McAfee Vs Computer Associates (ETrust)

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by bob_man_uk, Jan 21, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bob_man_uk

    bob_man_uk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    Posts:
    91
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Hello all

    first off I have lived and worked with Mcafee anti-virus for several years (Home and buisness) and have also used E-Policy orchestrator aswel and stand by these products to safe guard my files security etc BUT, and its a big fat round one, along comes CA with their Erust and promises even more than mcafee already provides, ok here comes the question :oops: :p who has had the joyous task of trying out Etrust because I am a bit sceptical on this "NEW" piece of software and dont want to even entertain it but my boss urges that I should try it out can I at least ave some comfort from users, buisnesses that have successfuly used, configured and basicly got on with CA, (I havent) thanks for your support

    matty G

    AKA bob_man_uk
     
  2. Chuck57

    Chuck57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Posts:
    1,422
    Location:
    New Mexico, USA
    I've used McAfee v7 and Etrust, the promo version and EZ antivirus and firewall. I'm currently using Kaspersky 4.5 for my AV but am considering going back to McAfee mainly because there doesn't seem to be much difference in virus, trojan, and worm detection between them and McAfee is lighter on resources on my machine.

    Between Etrust and McAfee, I prefer McAfee. Etrust is faster, and even lighter on resources than McAfee but I think McAfee is better at unpacking and detection across the board. That's just my opinion, of course. No idea what McAfee v8 is like.
     
  3. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I have used both av's and without a doubt I prefer mcafee. I am currently useing 7.03.6000 home edition mcafee and mcafee firewall.
     
  4. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    mcafee version 8 is the same as version 7 just a different GUI personally I like the GUI on 7.0.
     
  5. swisscoms

    swisscoms Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    96
    Location:
    Sion, VS. Switzerland
    McAfee without a doubt for my needs, I use their Enterprise Version. ETrust is good, fast, and light, but doesn't have the excellent unpacking features of the McAfee engine IMHO. ;)
     
  6. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    And mcafee's new 4320 scan engine is supposed to help also. ;)
     
  7. Technodrome

    Technodrome Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    2,140
    Location:
    New York
    Mcafee's new engine doesn?t improve virus/trojan detection at all. A few things were fixed/added but nothing to rave about.


    tECHNODROME
     
  8. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    Any little fix is better than nothing, besides mcafee's trojan and virus detection is pretty good anyway. Better than most.
     
  9. swisscoms

    swisscoms Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    96
    Location:
    Sion, VS. Switzerland
    I am testing the new McAfee engine now, and I find it does deal with Trojans and Worms better than before, unpacking even more files, and deleting the offending bugs where necessary. Right as I writing this! :eek:
     
  10. bob_man_uk

    bob_man_uk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    Posts:
    91
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    since when was virus scan v8 brought im still in the middle of downloading 7.1.0 thanks for all your input.

    bob_man_uk
     
  11. swisscoms

    swisscoms Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    96
    Location:
    Sion, VS. Switzerland
    7.1.0 is the latest Enterprise version. The v.8 is for home use, and has a controversial GUI. I like the one you are downloading the best IMHO. ;) BTW, don't forget to install the latest engine update:

    http://www.nai.com/us/downloads/updates/engine.asp

    Takes a couple of minutes, but worth the time!
     
  12. bob_man_uk

    bob_man_uk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    Posts:
    91
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    cheers m8 i think ill stick with the corporate edition (I get it free including update) i use mcafee epolicy orchestrator so all superDATS, ENGINES DAT files ETC are pushed onto my machine every dat so Im fully protected all day and night.

    cheers agen
     
  13. notageek

    notageek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Posts:
    1,601
    Location:
    Ohio
    When did McAfee update the scan engine? It's not showing up in my update box. Oh yeah and I don't like the McAfee v8 because you can't configure it like v7. :)
     
  14. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    At the link you can get the engine only superdat file 4230



    http://www.nai.com/us/downloads/updates/default.asp
     
  15. notageek

    notageek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Posts:
    1,601
    Location:
    Ohio
    Thanks I got it. I was told that it would be out next week or the week after for update via updater.
     
  16. bob_man_uk

    bob_man_uk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    Posts:
    91
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    ive got version 4.2.60 scan engine 4get your 4.2.30 thats well out 4 me.
     

    Attached Files:

    • 4260.jpg
      4260.jpg
      File size:
      46.3 KB
      Views:
      1,371
  17. swisscoms

    swisscoms Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    96
    Location:
    Sion, VS. Switzerland
    You don't want to download and install the free update engine from here:

    http://www.nai.com/us/downloads/updates/default.asp

    Takes 2 mins to download and install and comes with a cool installer. ;)
     
  18. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    always use nai for updates and the only way I see that it can take two minutes to download is if you might be running a slow dialup connection. They are usually a very fast download server at that site.
     
  19. shoe

    shoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Posts:
    201
    I use Mcafee 7.03 on XP Home and 7.1 Enterprise on XP Pro.
    Both work great
     
  20. bob_man_uk

    bob_man_uk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    Posts:
    91
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    i just had a major problem with windows 2000 and mcafee 7.1 at startup the AV brings up a memory error message and as I try to hibernate my laptop it tells me that the drivers for my network card are corrupt or non-existent any ideas or sollutions would be grateful
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.