Microsoft AntiSpyware question

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Brian2005, Aug 30, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Brian2005

    Brian2005 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Posts:
    65
    Location:
    USA
    Hello Everyone... A few months ago I purchased Spy Sweeper for 2 years (my license is valid that long) and I've been very happy with it. However, I came across "Microsoft® Windows AntiSpyware (Beta)" and seeing that it is free and offers over 50 ways to protect your PC from getting spyware, is it safe for a beta? Or would you wait until they decide to release a "final" release.....

    Thanks so much,

    Brian
     
  2. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Yes it's safe. If you have Spysweeper realtime protection enabled I would use MSAP for on demand without its realtime enabled.
     
  3. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    If you are NOT a beta tester, than you have to wait for the final version of MSAS.
    MSAS beta1 isn't safe yet and has several bugs.
     
  4. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    It's not restricted to Beta Testers and the bugs if any are minor.
     
  5. Brian2005

    Brian2005 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Posts:
    65
    Location:
    USA
    OK thank you both for your replies. So if I understand correctly, the latest release is OK if your a beta tester? I noticed on Microsofts website it is ok to download, but maybe you have to be a beta tester like you said ErikAlbert :).

    Please advise,

    Brian
     
  6. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    No you don't have to be a Beta tester to download the latest version. That info is in error.
     
  7. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    According my readings you never use beta software on a computer in production, only on a test computer. Beta is beta.
    If you want to take the risk, that's OK with me. I'm just warning you.
     
  8. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    actually MSAS works very well and should work well for you. ;)
     
  9. Brian2005

    Brian2005 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Posts:
    65
    Location:
    USA
    OK... was going to ask if it would be safe if you or The Hammer have used it and would trust it on a as you said "computer in production".

    Thanks,

    Brian
     
  10. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I have had it installed on my primary computer since MSAS was released ;)
     
  11. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    If everybody starts using beta versions what is the meaning of "beta" then ?
     
  12. Brian2005

    Brian2005 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Posts:
    65
    Location:
    USA
    Oh wow ok. Just curious Bigc, does it contain protection if it catches a program trying to be a keylogger or offer "Outbound Protection" like a firewall would catch?
     
  13. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    As Do I. Periodically there is a bug but they are short lived and solved by update. Your system is not in any danger as use of this program is incredibly widespread. It is being developed from Giant Antispyware company bought by Microsoft.
     
  14. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma

    My understanding is that when you run an on demand scan it should detect it. Just be sure to set it to auto update unless you would manually check often. Or if the loggeer is active it might catch it with it;s realtime service.
     
  15. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    It offers similar protection to Spy Sweeper and works in a similar manner.
     
  16. Brian2005

    Brian2005 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Posts:
    65
    Location:
    USA
    The Hammer, that sounds great. Now, would you say you'd stick with Spy Sweeper or Microsoft Antispyware?

    BigC, thanks for your reply. Ok, I will keep that in mind if I do decide to install this program.
     
  17. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    It is a very safe program and for whatever reason(legal ?)....Microsoft chose to use the word Beta as part of the name. As most know from the history of the program it was doing fine when it was Giant Anti-Spyware and remains the same even with the added name Beta. It should not however be viewed IMHO as what most users know as Beta. As other members have alluded to....it's solid and has no more burps than other comparable programs. Those that choose to see the word Beta and not try the program for that reason are ill informed or simply hungup on the word Beta.
     
  18. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    anyone can use beta software. beta simply means the software has bugs and is a work in progress.
     
  19. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    You can use MSAP as secondary check but you may not need it depending on the security programs you are running. BigC knows a lot more than I do about that.
     
  20. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    At work, we don't do that. Applications are in test mode or in production mode.
    That's why we have test machines and production machines and we give it to the users after testing it thoroughly.

    I guess other location, other rules. Nothing more than that.
     
  21. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Bubba explains this particular "Beta" question perfectly.
     
  22. Brian2005

    Brian2005 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Posts:
    65
    Location:
    USA
    Hi Everyone, Bubba thanks for your reply. That was a very nice reply, (in-depth and informative). Just curious, when it "expires", How do I renew? It says by contacting Microsoft but do I do this by phone or how does that work? Does anyone know?

    Thank you,

    Brian
     
  23. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    See here: http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/...a2-6a57-4c57-a8bd-dbf62eda9671&displaylang=en Scroll down to where it says Note to users with expired versions. Also you can download from a number of sites not just Microsoft.
     
  24. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    well some developers/companies choose to release public betas to compensate for limited testing resources; by letting the public test it, ur software will be tested on numerous configs. also most companies have disclaimers for their public betas since noobs might downlaod them thinking its a new version and itll work a great as a final release.
     
  25. Trekk

    Trekk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Posts:
    90
    Location:
    Ohio
    That stands true for some software, but for those which are harmless code I dont worry about it much. Besides, anyone who is using Microsoft products is using beta software. Thats what patches are for ;)


    Trekk
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.