media.fastclick.net?

Discussion in 'privacy problems' started by Heath, Oct 29, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Heath

    Heath Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Posts:
    60
    Location:
    Paris, Texas
    yeah, a box popps up all the time asking for username and password, and i have no clue what it is, anyone else know what it is?
     
  2. Peaches4U

    Peaches4U Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    5,070
    Location:
    At my computer
    o_O What kind of box pops up? Is the request made by mediaplex or fastclick? These are known spyware and you need to download Ad-Aware from Lavasoft & then scan your computer to get rid of it . Then you need to download SpywareBlaster, make sure you check all the components & then click on Protect All. in order to prevent spyware from entering your computer. Be sure to check for updates frequently. Hope this helps.
     
  3. Heath

    Heath Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Posts:
    60
    Location:
    Paris, Texas
    yeah, i have adaware and spybot and i run them frequentally, but it is still there.. and here is a picture of the popup box
     

    Attached Files:

  4. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,875
    Location:
    New England
    I'm thinking that this is a job for HijackThis... While there are ways to suppress the login box with browser security settings and hosts files, the root cause needs to be found. If these are popping up at random times and not just when you go to a specific site, then you've probably got something already on your system that needs to be cleaned.

     
  5. Heath

    Heath Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Posts:
    60
    Location:
    Paris, Texas
    Here...


    Logfile of HijackThis v1.97.3
    Scan saved at 5:10:56 PM, on 10/30/2003
    Platform: Windows XP SP1 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
    c:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\navapsvc.exe
    C:\Program Files\Norton Internet Security\NISUM.EXE
    C:\Program Files\Norton Utilities\NPROTECT.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\Program Files\Norton Internet Security\NISSERV.EXE
    C:\Program Files\Norton Internet Security\SymProxySvc.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
    C:\windows\system\hpsysdrv.exe
    C:\Program Files\Hewlett-Packard\Digital Imaging\Unload\hpqcmon.exe
    C:\HP\KBD\KBD.EXE
    C:\Program Files\DLA\install\tfswctrl.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\igfxtray.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\hkcmd.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\navapw32.exe
    C:\Program Files\Norton Internet Security\IAMAPP.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\spool\drivers\w32x86\3\hpztsb05.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Real\Update_OB\realsched.exe
    C:\Program Files\Norton Utilities\SYSDOC32.EXE
    C:\Documents and Settings\Owner\Desktop\HijackThis.exe

