Microsoft® Office 2010

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by cet, Aug 4, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cet

    cet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Posts:
    867
    Location:
    Turkey/İzmir
    I got this invitation and will install Office on my PC.Since I have Office 2007 installed I think I have to uninstall it first.Has anyone tried this new office?
    Should I try this on my virtual machine first?
     
  2. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    I got the invite some weeks ago and installed it on my desktop. I did uninstall 2007 before installing it. I haven't really given it a good test yet (been too busy lately) but I am liking what I have seen so far. It loads a lot faster than the previous versions--you only see the splash screen for a split second before the app comes up. It has the "Win 7" look as well and Outlook has the same look as the rest of the suite.
     
  3. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    BTW, the tech preview installs some "smileys" in the systray to click on for providing feedback. They are self explanatory :D
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Birdman

    Birdman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Posts:
    571
    I just installed Office 2010 Beta and I've noticed that when I open Word or Excel....there's a splash screen that says "Downloading Microsoft Word 2010 (Beta)"

    It usually stays on for 2-3 seconds before the app opens.

    Anyone know what this is about?
     
  5. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,852
    I'm currently running the beta since it's the only 64bit MS office i know of, it's been very stable for me, but I haven't noticed this "downloading" thing. Did you enter the beta serial code properly?
     
  6. Birdman

    Birdman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Posts:
    571
    How do you check if you have the x64 bit version of Office 2010?

    When i go to the Office 2010 download page, this message appears below the download button:

    By chance, did you download the "Professional" version or the "Home & Office?"

    BTW, this is the screen I get when I open up Excel 2010 or Word 2010.....does anyone get this too?

    http://img526.imageshack.us/img526/4010/office10.jpg
     
  7. pbmcmlxxi

    pbmcmlxxi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Posts:
    131
    Location:
    Hants, UK
    I have had no issues with Office 2010 Beta *64 or the previous TP *64.
    I prefer it to Office 2007. :)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.