McAfee Livesafe

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by KaptainBug, Apr 6, 2016.

  1. KaptainBug

    KaptainBug Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2013
    Posts:
    484
    Hello,

    My employer gives me McAfee Livesafe for free and I'm thinking to use it. How good is it ? Does anyone use it and whats your opinion ?
     
  2. Nevis

    Nevis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Posts:
    786
    Location:
    255.255.255.255
    I have 5 year subscription of Mcafee free from my employer. Its still unused.
    I think that answer your question. Just because a paid software is given free doesnt mean you should use it.

    I am not going to to A vs B comparison. Just note that there are better free alternatives.
     
  3. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I have used McAfee on several computers over the years and the early versions were pretty heavy but the newer one is much lighter. If someone gave me A McAfee program I would not hesitate to use it.
     
  4. KaptainBug

    KaptainBug Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2013
    Posts:
    484
    Thanks. I will try this program.
     
  5. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,026
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    It's pre-installed on a lot of PC's from HP, Asus and Acer. It's the first thing that I remove. I didn't like that you can not control the firewall, and real-time scanning was also slowing down the machine. My general impression is that it's garbage, but it's a matter of taste.
     
  6. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    I haven't used mcafee for years. I can get it free from my internet service provider. I will be interested in your thoughts once you have tried it
     
  7. KaptainBug

    KaptainBug Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2013
    Posts:
    484
    I have been using it for only 2 days now, and so far its doing good. I'm not experiencing any slow downs so far. For every website I navigate in Chrome, I'm seeing CPU usage like 7-10% and then it goes down to 0% and memory consumption is around 200MB. I recommend that you do a custom install and unselect pc optimization tools, shredder and other tools that you don't want to use.
     
  8. KaptainBug

    KaptainBug Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2013
    Posts:
    484
    I'm pleased with McAfee's performance so far. My first full scan was slower and I experienced some slow downs. Further full scans are very light and fast that I don't even feel its running in the background. One good thing I noticed is, the scan pauses when system resources are low and resumes later. You will be notified when scan is complete and I believe it runs a quick scan regularly. Full scans can be scheduled by the user as per convenience.
     
  9. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    I have just been reading about mcafee endpoint security 10 which is the enterprise version which has been redesigned from the ground up. I am hoping they will design the home products from the ground up soon as well.
     
  10. Circuit

    Circuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014
    Posts:
    142
    Agree 100% :thumb:
     
  11. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    I've been using McAfee internet security for a few months now. It's surprisingly nimble and quite effective, though I have noted a few bugs from time to time. Configuration-wise, it is indeed limited, but I have found that the protection is not compromised on the default settings.

    I am pleased so far with it's protection, having saved my arse more than once inside college campuses. Artemis works very well where signatures do not.

    That being said, it's not a "A-tier" product, you can consider it on par with AVG as far it's protection levels go.
     
  12. Ibrad

    Ibrad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1,949
    I just rolled out McAfee into all my machines thanks to a good deal I got on an Amazon sale. It ran smooth on all but one of my machines where the install refused to install a UI to McAfee however after some cleanup I think I have finally solved that issue.

    Outside of that it actually is quite smooth. It's using around 150mb of memory but it's definitely not as heavy as it use to be. The cloud Artemis protection is active on all the machines and no False Positives on any of my applications. I'm pleased so far, it's mucb better than the former 09-10 McAfee I formerly used
     
  13. FeralVirus

    FeralVirus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Posts:
    18
    We also use McAfee at work. At home I got a 30 day free trial to McAfee Internet Security when I recently purchased a new rig at Best Buy. It was pre-installed. They also gave me a free 6 month sub to Trend Micro. I tried both and preferred McAfee due to what I perceive to be snappier computer response. I ended up buying a one year sub for $20.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. Ibrad
    Replies:
    24
    Views:
    2,405