McAfee VirusScan Pro v9.0

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by lrtrees, Nov 13, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lrtrees

    lrtrees Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Posts:
    31
    Can anyone tell me if this program installs the Security Center as with the Home addition? I am considering buying this application, but I realy do not want the extra bloatware. And I am guessing that if it does include the Security Center that I cannot install just the app without the SC?

    Thanks,
    Lon
     
  2. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I just looked it up and the security center is integrated in to it.

    bigc
     
  3. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    @lrtrees - if u dont want a bloated AV, maybe u should consider a diff one, like nod32 or kav. mcafee virusscan enterprise doesnt include the sc but i dont think its available to consumers.
     
  4. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    the security center is a pain but mcafee is still a very good av,
     
  5. Ailric

    Ailric Guest

    Being a McAfee 9.0 Home user myself I can whole heartedly recommend McAfee to anyone that wants a powerful antivirus (in the top 2) that is quick and easy on the system. The security center splash is easy to disable.
     
  6. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I had the splash screen disabled in ver 8.0 nothing to it. ;)
     
  7. Big D1

    Big D1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Posts:
    68
    The splash screen doesn't bother me at all. The way McAfee pimps, spams their software through the security center does.

    Anyway, I do have a free(McAfee settlement) full version of 8.0 installed on a Windows 98 rig, and it works really good. I was hoping McAfee would let one option out of the security center with version 9.0, but it was not to be. Maybe by version 9.5 or 10.0 McAfee will have an option out.
     
  8. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I got that settlement ver.8 also, pretty good deal. ;)
     
  9. lrtrees

    lrtrees Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Posts:
    31
    bigc, If you don't mind me asking, what AV are you currently using?

    Lon
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.