Microsoft Security Essentials

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Kees1958, Aug 9, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mevcit

    mevcit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Posts:
    58
    Location:
    İstanbul, T?rkiye
    Is it written somewhere, that is, how can we ensure that info? Because MSE seems to me like Avira Free which lacks web protection.
     
  2. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    it has it and a whole lot more.
     
  3. Mem

    Mem Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    292
  4. elapsed

    elapsed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,076
    MSE has HTTP scanning, I can't understand why I need to prove these things over and over again? Search the original main thread and you will see the HTML/Exploit detections that shows it scans HTTP traffic.

    As to your 2nd link about emails, MSE doesn't have marketing gimmicks, people fooled into thinking these are needed amuse me. MSE is more than capable of standing it's ground without these and that's what makes it so light. It doesn't need to compete with other AV's and so the dev's don't feel the need to "sell" it with more and more useless features.
     
  5. Mem

    Mem Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    292
    Exploit detections can be achieved by heuritics and memory or write scanning of MSE. I have yet to see someone 'prove' (as you put it) that the http stream itself is intercepted and parsed to detect these. Showing detection is not the same as http stream scanning. :)

    Edit: I'm a little surprised by your defensive nature. The second link I included was to show the email stream was not being scanned. Not a problem to me at all but it also explains why http scanning may not be included - it is redunant and not necessary by the same logic if heuristics is capable of handling js/drive-by download problems.
     
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2009
  6. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,988
  7. cp4eva

    cp4eva Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Posts:
    129
    Location:
    TX
    I turned on the PC yesterday and MSE was eating up my CPU. Anyone else experiencing this? I did report it.
     
  8. elapsed

    elapsed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,076
    I'm annoyed I have to take a defensive stance when I shouldn't because people should stop asking the same questions! Just one of my pet peeves.
     
  9. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    On x64 it is the fastest freeware AV, as fast as Bitdefender x64 paid :thumb:

    When you are a gamer and are on x64 and have an AV, check this out before your lisence expires (renewals are cheaper than new ones) and decide to go freeware or pay for a top performer on the CPU/Security aixle.
     
  10. cqpreson

    cqpreson Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Posts:
    348
    Location:
    China
    On Win 32,it is very slow.Scanning,updating and cleaning all are slow.
     
  11. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    I am sure that on the x64 platform the developers had much more insight information than the competing AV's, have no idea why performance is reported so differently (x64 vs x32)
     
  12. robinb

    robinb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    456
    Location:
    NJ
    On xp pro i find it to be a cpu hog, on vista it works fine and on Windows 7 it works very well too.

    I just do not like it for xp, but with microsoft pushing windows 7 I would bet it was made for windows 7 and vista and not really for xp since in Microsoft's opinion xp will be date once windows 7 comes out except for those who purchase the pro or ultimate versions and need xp for older apps.

    robin
     
  13. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    wer can i download MSE?
     
  14. Boost

    Boost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    1,294
  15. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
  16. cp4eva

    cp4eva Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Posts:
    129
    Location:
    TX
    It worked fine on my XP machine for a few weeks and then, one day- 100% CPU usage.
     
  17. Habakuck

    Habakuck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    544
    It is beta... ;)
     
  18. elapsed

    elapsed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,076
    As far as I know, this is the final beta before release, ofcourse nothing will be fixed when people just say "100% CPU usage uninstalling" and don't file bug reports.
     
  19. IceCube1010

    IceCube1010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Posts:
    963
    Location:
    Earth
    Strange. I never had those 100% cpu usage problems. I have the latest beta running on WinXP (sp3) and Vista Home(sp1) machine. No problems at all. The only issue I had was the signature updates. It took about 3 days before the software started updating on a daily basis. Not sure why, but it's updating regularly now. Very good job M$.

    Ice
     
  20. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,988
    Been running MSE alongside Prevx and PC Tools firewall without issue for a week or so.

    Question- IIRC- Windows Defender had the options of choosing the basic membership or advanced membership w/ Spynet. With the Spynet option WD incorporated a HIPS-like feature. Is that the same case with MSE? I believe MSE incorporates WD so would choosing the Spynet option enable the HIPS-like feature?
     
  21. JimIT

    JimIT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Posts:
    1,035
    Location:
    Denton, Texas
    Running Forefront CS here right now on XP 32 bit w/1GB RAM. It is taking about 1750kb of memory. CPU cycles are negligible.
     
  22. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857

    No everyone of the post/info I have read, supposes that MSE has/uses the same intrusion detection agents as WindowsDefender, also with lowest spynet membership. Only difference with WD is that you can't configure them individually.
     
  23. BuzzStone

    BuzzStone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Posts:
    163
    I just started using MSE and quite like it. My computer seems somewhat quicker. My MsMpEng.exe (Antimalware Service Executable) is using 55,300K of private working set memory and msseces.exe is using 3690K as I type this.
     
  24. kinwolf

    kinwolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Posts:
    271
    We've experinced the 100% cpu problem on 5 test machines, so you're not alone.
     
  25. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    5,307
    Location:
    USA
    I've also had the high CPU usage. I found out through using process monitoring tools that it was quietly scanning large zip files on my hard drive. The interface gave no indication that it was doing anything. If I excluded the file the CPU usage went back to normal. I don't like programs that don't tell me what they are doing.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.