Meaning of Tri-State "Log" Check Boxes

Discussion in 'Ghost Security Suite (GSS)' started by meargh, Dec 3, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. meargh

    meargh Guest

    I searched but did not see this question addressed. Sorry if I missed it.

    Could someone please tell me if I'm right about the meaning of each state of the Log check boxes in AppDefend? (It's mainly the "Half-checked" setting I'm unsure about.)

    What confuses me is that even the .Default entry allows a half-checked state. Because if I'm right about what it means to be half-checked, it doesn't make sense for .Default to ... reference .Default.
     
  2. Jason_R0

    Jason_R0 Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Posts:
    1,038
    Location:
    Australia
    Hi meargh,

    You are correct, however when the CHECKBOX is "grayed" or in the indeterminate state for the .Default rule, it is the same as if it was TICKED. I am going to be removing the checkboxes most likely and giving another dropdown list for logging options. Simply because I think there should be more options.
     
  3. berng

    berng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2005
    Posts:
    246
    Location:
    NJ, USA
    Right now it seems that once you set a log entry to checked or unc-checked you can't go back to half-checked.

    Also, it would be nice to set log options to log only if denied.
     
  4. berng

    berng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2005
    Posts:
    246
    Location:
    NJ, USA
    Actually, this now works with the latest release.
     
  5. nameless1

    nameless1 Guest

    I like to have all new alerts logged. But once I approve an action for a given program, there is no way to have that action automatically bypass the log (i.e. not be logged). So, for each application I add, I have to go in and uncheck the applicable boxes.

    It would be great if you added some way to have only new alerts be logged.
     
  6. [suave]

    [suave] Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Posts:
    218
    I'd like to be able to clear the log.

    Or even be able set the maximum entries the log is allowed to hold.

    does a big log take up alot of memory?
     
  7. nameless1

    nameless1 Guest

    I believe that serious enhancements to the logging system are in the works. I don't know the details.

    A big log can take a lot of memory. When I kept the AppDefend settings at their defaults, I once noticed GSS.EXE taking over 100 MB of physical memory. It can very easily get out of hand.
     
  8. tony62

    tony62 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    Posts:
    214
    Location:
    UK
    I've noticed GSS.EXE running up memory in the region of 270 MB of physical memory, when logging 'JAVAW' Network Access.:eek: Of course i have now unchecked it's checkbox:D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.