Mint 12 is officially released

Discussion in 'all things UNIX' started by vasa1, Nov 26, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,152
    http://blog.linuxmint.com/?p=1889
     
  2. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,152
    From the release notes:
    ;)
     
  3. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,853
    Gonna give it a whirl in VirtualBox later and make sure everything's alright before wiping my USB stick with it. I'm interested enough in MATE to ditch the debian/xfce version.
     
  4. pabrate

    pabrate Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    685
    Tried the live ISO , looking very good, fonts are brilliant, in opensuse fonts are ugly as hell.
    I love opensuse for having yast and awesome installer, you can clearly see the changes that are going to be made with partitions, where grub is going to be installed etc.
    Last time when I've installed ubuntu , when I rebooted the system after installation, it wouldn't boot, because grub was written on my second drive.
    Since mint uses ubuntu installer I figure same thing will happen again.
    I wish if they would make a better installer where you would see all the info and changes, not just "Install alongside Windows" and then on "Next" you wouldn't see anything that is going to be done. I really don't like that.
    Never tried "Something else" during install , is it possible to somehow do the custom partitioning and still include previous OS's in the grub , or is "Install alongside Windows" the only way ?
     
  5. CogitoTesting

    CogitoTesting Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    Posts:
    901
    Location:
    Sea of Tranquility, Luna
    @ vasa1

    Thanks for the info. I knew the release date was near, but you actually beat me to it. :D.


    Thanks.
     
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2011
  6. CogitoTesting

    CogitoTesting Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    Posts:
    901
    Location:
    Sea of Tranquility, Luna
    @ pabrate

    Are you trying to dual boot?

    Thanks.
     
  7. CogitoTesting

    CogitoTesting Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    Posts:
    901
    Location:
    Sea of Tranquility, Luna
  8. wat0114

    wat0114 Guest

    Thanks for the heads up, vasa! Looking forward to trying this out soon.
     
  9. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,853
    Well I tried out the 32bit version in VirtualBox (yes I did install it) and have no idea how to enable the MATE functionality. o_O It looks nothing like the screenshot.
     
  10. wat0114

    wat0114 Guest

    Did you install the CD or DVD edition? The Features list indicates Mate is present in the DVD eddition but not on the CD.
     
  11. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,853
    DVD edition.
     
  12. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,785
    From what I've heard so far, MATE is quite buggy and unfinished at this point. You may want to pass on it anyhow.....
     
  13. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,152
    That's the developer's opinion as well:
    from http://blog.linuxmint.com/?p=1889
     
  14. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    What is MATE?
     
  15. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,152
  16. Nevis

    Nevis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Posts:
    786
    Location:
    255.255.255.255
    how do I install it using a USB as no USB installer supports 12 version. i am so eager to install it :D
     
  17. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,152
    Mint has a forum. Have you asked there?
     
  18. ZeroDay

    ZeroDay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Posts:
    693
    Location:
    Hogwarts.
    http://unetbootin.sourceforge.net/

    Just download the iso and then use that tool it works perfect everytime :)
     
  19. subset

    subset Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Posts:
    825
    Location:
    Austria
    OpenSuse still uses Grub, but Ubuntu uses Grub2.
    For a multiboot system I just install Grub2 to OpenSuse and everything works fine.

    Cheers
     
  20. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677
    one thing like to add i am on vmware so dont know if installed its same or not

    but after changing window theme to mint Z you get mac like white buttons

    its look pretty cool :D

    for vmware run without installing

    please check these


    -http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fSY_qjbIorw-

    -http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aMcc_P6DvUU-


    also

    http://www.webupd8.org/2011/10/4-beautiful-gnome-32-compatible-gtk.html

    by pressing Alt + F2 then in command box type " r " you refresh .......... same can achieve by logging off and re-login
     

    Attached Files:

  21. wat0114

    wat0114 Guest

    This is the worst experience I've had with a mint release; everything was sluggish, even after installing nVidia 173 drivers (my usual selection), and after only a few minutes it froze on me trying to switch to Applications selection. It is installed in my extended partition on main drive, my normal location for any Linux distro I try.
     
  22. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Can you update within linux mint RC? Or do you need to do a clean install?
     
  23. philby

    philby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    940
  24. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,152
    The best place to ask is the Mint forum but from what I read over there, I understand that it is possible and you don't need to do a clean install if you already have Mint 12 RC.

    One point made was that you may have to allow level 3 updates as opposed to the regular level 1 or 2. But do check at that forum!
     
  25. mrfargoreed

    mrfargoreed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Posts:
    356
    I have to say that I've been keeping an eye on using Linux for a couple of years, but I always return to Windows. Today, however, I tried this latest version of Mint from the Live CD and I think it's astonishing. Every music file played, every movie played and had thumbnails (simple little things that make a huge difference), the look and feel was fantastic and it was just so well thought out and logical. It's a big step for me, and I'm still not a hundred percent certain sure, but I think this makes Windows look incredibly dull and boring by comparison and has seriously made me think twice.

    I think some research is in order before I take the plunge.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.