Migrate OS to SSD - boots from data disk?

Discussion in 'Other Paragon Disk Utilities' started by doane, May 23, 2015.

  1. doane

    doane Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2015
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    Californai coast
    Windows 7 Pro 64bit upgrade edition (see member details for full system info)

    I copied a C: 300gb OS HD with only about 75 gb on it to a new Crucual 250gb SSD. At the copy time I had the 1TB and a DVD installed.
    During the install I checked the box "Use all available space for the partition with OS" Everything went smoothly and I rebooted and changed the bios so the new SSD is the first boot. Windows started and all was well, I thought. I noticed the boot up didn't seem very fast though. Next, I changed drive assignments so that the SSD is C:, the 1TB is D:, the DVD is E: and the old 300gb is F: Finally, I completely formatted the old OS 300gb drive.
    I then tried to physically remove the old F: 300gb and found I couldn't boot up into windows. I tried running the windows repair disk and it couldn't figure out what is wrong. I put the HD back in and it boots up and all if fine again, except that it appears that the system is actually booting from the D:/data drive and not the C:/OS SSD drive. How did this happen? I confirmed this by changing the bios first boot to the second listed D: drive and it boots into windows.

    Here is the Windows diskconfig shot:

    http://doanehoag.com/Forums/DiskManagementshot%20c%20bootup.jpg

    I am not high tech so if someone can explain what to do I am going to need some instructions on how to do it. I read the Migrate OS to SSD manual and I don't understand the part on using WinPE on P11.. am I supposed to do some further changes using that program? It mentions "correcting the Boot Configuration Data (BCD) on p12, but I didn't completely understand it.

    Any help greatly appreciated.
     
  2. doane

    doane Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2015
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    Californai coast
    I used the Paragon Backup Recovery program and in the Disk Management I was able to make the C: OS partition active as it was inactive before, but I don't know why it isn't showing the system on that drive.. it shows the system listed on the D: 1TB drive instead. Can someone please help me on this?
     
  3. doane

    doane Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2015
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    Californai coast
    Is this forum active?
     
  4. doane

    doane Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2015
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    Californai coast
    I'm sort of amazed I didn't get one answer or help with my problem with the Paragon software. It completely messed up my system and I ended up having to do a clean install of Windows 7 on the SSD drive in order to get it to work. Have spent the day doing all the updates, program reinstalls, etc. I feel like the Paragon "Migrate OS to SSD" was a complete waste of money.
     
  5. Snoop3

    Snoop3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Posts:
    474
    thanks. good to know.
     
Loading...