McAfee Seeks VirusScan 10 Testers

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Nate, May 30, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Nate

    Nate Guest

    Security software maker McAfee is readying a slew of betas for the second half of 2005. Among the tests is the 10.0 release of McAfee's flagship VirusScan that improves instant messenger scanning, alerts for malicious scripts and worm-like activity, Windows Explorer integration, and Microsoft Outlook integration.

    McAfee Personal Firewall Plus 7.0, McAfee SpamKiller 7.0 and McAfee AntiSpyware 2.0 are also currently in beta. McAfee Privacy Service 8.0 and McAfee QuickClean 6.0, meanwhile, are on the docket for mid-June. Testers may participate by visiting McAfee's Beta Program Web site. Some incentives to test the software include free licenses and an iPod Shuffle giveaway.


    McAfee's Beta Program Web site : http://preview.mcafee.com/
     
  2. iwod

    iwod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Posts:
    708
    Are they planning to get rid of security centre?
     
  3. Stephan123

    Stephan123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    135
    Location:
    The netherlands
    No and the download page of the virusscan 10.0 is down in firefox in IE worked it
    Mcafee Antispyware 2.0 is good for now, i am testing it
     
  4. quexx88

    quexx88 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Posts:
    235
    Location:
    Radnor, Pennsylvania
    Well, I've signed my soul over and have downloaded and installed everything they have to offer. Heres hoping for free stuff :rolleyes:
     
  5. NAMOR

    NAMOR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,526
    Location:
    Arkham Asylum

    Tell me how it goes... ;)
     
  6. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    i dont know where i need to report this but when i clicked on user profile, someone elses info was filled in, like the issue with the download links this is also a firefox issue.
     
  7. quexx88

    quexx88 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Posts:
    235
    Location:
    Radnor, Pennsylvania
    WOW this thing makes a megaton of processes! I'm counting a total of fifteen new ones! RAM usage is quite high too, although it has done a good job with detection. I have reported a bug regarding erroneous reporting of the status of Windows Update. So far, however, nothing show-stopping.
     
  8. dread

    dread Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Posts:
    195
    The virusscan firewall and spamkiller working great for me. Has not slowed me down one bit.
     
  9. danny9

    danny9 Departed Friend

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    678
    Location:
    Clinton Twp. Mi
    Just wondering if I'm missing something here. Went to beta testing site to read more about it but can't find any info except for the downloads available. I use Virus scan 9 now and the firewall. I'm assuming these would have to be uninstalled first. Some info on the site would be nice. Incentives were mentioned also but can't find any mention of that. Thanks
     
  10. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    yes, some info would be nice but i guess the site, not just the programs, are a work in progress. the readme and release notes are under contruction.
     
  11. danny9

    danny9 Departed Friend

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    678
    Location:
    Clinton Twp. Mi
    I'll give it some time then. Thanks for responding. Dan
     
  12. VikingStorm

    VikingStorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    387
    I noticed the program install using active-x. Does the update still use it?
     
  13. danny9

    danny9 Departed Friend

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    678
    Location:
    Clinton Twp. Mi
    I noticed that too. I'm sure it does.
     
  14. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    same here, i was so close to considering trying the beta. i hate it when mcafee uses activex. its bad enough with the updating but installation/setup too. neways i guess ill stick with the enterprise version.
     
  15. quexx88

    quexx88 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Posts:
    235
    Location:
    Radnor, Pennsylvania
    Blah. This thing is slowing me down a bit too much, and I hate the updater. Bye bye McAfee :'(
     
  16. Tinribs

    Tinribs Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Posts:
    734
    Location:
    England
    A shame, hopefully as its beta testing they will address these issues, unfortunately I used to be a huge fan and had always used them, but the programes got bigger and bigger and less useable., a real shame.


    :)
    Kev
     
  17. controler

    controler Guest

    Once again against my best judgement I installed this crap. Same senerio

    Totaly fubared my system as usual.

    THis will for sure be the last time I insall this crap.

    Reformat again o_O

    controler
     
  18. Chuck57

    Chuck57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Posts:
    1,422
    Location:
    New Mexico, USA
    I downloaded the antivirus and firewall right over the top of McAfee Security Suite 2005, which is viruscan 9 and firewall 6+ I think. Not a problem, although I wonder if the beta antivirus and firewall will still work when the beta period is over. Hate to have to go through all the nonsense of reloading the Internet security suite again. Also, I got this strange name @nai.com in the user profile, but nothing about how long the beta period will run.

    I don't notice any slowdown. In fact, it seems to scan faster than VS 9, and MSIE seems to work faster with the beta firewall and antivirus. No problems yet, in a couple of days of running 24/7. So far, I'm happy, except for wondering what will happen when the beta test period expires.
     
  19. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    i keep telling people how important it is to backup or image ur system. for me True Image is a great app and perfect for those times u want to test software like an AV.
     
  20. maddawgz

    maddawgz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    1,277
    Location:
    Earth
    It will sux them juices pass!!! :blink:
     
  21. controler

    controler Guest

    In My case after further investagation, I found it was the firewall that was causing my blue screens. It took a a while but I have never seen a product
    cause this before. I just happened upon the problem. I was too lazy & did not have the time to reformat so I just unhooked the network cable from my dead desktop to use on my laptop. When I got home from work, I decided I would try boot the desktop back up . To my amuzment, it came right up.
    I then decided to see if I could connect to the net. I plugged the net cable back into my desktop & right a way I got the blue screen. I then started uninstalling
    Mc afee moduals untill I found it was the firewall modual causing my problem.
    I then went back & added the antispam & antispyware mods. Computer seems to be running of with all but the firewall at present.
    I just thought I would share the fact that having your network cable can cause the big blue screen using Mc Afee's firewall.

    controler
     
  22. danny9

    danny9 Departed Friend

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    678
    Location:
    Clinton Twp. Mi
    I sent 2 e-mails to Mcafee at:
    preview@mcafee.com.
    One dated 5/31 and the other on 6/6.
    Both were regarding the beta testing and asking them about installation.
    Neither one was answered but both were read.
    I have virus scan 9 and the firewall now and both run and work well on my system.
    I do think that 1 of the improvements they need to make is in the area of support..big time.
    Getting tech support,unless you want to pay or use the forums, is very difficult. Even with the beta now. I used the address they gave for comments, questions and feedback. Do they reply? NO.
    It may be time to start looking elsewhere. :cool:
     
  23. VikingStorm

    VikingStorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    387
    I remember using their free online support chat (1-2 years ago). I swear I was talking to a robot. :blink:
    I've only seen the beta team for the Enterprise software actually reply (a coincidence? I think not).
     
  24. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    I am luckier than you guys because a real person replied to my email, one week after it was sent :blink::p:D:eek:
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.