Microsoft Security Essentials 2.0.657.0 Final

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Nanobot, Dec 16, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. zip

    zip Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Posts:
    359
    Location:
    Mars
  2. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,738
    @m00nbl00d: First of all it's not optional, but only labelled as such. Secondly, MSE can be simple, but is pretty configurable as well. Thirdly, what do you expect from a free antivirus? Avira Free, AVG Free, etc. also updates once a day, are you going to bash them as well? Frequency of updates does not directly equal effectiveness, surely someone as experienced as you should know that.
     
  3. Blues7

    Blues7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Posts:
    870
    Location:
    2500'
    I manually update twice a day (just because) despite the fact the program will update itself automatically.

    I really can't understand all the gnashing of teeth by folks over a product that is offered for free and is quite competent at accomplishing its stated mission.

    I've been using MSE (albeit with other security products) and haven't had a single issue to complain about.
     
  4. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    69,160
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  5. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    First, I'm not debating third-party products. I'm debating Microsoft Security Essentials.

    Second, surely someone as experienced as you should know that providing one malware definitions update by day is not enough. User trjam mentioned that in the period of 48 hours, only witnessed one update.

    Are you going to say that this is efficient against malware?

    It's just like Dynanic Signature Updating or something like that... sure, it's part of it... but no one really ever saw it happening.

    Third, third-party products do not requite Windows Update to automatically update their users. This means users can have Windows Update set only to warn of updates or just download, but not install. Which is what this is all about. It's stupid for Microsoft to give users the choice to set Windows Update only to alert or download, but not install... and then, they release an antimalware application that requires Windows Update to be on automatic mode (download and install).

    But, MSE definition updates come as optional, for what it seems. I never really looked at Windows Update to check it, as I have no need. But, if they're not optional, why do they come labelled as such? Are you saying that, despite being labelled as such, they will be automatically installed, without user intervention, as soon as Windows Update downloads the definitions update?

    I also understand why third-party vendors... at least one or another... provides just one automatic update by day - business $$. Unlike MSE, which is totally free for home users and small business.

    What I can't understand is why Microsoft gives me the option to have Windows Update settings so that it only alert me for updates... and then ties MSE together with Windows Update... I don't understand this approach. It doesn't make any sense.

    Didn't Microsoft, for one second, consider that Windows users may have Windows Update set only to alert or download, but not install updates? Heck, they give us such options... They should have had them under consideration, when they developed MSE.
     
  6. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,738
    It is enough for most malware. I'm talking real-world scenario, not zero-day. What trjam experienced is called a bug.

    Microsoft Forefront is the business $$.

    Who knows why, maybe it's because they aren't system updates.

    As for your Windows Update woes, that's for another thread which you've already created.
     
  7. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    Well, this is where I have to disagree. Before I actually had MSE automatically update, by scheduling a task, I used to open MSE user interface (Yes, not possible to right click the icon, in the tray bar, and choose to update... it would save us some time, actually. One more glitch, I suppose.) and update it. Sometimes, I'd let pass one or two days. When I noticed the time when the update came out... the day before.

    So, my question is: If Microsoft has defintion updates available, why aren't they being downloaded to MSE users and automatically installed?

    Yes, but Microsoft Security Essentials isn't a decoy so that users upgrade to a paid version. There's no paid version for home users. There used to be, but Microsoft killed it, and release Microsoft Security Essentials.

    Third-party vendors provide free versions as a decoy, so that users eventually upgrade to the paid version to have more features, automatic updates more often, better support, and what ever else.

    Well, you didn't actually answer me. I asked if, despite being labelled Optional, the definitions update are automatically installed, as soon as they are downloaded via Windows Update.

    For what I know, any update that arrives Windows Update labelled as being Optional won't be automatically installed. So, are Microsoft Security Essentials updates any different?

    Well, first I got no woes because of Windows Update. Stating that having Windows Update and MSE updates tied is stupid, is a not a woe, but a fact, considering that Microsoft allows us, users, to have Windows Update set only to alert for updates or just download them, but not install. So, having this in mind, why should MSE be tied to Windows Update o_O :thumbd:

    I also fail to understand which thread I've already created regarding Windows Update? o_O

    Either I'm loosing my memory... or... you're imagining things.
     
  8. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,738
    That's a bug, not normal behaviour.

    Like I said, I don't know. If your that interested, find out yourself.

    My mistake, I meant this: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?p=1866753
     
  9. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    Well, it seems to be a bug happening to a lot of people, and for a long time... Either Microsoft isn't aware of it, or really hard to solve it.

    You did say this previously, replying to user AlexC:

    The way you said it, made me wonder if the label Optional meant nothing, at all.

    So, you actually got no idea... still, you advice others not to care about the Optional label, because MSE will update itself each 24 hours.

