McAfee Total Protection 2007

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Creekside Rogue, Oct 12, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Creekside Rogue

    Creekside Rogue Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    30
    Location:
    Cave Spring, Georgia, USA
    Hi folks,

    Just trying to decide whether or not this year's version of McAfee's Security Suite is worth trying or not. I've read mixed reviews so far. Has anybody downloaded and/or purchased either of the various packages McAfee is offering this year? If so, what are your impressions so far? I'll probably try out the Security Suite trial myself soon too.

    Creekside Rogue
     
  2. Legendkiller

    Legendkiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1,052
    I have tried Mcafee Virusscan Plus which has AV,AS,FW and worked pretty well here.
    RAM usage was decent,but you will have to try them yourself as mcafee products do cause problems with different pc.

    But i think virusscan plus is the most reliable of the many versions available.
     
  3. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    McAfee VirusScan Plus is ok, though it has absolutelly terrible interface in terms of usability and ease of use. It's just bad and you have to constantly switch between simple and advnaced mode to actually perform some task.
    Otherwise it's an ok AV.
     
  4. wujxin

    wujxin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Posts:
    28
    Location:
    China
    I agree.
     
  5. Frank the Perv

    Frank the Perv Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Posts:
    882
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    I keep thinking about dumping it.

    McAfee used to always score near the top of AV tests, and due to the size of the company, they used to have a pretty polished product.

    No more.

    The scores have not done so well lately, and the new version of McAfee is still like a Beta work in progress. They keep tweaking and tweaking through the automatic updates, and it get a little better. But it's still troublesome.

    Just a few days ago, McAfee told me that portions of "security center" had missing data and that I needed to go to McAfee.com and re-download the data.

    As I'm used to doing, I went to the McAfee forum and noted that others were experiencing the same problem. So instead of downloading the new data over and over again as some were doing (without fixing the problem), I just waited a few days - and the automatic updates fixed the problem.

    But that's the way it is with McAfee these days.

    I have not gotten around to setting it up yet, but I’m thinking a free AV with Prevx will give me better protection than a standard paid AV.
     
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2006
  6. Legendkiller

    Legendkiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1,052
    actually the released a un-tested beta in the market...
    So,you are spot-on when you say its still a beta in progress..
     
  7. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I am running McAfee Total Protection 2007 and like it very much. it runs light and it is effective.I don't have all of the modules installed such as wireless protection since I am not wireless now and no parental controls but everything works well. It runs as light on this comp as any security app I have had installed. And that is quite a few.
     
  8. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma

    is it really that hard to click one button to switch from basic to advanced??.
     
  9. Technic

    Technic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Posts:
    428

    Thanks for the info. :) I know you got it free, so your opinion is not biased?:p
    I might even try it then. (and yes, I can trust you anyway)

    cheers,

    Technic
     
  10. Creekside Rogue

    Creekside Rogue Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    30
    Location:
    Cave Spring, Georgia, USA
    I had noticed the conversations about user problems in the forums as well. Like I often do with computer games that are not quite up to speed, I keep going back to the publisher of the software in hopes of finding a new patch to make the game more playable. However, with security products, this is something that should not happen due to the potentially degrading impact at the consumer's end. Thanks for the input so far.

    Creekside Rogue
     
  11. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma

    I appreciate your trust. And I will never intenionally miss represent any product or falsly report on it's performance. Trust is hard to get so I do try to earn it by being fair and comprehensive in my posts and replys. But back to the subject at hands. If total protection gets along with your computer I think you will like it.

    bigc
     
  12. gxr

    gxr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Posts:
    1
    hi...

    Everytime i go to download something from my friend's PC, i come with Brontok, Brontok hits me..? McAfee couldn't stop it?

    help? it embarrased me with those silly msgs it have

    gxr im out
     
  13. Technodrome

    Technodrome Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    2,140
    Location:
    New York
    My experience is matching BigCs. This version is lighter comparing to some previous versions. Its more then just Antivirus so memory usage its a bit higher. I actually have a copy of PC Protection + . I really like “Trafic Monitor”. :cool:


    tD
     

    Attached Files:

  14. Technic

    Technic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Posts:
    428
    You were right, as always. I installed McAfee IS 2007. After update (plenty of patches?) everything is running smooth. This suite uses some resources, but NO slowdowns here (AMD 3200+ 1gig RAM laptop). GUI is pretty "nice", although bit complicated at first.

    Thanks for your tip bigc. ;)
     
  15. Legendkiller

    Legendkiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1,052
    i also agree with bigc,i never had any performance problem with mcafee,detection's are still 90+
    I think its AV is definetly more than ok,in my opinion and working flawlessly here..
     
  16. Straight Shooter

    Straight Shooter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Posts:
    108
    Does this new version still need IE and Active X to update ?
     
  17. Technic

    Technic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Posts:
    428
    AFAIK, no. :)
     
  18. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Why, when it could just be in Advanced mode all the time... would be much better instead confusing users with 2 modes...
     
  19. Atomic_Ed

    Atomic_Ed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    389
    I agree and have been very happy with it ever snce you recommended it to me.
     
  20. Creekside Rogue

    Creekside Rogue Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    30
    Location:
    Cave Spring, Georgia, USA
    I'm glad to hear some positive feedback on this product, thanks BigC for your honest assessment as a moderator. I've downloaded the Internet Security package (8-in-1) since McAfee only offers that or the VirusScanPlus versions as trials. I'll see how this app runs on my laptop before making any additional decisions.

    Creekside Rogue
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.