McAfee Internet Security 2009 for 35$

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by kinwolf, Jul 20, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kinwolf

    kinwolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Posts:
    271
    Thought it might interest some. 3-users McAfee Internet Security 2009 at about 50% off on their canadian site. http://mcafee.com/ca-en/

    My predictions of replies:
    - "Thanks!"
    - "They would pay me that I wouldn't even use their stuff, bloated, etc.."
    - "I get it for free from my ISP"
    - "Where's Canada?"
    ;)
     
  2. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    lol nice find from my country's mcafee site :D
     
  3. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,050
    Location:
    USA
    Correct prediction. I'll take the second one... :D
     
  4. Kevin523

    Kevin523 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Posts:
    72
    Is Mcafee really that bad? I know it went downhill a bit the last few years - but I thought in recent tests I saw somewhere it's gotten much better at detection? I could be wrong.
     
  5. Pleonasm

    Pleonasm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Posts:
    1,201
  6. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,069
    Those discounts are not uncommon.

    What they really hope for is that people subscribe and thus will 'enhance' the (money) revenue stream by means of their auto-renewal policy. ;)
     
  7. kinwolf

    kinwolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Posts:
    271
    With Artemis they got alot better. Also, I talked with one of their tech lately and we talked about McAfee recent purchase of S3 Solidcore. That technologie will probably be merged in some form with the consumer product in the near future, and in a more advanced manner in their business product, so that will help alot too. Think of it as McaFee answer to Norton Insight.

    Can't say I like their GUI though, and it's a bit unresponsive(the GUI). But the 5400 engine coming out in November is quite faster then the current 5301(I did some basic tests using the RC of 5400). So hopefully the 2010 version will sport a better gui with the new engine.
     
  8. Dark_Hanzo

    Dark_Hanzo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Posts:
    172
    Location:
    Canada
    Thanks! :D
    But seriously, I used McAfee back in 2005 and it wasn't that bad. I just didn't get the chance to renew my 1-year license since I switched back to kaspersky.
     
  9. stanmonday

    stanmonday Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Posts:
    8
    And is Kaspersky any better?
     
  10. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    A vs B-threads are not allowed - scratch that.
     
  11. Legendkiller

    Legendkiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1,052
    i went to their US website yesterday and they had a Fix-it box,which would cost 86$ approx....
    which said that they would remotely access our PC and fix it for virus by their experts......
    wow,86$$$$ for virus removal service...........ever heard of disk-imaging/backup??
     
  12. kinwolf

    kinwolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Posts:
    271
    Most AV compagnies now offer a service like that, at insane price yes, but 90% of regular people never heard of disk-imaging/backup and would scream in fear and run away should you try to explain to them how to use 'em
     
  13. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,123
    Location:
    USA
    .
    Can't say anything about the quality of the software, but one thing that really bugs me about McAfee is there is no subscription information in the GUI AFAICT. When I work on systems for customers I always try to determine how much time they have left on their security product subscription and show them how to monitor it. This is a serious omission and a good reason not the use the software IMHO.
     
  14. kinwolf

    kinwolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Posts:
    271
    It's right on the main window of Protection Status along with last scan and last update, you have Subscription Expiration with the date indicated next to it.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.