    But, as others have stated... and you may search the web as well, Windows Update will download the definitions, if there are any... but being offered as Optional, they won't be automatically installed. They will only be install when MSE automatically checks for them, each 24 hours. Again, stupid. How so? During the 24 hours period, Microsoft Security Essentials won't protect users, even if there are already definitions available to be applied, and that, because Microsoft doesn't consider important to have them labelled as Important, making them being automatically installed. Simply stupid, IMHO.

    So, as a conclusion:

    1) MSE is tied to Windows Update, we're stuck to it... unless we resort to some sort of hack, if there's any;

    2) MSE updates come as optional, when Windows Update looks for new updates, so they won't be applied when they are downloaded.

    3) With Windows Update set only to alert or to download, same deal.

    4) MSE will only update automatically each 24 hours. Users who wish to change that behavior, need to resort to Registry hack or scheduled tasks.

    They tied to Windows Update, that's OK. I don't personally enjoy this design, but OK...

    Now, the rest? Way too stupid.

    Anyway, my last comment regarding this Windows Update and MSE thing... I hope Microsoft opens their eyes and change these behaviors. One can only hope.
     
  10. brainrb1

    brainrb1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Posts:
    491
    Today after i cleaned "tray notification cache" (to reset) using Ccleaner and restarted explorer.exe..i got two MSE icons(bonus)...:argh: it will go away after a reboot i am sure.... but it was funny.
     

    Attached Files:

    • MSE.png
      MSE.png
      File size:
      12.5 KB
      Views:
      1,203
  11. elapsed

    elapsed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,076
    May I ask why you'd ever "restart" a core Windows process?
     
  12. ReverseGear

    ReverseGear Guest

    coz thats required for clearing of cache i guess
     
  13. brainrb1

    brainrb1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Posts:
    491
    It is required by Ccleaner.
     

    Attached Files:

    • MSE2.png
      MSE2.png
      File size:
      39 KB
      Views:
      1,175
  14. DBone

    DBone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Posts:
    1,041
    Location:
    SoCal USA
  15. Coccinelle

    Coccinelle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Posts:
    211
    Location:
    France
  16. DBone

    DBone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Posts:
    1,041
    Location:
    SoCal USA
    Looking at the screen shot it does the same steps as I did in the video. If you trust this software then I guess it's good. That being said, I have never even opened up regedit before the video, and it only took me 3 min to complete. Now that I have done it once or twice, I can do it in about a 1 min.
     
  17. kupo

    kupo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,121
    Nice thread hijack. LOL, :D
     
  18. DBone

    DBone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Posts:
    1,041
    Location:
    SoCal USA
    Sorry, my bad..............Although it is just an MSE thread! :argh:
     
  19. cm1971

    cm1971 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Posts:
    727
    Are there any good reviews about MSE that are current? Most of what I have seen are older reviews. I have a laptop that I am going to redo and for the AV I have it narrowed down to Avira, Avast and MSE, but I want to know how MSE is doing now not 6 months ago. How does it do against drive by downloads and other current threats.
     
  20. iravgupta

    iravgupta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Posts:
    605
    To each his own, but in my opinion based on personal experience, if you do not face any conflicts with your system's apps/drivers with avast! then go for it, else MSE. I find it a good idea to combine MSE with HitMan Pro though.
     
  21. cm1971

    cm1971 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Posts:
    727
    So I take it you are recommending Avast then. I was sort of leaning in that direction but wasn't sure how MSE compared.
     
  22. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    9,578
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Microsoft Security Essentials Not All That Great?

    I have been using MSE now for about 10 months on my notebook & desktop. It seems fine to me. Is anyone so worried about some recent reviews that they have considered changing to another AV?

    I'm tempted to try avast! myself, probably on my notebook. Although to be honest, MSE seems to be OK to me. It certainly seems to be holding its own at AV-Comparatives.
     
  23. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    You should be concerned only if you give consider an AV to be the first line of defense. Otherwise... it would be... perhaps... a choice? :blink:

    P.S: But, yes, considering that most people are not aware of other security measures, hence solely relying on an antimalware application, Microsoft should put a lot more work to it. Otherwise, why bother with MSE? Just drop it for good. But, I do believe their sole intent was to have thousands of honeypots spread allover the planet... :D
     
  24. Blues7

    Blues7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Posts:
    870
    Location:
    2500'
    I feel no need to replace it.

    I have not found anything (it may have missed) via scans with Hitman Pro, SAS Pro or MBAM Pro.

    It is not a suite and therefore does not interfere with the other layers of security I have chosen to run.

    I receive no annoying pop-ups or nags to upgrade to a "paid" alternative.

    My setup runs smoothly and quietly with low RAM and CPU usage.

    Works for me. Of course YMMV and more power to you if it does.
     
  25. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    9,578
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Well, I have some defence at the browser end, so to speak (NoScript, WOT, flashblockers, adblockers, inter alia). I also have SpywareBlaster & SAS on my notebook. My Win 7 64 bit PC has only ever had MSE on it. Again, I have the usual browser-end security extensions/add-ons etc as well. AFAIK my desktop has never had an infection.

    Hmmm ... a tad cynical here methinks ... ;)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.