Microsoft Security Essentials 3 Beta Sammelthread

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Mops21, Nov 18, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. allexif

    allexif Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Posts:
    57
    Location:
    Romania
  2. The Seeker

    The Seeker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,317
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Re: Microsoft Security Essentials 3 Beta Now Available!

    Thanks for the heads up!
     
  3. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    I got an email moments ago.
     
  4. shoe

    shoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Posts:
    201
    It was released today version 4.0.111.0
     
  5. elapsed

    elapsed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,076
    I got it too, but the question is, how do I go about this on Windows 8? Disable Windows Defender..? o_O

    So good they skipped v3?
     
  6. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    4.0.111.0 is just the client version, I believe.
     
  7. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,770
    Got mine about an hour ago.

    Cheers!
     
  8. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,160
    Location:
    UK / Pakistan
    Re: Microsoft Security Essentials 3 Beta Now Available!

    Any change in GUI?
     
  9. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    2,335
    Location:
    Germany
    Hi

    Can you post Some screenshots
     
  10. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,770
    Have not had a chance to install it yet guys, sorry.
     
  11. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    Does anyone remember if previous beta versions were provided in other languages other than English?
     
  12. Francis93

    Francis93 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    311
    Can somebody please post some screenshots? Any UI or performance enhancements?
     
  13. Defcon

    Defcon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Posts:
    336
    One of you early adopters, please post screens and reviews. The description of what's new is pretty vague.
     
  14. elapsed

    elapsed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,076
    Here's your screenshot!

    mse.png
     
  15. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    You could run it in compatibility mode.

    That may have a risk.
     
  16. robinb9

    robinb9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Posts:
    219
    MSE is officially out in Beta for Invite testers

    I just got my email telling me I can download MSE Beta. Check your email for your invite.

    took the x86 MSE, installed- no problems, running a quick scan now, cpu running average is 33% up and down while scanning.

    User interphase looks the same as its older version

    One thing different that i see in Settings- Realtime protection there is only one item in there

    None of the 4 items in the MSE are there.


    and there is no options to adjust what occurs at different threat levels unless Micrososft plans to add it all in the next upgrade to this beta


    You can see it here too

    http://www.zdnet.com/blog/microsoft...lect-testers/11289?tag=content;selector-blogs

    robin
     
  17. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    Does anyone know of a hack allowing us to install MSE beta (English version) over the previous version (non English)?

    Otherwise, I'll have to uninstall version 2 first. :D
     
  18. Baserk

    Baserk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Posts:
    1,321
    Location:
    AmstelodamUM
    Re: MSE is officially out in Beta for Invite testers

    Haven't got MSE installed atm, does that mean you can't select 'Scan all files/reads/writes' etc? That would be a bit annoying imo.
    Or is that there are no more options to enable/disable Network Inspection and Behaviour monitoring ? They are always enabled?
     
  19. Francis93

    Francis93 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    311
    Re: MSE is officially out in Beta for Invite testers

    I was expecting for a different MSE. :blink: How's the RAM usage?
     
  20. zongamin

    zongamin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Posts:
    12
    Installed last night

    Looks wise its nice and clean - removing the silly 3D Mesh effect - its now back to just plain blue like the older versions.

    Performance wise - not good for me.

    Quick Scan is now taking around 65 seconds, to scan about 13,000 items. Previously this would usually take 30 to 35 seconds.

    Memory usage right now - 59,648K for MsMPEng.exe and 4092K for msseeces.exe

    http://www.dumpt.com/img/viewer.php?file=zffd2azu5hmk85cgav5v.png
     
  21. Ade 1

    Ade 1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Posts:
    471
    Location:
    In The Bath
  22. SFC

    SFC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Posts:
    33
    Still have the high CPU usage when opening a folder with exe files. And now is even worse, because you can´t change realtime protection settings to scan only income files...
     
  23. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,955
    Location:
    Somethingshire
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.