McAfee reported a virus in SpywareBlaster 3.5.1

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by paul333m, Jan 8, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. paul333m

    paul333m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Posts:
    1
    McAfee reported a virus in SpywareBlaster 3.5.1 when I tried to download it. I asked a few people about it and got this reply:

    -------------------------------------

    It's almost certainly a false positive Paul. It's not uncommon for one security program to falsely detect a malware infection in another security product. What in fact is being detected is not an infection but the malware signature file in the other product.

    The problem should be reported to McAfee. Their product needs to be a little smarter.

    Thanks for writing, it's appreciated.

    Gizmo
    -----Original Message-----
    From: ~snipped~
    Sent: Friday, January 06, 2006 11:47 AM
    To: ~snipped~
    Subject: virus in latest spyware blaster


    Hi,

    The McAfee virus program finds a virus in the newly released version of spyware blaster.
    I didn't know who to report this to, so I chose those above. I'm sorry if I sent it to anyone not interested.

    Thanks.

    Paul Michaelson
    ~snipped~

    Paul - I've removed the email addies in your post - we don't want the bots that harvest emails to have them. - snapdragin
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 8, 2006
  2. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    Could you please report this to McAfee? The sooner it is fixed, the better. :)

    Best regards and thanks,

    -Javacool
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.