McAfee Question

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by cohbraz, Dec 27, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cohbraz

    cohbraz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Posts:
    26
    Location:
    United States
    With the resources that McAfee has, and now even able to draw from Intel, why does McAfee products always seem to rank near the bottom of tests? I do not think I have ever seen a test that ranked them highly. Are the products really that bad, or are there setting that are off by default that can be turned on to make it work better?
     
  2. silverfox99

    silverfox99 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Posts:
    204
    I guess you could say similar about MSE - an AV backed by one of the biggest Corps. in world with $$$$$ to spend on their product, but why MSE not rank highly regularly in protection tests either? (not dissing MSE I like it for what it is: which when compared to McAfee, MSE is quiet and light without the bloat, for a broadly similar protection level as McAfee.
     
  3. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    They might be as well a dormant giant. Remember TrendMicro? I thought months ago that they were forgotten and buried somewhere out there.
    Look at them now :thumb:
     
  4. Mman79

    Mman79 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Posts:
    2,016
    Location:
    North America
    Only McAfee can answer that, and trust me, they'll dance around it before they give an honest answer. There was a time they were great, those days seem to be gone. Now it's poor protection with very poor performance.
     
  5. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    trust me, they know all of this and 2013 will be the start of a 2 year venture to redefine their products. So for now, just take it with a grain of salt.;)
     
  6. Taliscicero

    Taliscicero Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,439
    Because most if not all the talented programmers and intelligible designers already work for another company and are on contracts and cannot or don't want to move to another company.
     
  7. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    I think McAfee has basically spent a lot of time "brainstorming" with Intel; that's why their products have fallen by the wayside. I think they will improve soon though. In any case I have never found them to be exceedingly bad at anything; it's just that I have seen better products available than McAfee's at just about every segment (workstation, endpoint, SOHO, server, etc.).
     
  8. Rompin Raider

    Rompin Raider Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,228
    Location:
    North Texas
    So when are you switching to McAfee? I'm watching!:D
     
  9. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    McAfee was to be his product of the year, remember.:D
     
  10. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    I get the sense these guys move around more than you think.
     
  11. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,468
    They will wake up eventually. :D
     
  12. TheErzengel

    TheErzengel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Posts:
    11
    Location:
    M?xico
    McAfee & Lavasoft = Past!
     
  13. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    Thanks all for your comments. As usual, time will tell
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.