Mcafee or command

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Hulk, Jan 5, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hulk

    Hulk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2005
    Posts:
    40
    I have a copy of Command AV and also Mcafee, I think I like Command better as it is quicker and uses less resources but does anyone else have any views or info as to which is more reliable.

    Thanks

    o_O o_O o_O o_O
     
  2. Smokey

    Smokey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    Posts:
    1,513
    Location:
    Annie's Pub
    IMHO go for McAfee.

    Much better protection;)
     
  3. metallicakid15

    metallicakid15 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Posts:
    454
    mcafee would be a better choice i agree
     
  4. metallicakid15

    metallicakid15 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Posts:
    454
    mcafee is ranked third in detection rates
     
  5. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    An excellent reason for staying with CSAV as your primary scanner ;)
    Therefore, use Mcafee as your backup scanner to CSAV. This would be a good combination.

    I am assuming that you are talking about the Home version of McAfee and not the Enterprise edition.
     
  6. Hulk

    Hulk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2005
    Posts:
    40
    Yes it's for the home version of Mcafee

    Thanks
     
  7. mercurie

    mercurie A Friendly Creature

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Posts:
    2,442
    Location:
    Sky over the Wilders Forest
    It's a close call for me, but I would go for Command AV. My reasoning is along the same lines as BlackCat stated for using it as your main scanner. ;)

    Note: I have used them both. I believe they both offer good protection.
     
  8. Hulk

    Hulk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2005
    Posts:
    40
    I will stay with CSAV - as the other reason I am put off Mcafee is the Active X issue, I am unaware of any other AV asking for Active X to be enabled so it can update itself or communicate with IE (FIREFIX USER) and as you are aware can and in most cases does create a security issue.

    Thanks

    :cool:
     
  9. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Apparently it's not a problem according to some.But read the thread from the beginning.https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?p=649890#post649890
     
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2006
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. Ibrad
    Replies:
    24
    Views:
    2,398
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.