Minor question

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by Acadia, May 8, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,048
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    I bought a new computer a couple of months ago and of course you can guess what was the very first program that I installed on it! :cool: The Secondary Snaphshot that was created I have kept in its pristine state, not adding a thing, it only has Windows and FirstDefense.

    I have also made Archives of the pristine Snapshot so there is no fear of losing it. I want to bring the Secondary Snapshot up-to-date will the Microsoft Windows monthly updates. I know that some of you have done this. My question: would you install an anti-virus and software firewall first (I am behind a router) before going onto the Internet to obtain those MS updates? I would be jumping straight to MS using the Windows Update button. How would you guys handle it if it were your pc, add the AV and FW first, or just go straight to MS with your pristine Snapshot?

    Thank you,
    Acadia
     
  2. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,547
    Hi Acadia,

    I never install security software on my base snapshots.
    Just go straight to the microsoft updates.

    Panagiotis
     
  3. crofttk

    crofttk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    1,976
    Location:
    Eastern PA, USA
    I do same with only my laptop. I don't do these kind of things on my desktops as others in the household use them. I have an out-of-the-box snapshot for my Dell laptop that I have no security software on and have gone online with solely for MS/Win updates to bring it up to date. Outside of that, I just keep the wireless radio shut off when in that snapshot or any of its "daughters". I guess it helps my comfort level that I'm also behind a firewall router.
     
  4. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,039
    I have online armor in my secondary, but I rarely update it. Only thing it's fore is to boot into it to restore primary archive.

    Pete
     
  5. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,048
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    Thanks fellows.

    Acadia
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.