I run or simulate, say for example, Mint 12 in this Virtual Box? Do I need to go to the directory that has Mint 12 iso then run Virtual Box?

    3. How do I get the arrows that used to be on both sides of the scrollbar? I found them useful for fine-tune (or slow) scrolling.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,345
  3. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677

    in general set OS name and type (just a formality )

    on system : set ram and cpu dual or one (up to you)


    it depends the amount of ram you want if you have 2 gb ram then set it for 1 gb on live mode or 700 atleast

    if you have 4 gb ram set it from 2 gb ram

    as far graphic out of 128 i set to 64 its upto you

    you can enable 2d acceleration if you using unity .....etc

    on storage

    give path of disk iso you want to run

    here you can add cd device or harddisk device ....etc

    please there many options

    for screen when you running a machine click on on view or Ctrl + F for full screen same for small screen with scroll bar


    many things i guess you should read

    http://www.dedoimedo.com/computers/virtualbox-3.html

    http://www.dedoimedo.com/computers/virtualbox-guest-addons.html

    http://www.dedoimedo.com/computers/virtualbox-4.html


    please search virtualbox in dedoimedo you get everything :D

    examples of virtual box in youtube

    virtual box 3 i put here you give you some idea also watch second video its base of virtual bot 4 latest which is pretty easy to configure you get entire idea after watching both videos

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-C_HYPuF6Hc

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NRsg1wGESIk
     
  4. CogitoTesting

    CogitoTesting Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    Posts:
    901
    Location:
    Sea of Tranquility, Luna
    Wow, that's a treasure trove.


    Thanks.
     
  5. wat0114

    wat0114 Guest

    Mate seems to be under: Applications->Configuration Editor->desktop->mate
     
  6. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,345
    I'm more interested in knowing how people relate to the other one, MGSE. If a tiny team can come up with the goods, there's no reason, other than obduracy, for other distros not to have such things.

    from: http://irclogs.ubuntu.com/2011/11/23/#ubuntu-classroom.html/B]
     
  7. Nevis

    Nevis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Posts:
    812
    Location:
    255.255.255.255
    Installed mint 12 and finally done the hectic task of doing things after installing OS.

    Installing Nvidia driver was really frustrating. Finally its working.
     
  8. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    it was real easy with jockey-gtk.

    maybe worth a try next time?
     
  9. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Loving mint 12. I have it installed with windows on dual boot via mint4win. Its kind of sluggish at times and takes little while to boot. Maybe thats because I have it installed in windows. Not sure. Loving it anyway.
     
  10. CogitoTesting

    CogitoTesting Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    Posts:
    901
    Location:
    Sea of Tranquility, Luna
    @ kjdemuth

    I do not think dual booting with Windows would make Mint sluggish; it could be something else. I think it would be best to go to their forums and convey your experience and maybe someone there if not Mr. Lefebvre himself would help you with troubleshooting.

    I'm running LinuxMint 12 as my only operating system and my experience has been a positive one thus far. Mint boots fast, very responsive and no crash. I really cannot complain. I'm very happy... :cool:.

    Thanks.
     
  11. wat0114

    wat0114 Guest

    I installed the 200+ updates last night, played for about an hour after that, and things went well. No freezeups this time, but it just doesn't "feel" as snappy as earlier versions of mint. Also, does anyone know how to get under the hood to modify compiz effects?
     
  12. cm1971

    cm1971 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Posts:
    727
    I really like how Mint is coming along. I tried out the new version and liked it. It is what Ubuntu should have been imo.
     
  13. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,345
    kj is not dual-booting but running Mint from inside Windows presumably by using Mint4Win. There will be a knock on performance.
     
  14. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Thanks vasa. yeah I kinda figured that would be the issue. I'm still getting used to partitioning and such. I haven't had time to play around with it yet. Hopefully I can get around to it. I would love to do a dual boot.
     
  15. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,345
    Well, that's the problem with the "Read all about it" first approach :D

    One link leads to another and another and another and there are invariably some conflicting opinions. Enough to numb the soul!
     
  16. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677
  17. Warlockz

    Warlockz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Posts:
    642
    So If I want to update from Linux Mint 11 to 12 I have to go through the task of reinstalling everything over again?
     
  18. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    a very good review on Youtube:
    -http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-yE3Z46QquU
     
  19. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    How does one change the default boot loader back to windows. When I the dual boot I have what I'm assuming is grub. It has linux mint as the default boot. How do I go about changing the boot order on that menu?
     
  20. Nevis

    Nevis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Posts:
    812
    Location:
    255.255.255.255
    for getting back windows MBR , use Easy BSD software

    to change boot sequence of linux,

    use start up manager in Linux
     
  21. wat0114

    wat0114 Guest

    Maybe you mean EasyBCD, of which the latest version is no longer free :blink: -http://neosmart.net/EasyBCD/ ...the older versions should be.

    If you partition your drive, ideally with an extended one for installing your Linux into, ensure to install Grub (probably Grub2) to the Linux root partition, then from Windows 7/Vista using EasyBCD, you can add the Linux Grub to the Windows boot menu, and EasyBCD allows you to arrange your boot entries in any order you want, set the default O/S of your choice, and set the boot timeout as well.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 1, 2011
  22. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,345
    I wonder if there's a simpler way to alter the GRUB menu order and the time delay even with a very standard newbie "install alongside" your current OS.

    There should be no need to install further software. While the alteration to the default GRUB settings can't be done at the time of installation, I strongly feel that there's a simple way to do it later.

    Edit:
    In other words, one just has to go click, click, click at the time on install and not choose a custom install or do something else.

    I just Googled for "changing boot order in grub2" and came up with a lot of hits.

    And for people just trying out Linux via dual boot, my humble suggestion is to KISS and avoid a lot of the fancy stuff going around.
     
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2011
  23. wat0114

    wat0114 Guest

    If you or someone knows of an easier way, please fill us in :) Personally, I find EasyBCD makes it a breeze.
     
  24. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,345
    You can read this: https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Grub2. It most probably applies to Mint as well.
     
  25. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,345
    Fedora 16 has just changed to GRUB2:
    http://www.learnbydoingit.org/2011/11/changing-boot-sequence-in-grub2/
    http://www.hackourlife.com/change-default-boot-order-sequence-for-grub2-in-fedora-16-verne/
    http://kubuntuforums.net/forums/index.php?topic=3107328.0

    for starters. All these refer to a standard install and the GRUB menu can later be modified by editing a text file.

    I may come across as getting hyper over these things but a lot of well-meaning folks (even over here and no sarcasm is intended) seem to have forgotten the complexities of being a newbie :D

    For you guys, playing with GRUB maybe the easiest thing in the world and you guys may be totally fine with trouble-shooting GRUB when the GRUB prompt appears :D

    I don't think custom-localising GRUB comes under Linux 101.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.