Microsoft using NOD32 still?

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by rothko, May 24, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rothko

    rothko Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Posts:
    579
    Location:
    UK
    Hi

    I've seen a link here recently (that i think ronjor posted) to a site that contains information on how Microsoft uses NOD32 to scan its products before release. Is this true for all products, or at least all major products (office, windows, etc) that Microsoft sell on CD? and is it worldwide?

    If this is the case, then why don't Eset make more of this? Seems like quite a good selling point to me. I wanted to check here for any comment, official or otherwise, before I start spreading the news around my part of the world.

    thanks, lee
     
  2. NOD32 user

    NOD32 user Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Australia
    Hi Lee,
    You know it seemed like a big thing to me to hear that M$ were using NOD32, and it is.
    I realised later on that ESET has a stronger position for themselves by not normally mentioning that but instead relying on the strengths of their product - zero hour protection through advanced heuristics, high scanning speed and low system resource consumption, great ROI for business and low cost for class leading protection for home users.
     
  3. pykko

    pykko Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Posts:
    2,236
    Location:
    Romania...and walking to heaven
    Very good...MS using NOD32.....that's a good news... :)
     
  4. 50000000

    50000000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Posts:
    44
    dose this mean nod32 is the best and stongest antviruso_O
     
  5. irnux

    irnux Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2005
    Posts:
    24
    Location:
    Tehran
  6. 50000000

    50000000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Posts:
    44
    home user protection is differnt than protect company computer
     
  7. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    2,345
    Location:
    Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
    I don't think so. Business networks may or may not be well run, may or may not be well protected, may or may not have windows critical updates, staff may still be able to install junkware, they may or may not have their own mail server...could be using plain old POP e-mail.

    Curious what Microsoft's plans are for eXtendia...that dual engined antivirus that they snagged up majoriy shareholding of.

    I don't know what antivirus Microsoft uses on ALL their networks though.
     
  8. 50000000

    50000000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Posts:
    44

    big Business networks like in microsft they dont realy only on antvirus only !!! the have alot os security softwares ,filters , network filters , email filters , network firewalls , system montring , limet of using intrnet .................. , so they dont need for strong antivrus , so they use easy and light antvirus

    its different than home user , they dont have a lot of this security software and they have alot of virus soures,
    so they need very strong antvirus
     
  9. Stephanos G.

    Stephanos G. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Posts:
    720
    Location:
    Cyprus
    well, and if someday microsoft decide not to use anymore the nod, this will mean that is not a good software?
     
  10. 50000000

    50000000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Posts:
    44

    not me !!!! i will not say that

    some pepole use the news to prove the nod32 is strongest antvir because microsoft use it !!!

    and i belive this is not the way to say the nod32 is strong , there is a trust way to say that is by testing it like http://www.av-comparatives.org/

    here we can know the power of any antivirus

    do you agree with me ?
     
  11. Stephanos G.

    Stephanos G. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Posts:
    720
    Location:
    Cyprus
    absolutely agree
     
  12. JimIT

    JimIT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Posts:
    1,035
    Location:
    Denton, Texas
    Microsoft snagged RAV, not Extendia. RAV's engine was used in Extendia products, but has since been replaced by BitDefender's engine in the GDATA AV's--from which Extendia is derived. Extendia is still using the RAV engine in some of their stuff, but I don't believe they will much longer.
     
  13. DON23

    DON23 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    Posts:
    34
    Location:
    ATLANTIS
    HI GUYS.


    M$ used Norton before....
     
  14. rothko

    rothko Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Posts:
    579
    Location:
    UK
    ...then they saw the light
     
  15. DON23

    DON23 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    Posts:
    34
    Location:
    ATLANTIS
    yeah man.

    being nod user 4 a year now.

    Only av that challenged me besides nod....pc-cillin
     
    Last edited: May 24, 2005
  16. 50000000

    50000000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Posts:
    44

    maby the price and cost and service ,,, is make M$ decied to change from norton to nod32

    ;)
     
  17. DON23

    DON23 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    Posts:
    34
    Location:
    ATLANTIS
    c'mon....norton sucks.

    if not then world is a fair place and all of a sudden pc brands give away the best av for free.
     
  18. vlk

    vlk AV Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Posts:
    618
    Just FYI, Microsoft uses Nod only in its release labs, and together with a number of other AV's. To protect their own network, they use the solution from Computer Associates (the enterprise version of eTrust).

    Sorry if this is disappointing for someone. :)
     
  19. DON23

    DON23 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    Posts:
    34
    Location:
    ATLANTIS
    sure about that?
     
  20. Stan999

    Stan999 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2002
    Posts:
    566
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX USA
    Not sure why you might think it would disappoint someone?

    Seems good to me that MS uses NOD in its release labs.
     
  21. DON23

    DON23 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    Posts:
    34
    Location:
    ATLANTIS
    Hey with u.

    NOD STILL #1 4 M.

    NOT THE 1 DISSAPOINTED. I CAN BET HALF OF THE CROWD IN FORUM IS CHECKING OUT EZ.
     
  22. StevieO

    StevieO Guest

    MS might be using NOD32 internally in some areas/depts, but it's interesting to note that they use something else for scanning Hotmail atts.

    I believe they now use Trend Micro after previously using McAfee.


    StevieO
     
  23. DonKid

    DonKid Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Posts:
    566
    Location:
    S?o Paulo, Brazil
    Not disappointed me.
    Today I read a news about a security hole in Computer Associates's AV.
    Disappointed will be Microsoft.

    Best Regards,

    DonKid.
     
  24. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    2,345
    Location:
    Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
    True, however Microsofts network...I'd consider that waaaaaaaaaaaay above the norm, far from your typical business network. 95% of other business networks however...don't have luxuries like these.

    Business e-mails can also manage to attract more problems then the average home users. Poorly designed websites with contact pages that have direct e-mail links without encoding (harvesting spiders), contact lists from other businesses without good protection (worms that hit WAB/PAB/PSTs), etc etc.
     
  25. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    2,345
    Location:
    Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
    Just a bummer for those IT guys who have to support it. I've not been a fan of Innoculan/InnoculateIT/EZTrust, or any CAI products. One of the first big boy to farm out support overseas, ever try talking to their support while in a noisy server room? Language barrier compounded by background noise = frustration to the Nth degree.

    Not to mention I've seen a virus make it past it more than once, even taking servers down.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.