    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://www.yahoo.com/search/ie.html
    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.yahoo.com/
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\SearchURL,(Default) = http://search.yahoo.com/search?p=%s
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings,ProxyOverride = localhost
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {00C6482D-C502-44C8-8409-FCE54AD9C208} - C:\Program Files\TechSmith\SnagIt 6\SnagItBHO.dll
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 5.0\Reader\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.ocx
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {53707962-6F74-2D53-2644-206D7942484F} - C:\PROGRA~1\SPYBOT~1\SDHelper.dll
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {BDF3E430-B101-42AD-A544-FADC6B084872} - c:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: hp toolkit - {B2847E28-5D7D-4DEB-8B67-05D28BCF79F5} - C:\HP\EXPLOREBAR\HPTOOLKT.DLL
    O3 - Toolbar: Norton AntiVirus - {42CDD1BF-3FFB-4238-8AD1-7859DF00B1D6} - c:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\System32\msdxm.ocx
    O3 - Toolbar: SnagIt - {8FF5E183-ABDE-46EB-B09E-D2AAB95CABE3} - C:\Program Files\TechSmith\SnagIt 6\SnagItIEAddin.dll
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [hpsysdrv] c:\windows\system\hpsysdrv.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE NvQTwk,NvCplDaemon initialize
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [nwiz] nwiz.exe /install
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [CamMonitor] c:\Program Files\Hewlett-Packard\Digital Imaging\Unload\hpqcmon.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [KBD] C:\HP\KBD\KBD.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [StorageGuard] "C:\Program Files\VERITAS Software\Update Manager\sgtray.exe" /r
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [dla] C:\Program Files\DLA\install\tfswctrl.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Recguard] C:\WINDOWS\SMINST\RECGUARD.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [IgfxTray] C:\WINDOWS\System32\igfxtray.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [HotKeysCmds] C:\WINDOWS\System32\hkcmd.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [PS2] C:\WINDOWS\system32\ps2.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NAV Agent] c:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\navapw32.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [iamapp] C:\Program Files\Norton Internet Security\IAMAPP.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [HPDJ Taskbar Utility] C:\WINDOWS\System32\spool\drivers\w32x86\3\hpztsb05.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TkBellExe] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Real\Update_OB\realsched.exe" -osboot
    O4 - Global Startup: Norton System Doctor.lnk = C:\Program Files\Norton Utilities\SYSDOC32.EXE
    O9 - Extra button: AIM (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: Messenger (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Messenger (HKLM)
    O12 - Plugin for .spop: C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\Plugins\NPDocBox.dll
    O16 - DPF: Yahoo! Checkers - http://download.games.yahoo.com/games/clients/y/kt3_x.cab
    O16 - DPF: Yahoo! Graffiti - http://download.games.yahoo.com/games/clients/y/grt5_x.cab
    O16 - DPF: Yahoo! Poker - http://download.games.yahoo.com/games/clients/y/pt0_x.cab
    O16 - DPF: Yahoo! Pool 2 - http://download.games.yahoo.com/games/clients/y/potc_x.cab
    O16 - DPF: Yahoo! Pyramids - http://download.games.yahoo.com/games/clients/y/pyt1_x.cab
    O16 - DPF: Yahoo! Sheepshead - http://download.games.yahoo.com/games/clients/y/dt0_x.cab
    O16 - DPF: {00B71CFB-6864-4346-A978-C0A14556272C} (Checkers Class) - http://messenger.zone.msn.com/binary/msgrchkr.cab
    O16 - DPF: {166B1BCA-3F9C-11CF-8075-444553540000} (Shockwave ActiveX Control) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/director/sw.cab
    O16 - DPF: {2B36F775-8CF5-4489-B454-2D1B80984CF2} (FXPluginCtl Object) - http://www.powerflasher.de/plugin/powerres.cab
    O16 - DPF: {41F17733-B041-4099-A042-B518BB6A408C} - http://a1540.g.akamai.net/7/1540/52/20030530/qtinstall.info.apple.com/bonnie/us/win/QuickTimeInstaller.exe
    O16 - DPF: {8E0D4DE5-3180-4024-A327-4DFAD1796A8D} (MessengerStatsClient Class) - http://messenger.zone.msn.com/binary/MessengerStatsClient.cab
    O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab
    O16 - DPF: {F58E1CEF-A068-4C15-BA5E-587CAF3EE8C6} (MSN Chat Control 4.5) - http://fdl.msn.com/public/chat/msnchat45.cab
    O16 - DPF: {F6BF0D00-0B2A-4A75-BF7B-F385591623AF} (Solitaire Showdown Class) - http://messenger.zone.msn.com/binary/SolitaireShowdown.cab
     
  6. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,330
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Hi Heath,

    This is what I found in the MS kb:
    http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=239546

    But since it's probably not a site you want to visit, I would try this:
    Download (direct download link): http://members.shaw.ca/techcd/VB_Projects/HostsFileReader.exe
    and use it to add this line:
    127.0.0.1 media.fastclick.net

    You can do the same for any other site that bothers you.

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
  7. Heath

    Heath Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Posts:
    60
    Location:
    Paris, Texas
    yeah so how do i use the program.... to help my coomputter out
     
  8. Heath

    Heath Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Posts:
    60
    Location:
    Paris, Texas
    i found 3 hosts:

    c:\l386\HOSTS
    c:\\WINDOWS\l386\HOSTS
    c:\\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\etc\HOSTS
     
  9. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,330
    Location:
    Netherlands
    This is the one you need to change, so it has the effect we want.

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.