microsoft security essentials validation

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by culla, Jul 2, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. culla

    culla Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    Posts:
    504
    i go to win update wga says genuine but mse says not xp pro corporate edition works fine on desktop but can't install on laptop o_O
     
  2. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,852
    You should generally use more comma's in your sentences so our eyes don't implode.

    Are you trying to say it fails to install at the validation stage? Have you tried rebooting your PC?
     
  3. culla

    culla Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    Posts:
    504
    yes and yes
    also if i install the old mse it passes validation
    then it tries to update engine
    fails validation
    thanks for the quick reply
     
  4. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,852
    Are you 100% sure your OS is genuine? I believe the old WGA wouldn't detect specially patched non-genuine copies of Windows.
     
  5. culla

    culla Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    Posts:
    504
    yes i've been using it for years
    as i say desktop fine and
    laptop passes wga at win update
    but not mse
     
  6. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    7,267
    Location:
    England
  7. Doraemon

    Doraemon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Posts:
    202
    IMHO I think that MSSE should be a paid product instead of relying on the "genuinity" of the OS... And you know what I mean! :D :D :D
     
  8. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,852
    No thanks.
     
  9. culla

    culla Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    Posts:
    504
    thanks for the link but i'm afraid to change security to allow everyone so i'm using avast free instead on the laptop :D
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.