MigrateEasy 6.0 - can it fix my hard drive issue?

Discussion in 'Other Acronis Products' started by Dynamic2004, Sep 13, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dynamic2004

    Dynamic2004 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Posts:
    2
    Hello,

    I am the owner of Acronic's PowerUtilities and have a minor problem, which I hope I can resolved either with Acronic Migrate easy 6.0 or Acronic Disk Editor 6.0 – or maybe you have some other recommendation for me?

    Background:

    I have recently (successfully) installed MS Windows Small Business 2003 Server 2003 (Standard Edition) on a new 40GB hard drive. This drive has been installed on my computer and is acting as the Master drive. I also decided to keep my previous hard-drive (Seagate 40GB) as a slave. This drive was also re-installed successfully. The Seagate hard drive use to act as a master on my previous system and it currently has my OS installed on it (MS Windows 2000 PRO) plus some other software.

    I want to keep my Seagate drive and I was hoping that I could access this drive via "MY COMPUTER", but that does not seem to be the case. If I go to "MY COMPUTER", I can only see one drive, namely the C:/ drive, which obviously has the MS Windows Small Business Server (Standard Edition) installed on it. The Seagate drive (MS Windows 2000 PRO - my OS) is not to be seen.

    Hence, I then went to the “Disk Management” program that comes with Windows Server 2003 to see if the hard drive was recognised by my PC, and it was, it sits there with 20GB free space.

    However, I have noticed that this drive has not got a designated drive letter (preferable D/:). In addition, I cannot assign a drive letter to it, as my options are limited. I have read most of Microsoft’s help manuals, but I have not been able to solve the problem. Most options I have available are ghosted, I can't change “drive letter and path”, I can only delete the partition, which I do not want to do, as I will loose all my files. Also, when viewing the Disk details it tells me that I have 100% free space on this drive, which is not true – after all this drive has my OS and other applications installed on it.

    How can I get the Seagate Drive to be part of my current system, is it just a matter of assigning a letter to the drive – and how is that achieved? Is it a job for Acronic Disk Editor or maybe Migrate easy - and how is it done.

    The status of the Seagate drive is "Healthy" and "active", but there is no "File system" assigned to it either. The C:/ drive seems okay, it reads "Health (System)", File system is "NFTS" and when right-clicking on it I can assign a new drive letter and path, if needed.

    All I want is to get access to the drive through “my computer”, this so that I can keep existing OS and other relevant applications and files. Please provide some help – I am stranded… and sorry I have not worked much with Acronic's software before.

    Thanks

    Dynamic2004
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Dynamic2004,

    Thank you for your interest in Acronis products (http://www.acronis.com/products/).

    The problem you have described is very strange and also it requires the additional diagnostics. Please send me a private message with your email address and I will contact you soon with diagnostic instructions.

    Thank you.

    --
    Best regards,
    Andrew Berezovsky
     
  3. james2004

    james2004 Guest

    i would be really grateful if you could tell me how to do this also, i have exactly the same problem
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello james2004,

    Please contact support@acronis.com.

    Thank you.

    --
    Best regards,
    Andrew Berezovsky
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.