McAfee VirusScan 2006 10.0 vs. NAV 2005/2006

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Howard Kaikow, Feb 6, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    What do folkes think about McAfee VirusScan 2006 10.0 vs. NAV 2005/2006?
     
  2. metallicakid15

    metallicakid15 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Posts:
    454
    tough question but i will go for norton
     
  3. donsan

    donsan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Posts:
    149
    Location:
    grand prairie tx
    i would go with norton 2006 i also own mcafee v10 and i always have problems with it updating.
     
  4. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    Norton here also.
     
  5. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    My motive for asking this question was the following.

    My main system is a multiboot system, with 4 OS, each of which has a different version of Office.

    My main OS has NAV 2005. This has 3 system license, but I want to use the other two licenses on other systems. So I get virus definition updates ONLY on the main OS. I also have NAV 2006 (3 system license) waiting to be installed when the NAV 2005 subscriptions runs out.

    The other 3 OS have either NAV 2003 or NAV 2004, with expired subscriptions. in general, I have no reason for these other 3 OS to connect to the internet, other than when running Windows/Office update.

    But it may be useful to replace at least one of the older NAVs with McAfee. Will result in more up to date virus definitions.

    I'm doing this because, currently, yoiu can get a 3 user McAfee VirusScan 2006 10.0 for $0 AFTER rebates at www.buy.com.
     
  6. betauser2

    betauser2 Guest

    IMO I have trialled both MIS 2006 and NIS 2006 updating is a pain with both (esp. if like me you have PG). $0 even after the rebate? hmm personally wouldn't be worth the hassle although they are both good AV's.

    Given the choice I would personally go with NIS 2006 reason being I dig the firewall!!!

    betauser2
     
  7. JRCATES

    JRCATES Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,203
    Location:
    USA
    According to AV-comparitives.org, in the testing done in November of '05, McAfee blew Norton (Symantec) away. You can check out the results here:

    http://www.av-comparatives.org

    I used Norton just over a year ago, and it was truly a horrible experience. I'm glad that others have had success with it and find it to be a good product for them, but after the experience that I went through (in only two short weeks), I decided that it was not for me.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 6, 2006
  8. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    Such comparisons do not impress me as each vendor will take efforts to catch up and the results can be different next time.

    I use NAV as my main AV merely because I write Office macros and I want to see how they work with NAV.

    As a company, Symantec offers very poor support.
    From what I've heard McAfee may not be any better.

    Symantec no longer has support forums. Does McAfee have support forums?
    Has McAfee support moved outside of the USA yet?

    I'm taking the opportunity to get a 0 cost McAfee just to see how it does, tho I likely will still use NAV on my next system
     
  9. <DreamCatcher>

    <DreamCatcher> Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Posts:
    154
    Hi,
    Howard Kaikow

    Yes mcafee has support forums Here and Here

    I did have update problems with Mcafee AV 2005, but as of yet havn't Experienced any problems with 2006 with the daily updates. You could always manually update; http://ts.mcafeehelp.com/displaydoc.asp?frames=1&docid=278321&CategoryId=243

    I can only go by my own experience but Mcafee did pick up things that Norton just didnt find on my system as it has heuristic scanning. One thing I do recommend is to try before buying and not to go with Mcafee Firewall Plus Version 7.1.113 as it has lots of problems;

    http://forums.mcafeehelp.com/viewtopic.php?t=58089&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=0

    hope this helps
     
  10. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    Thanx.

    Provided I find no major problems with McAfee VirusSCan 10, the existence of the forums will cause me to switch to McAFee from NAV.



    I expect such problems with any of the AV products.

    One question, do I have to use IE to download the updates, or can I use Firefox?

    So does NAV.

    I purchased only the 3 user VirusScan 10, $0 AFTER rebates from http://www.buy.com/.

    Very much!
    Thanx.
     
  11. <DreamCatcher>

    <DreamCatcher> Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Posts:
    154

    Hi,

    Yes you need to have Internet Explorer set to your default browser as it uses ActiveX to update. But if you want to manually update McAfee I think they released a Plug-in for firefox, not sure might have to look!
     
  12. betauser2

    betauser2 Guest

    Yes they have, it seems to open internet explorer in the firefox window.

    betauser2
     
  13. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    I program using ActiveX often and IE is NOT my default browser.
    I believe the issue really is that mcAfee decided to use the browser for downloads, and IE supports ActiveX, but Firefox does not. So they may have added an extension to allow Firefox to use ActiveX.

    I downloaded the user's guide and saw no mention of this issue.

    Currently, I'm planning on installing McAfee on a system that has only IE, but I may add Firefox, that's why I am concerned.
     
  14. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    do you have a link for the add-on?

    It is my understanding that MSFT has made available an extension for Firefox to allow use of Windows Update via Firefox, perhaps it's the same critter?
     
  15. betauser2

    betauser2 Guest

    Hi Howard, (I'm running NIS 2006 at the moment)

    If Firefox is set as your default browser, when you do your first (manual) update the McAfee site will recognise your browser (it recognised FF as Netscape) and automatically download the extension (firefox will notify you)

    It is my understanding that MSFT has made available an extension for Firefox to allow use of Windows Update via Firefox, perhaps it's the same critter?[/QUOTE]

    I don't know as I've never used it, sorry

    betauser2
     
  16. betauser2

    betauser2 Guest

    To me it looks like the extension just opens up IE in FF browser.

    The only evidence I have is using right click on the screen, when doing so the options are as IE's not FF's

    You should def. be a better judge than me, but do let us know.

    betauser2
     
  17. <DreamCatcher>

    <DreamCatcher> Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Posts:
    154
    Hi,

    Ive been searching and found this;

    To enable McAfee VS to update regardless of the default browser
    setting, I did the following:
    1. Create an Administrator level account. This a temporary account that
    will be deleted.
    2. Log in to the newly created temporary account.
    3. Set the default internet browser to MSIE.
    4. Open MSIE.
    5. Disable the popup blocker. Also disable any third-party IE toolbars.
    6. Set the cookie and security settings to those you suggested.
    7. Run the Update process once. This will also set up the ActiveX
    component for MSIE.
    8. Close MSIE.
    9. Change the default browser setting back to Netscape, Opera, Firefox,
    etc., as desired.
    10. Restore the cookie and security settings to those that are desired,
    but make sure the McAfee ActiveX component can still run.
    11. Download and install the McAfee Netscape plugin. Also, manually copy
    this plugin to any other browsers that use Netscape plugins.
    12. Log out of this temporary account.
    13. Delete the temporary account.
    14. Future updates will invoke the default internet browser. An MSIE
    window will pop up to do the actual .DAT file download and update.

    The above process should need to be done only once. I have verified this
    process using MSIE 6 SP2, Opera 7.54, Netscape 7.02, Netscape 4.80, and
    Firefox 1. It should work similarly on other browsers that support
    Javascript and Netscape-style plugins.

    http://groups.google.co.uk/group/ne...e using Firefox&rnum=4&hl=en#e7e3d3ebc936d5d1
     
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2006
  18. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    I don't know as I've never used it, sorry

    betauser2[/QUOTE]

    I was referring to http://www.microsoft.com/genuine/downloads/InstallPlugin.aspx?displaylang=en&sGuid=f87510e2-b622-4755-b8d1-a7773e82fa2c,
    but I do not believe that is the same critter. I see no reason to use such a plug-in. It is cleaner to use IE to do Windows Update.
     
  19. andylau

    andylau Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2006
    Posts:
    679
    I think Mcafee will better than norton
    also, it use less resources than norton
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.