Mcafee Desktop Firewall...

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by kalpik, Feb 28, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kalpik

    kalpik Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Posts:
    369
    Location:
    Delhi, India
    Is anyone still using it? I dont get stealth for TCP "ping", TCP FIN and TCP XMAS in pcflank stealth test. Where is it going wrong?
     
  2. noway

    noway Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2005
    Posts:
    351
  3. kalpik

    kalpik Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Posts:
    369
    Location:
    Delhi, India
    Hmm..
     
  4. metallicakid15

    metallicakid15 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Posts:
    454
    also mcafee does poor against leak tests
     
  5. JRCATES

    JRCATES Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,203
    Location:
    USA
    WHICH "leak tests" are you referring to? And are you referring to the hardware firewall (Desktop - subject of this thread), or the software version? If you're going to make a blanket statement like that, a link supporting your claim would be nice.....
     
  6. metallicakid15

    metallicakid15 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Posts:
    454
  7. JRCATES

    JRCATES Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,203
    Location:
    USA
  8. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    last time i checked, mcafee desktop firewall is not hardware but JRCATES is correct in saying those links apply to their personal firewall plus and not desktop firewall.
     
  9. kalpik

    kalpik Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Posts:
    369
    Location:
    Delhi, India
    Yup.. There is no "hardware" Desktop Firewall. Its the enterprise version of their Personal Firewall.
     
  10. JRCATES

    JRCATES Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,203
    Location:
    USA
    OK, well....I stand corrected. But I was right in the sense that it is DIFFERENT from the Personal Firewall Plus software version.....;)
     
  11. CrazyM

    CrazyM Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,428
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Are those particular scans showing in the logs? Anything else in place that could be effecting the results?

    Regards,

    CrazyM
     
  12. kalpik

    kalpik Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Posts:
    369
    Location:
    Delhi, India
    Nope.. They are not shown in the logs. And i dont think anything else should affect the results. If anyone is using it, can they please check if they are getting stealth or not.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.