Mcafee Desktop Firewall...

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by kalpik, Feb 28, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kalpik

    kalpik Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Posts:
    369
    Location:
    Delhi, India
    Is anyone still using it? I dont get stealth for TCP "ping", TCP FIN and TCP XMAS in pcflank stealth test. Where is it going wrong?
     
  2. noway

    noway Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2005
    Posts:
    394
  3. kalpik

    kalpik Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Posts:
    369
    Location:
    Delhi, India
    Hmm..
     
  4. metallicakid15

    metallicakid15 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Posts:
    454
    also mcafee does poor against leak tests
     
  5. JRCATES

    JRCATES Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,205
    Location:
    USA
    WHICH "leak tests" are you referring to? And are you referring to the hardware firewall (Desktop - subject of this thread), or the software version? If you're going to make a blanket statement like that, a link supporting your claim would be nice.....
     
  6. metallicakid15

    metallicakid15 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Posts:
    454
  7. JRCATES

    JRCATES Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,205
    Location:
    USA
  8. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    last time i checked, mcafee desktop firewall is not hardware but JRCATES is correct in saying those links apply to their personal firewall plus and not desktop firewall.
     
  9. kalpik

    kalpik Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Posts:
    369
    Location:
    Delhi, India
    Yup.. There is no "hardware" Desktop Firewall. Its the enterprise version of their Personal Firewall.
     
  10. JRCATES

    JRCATES Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,205
    Location:
    USA
    OK, well....I stand corrected. But I was right in the sense that it is DIFFERENT from the Personal Firewall Plus software version.....;)
     
  11. CrazyM

    CrazyM Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,428
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Are those particular scans showing in the logs? Anything else in place that could be effecting the results?

    Regards,

    CrazyM
     
  12. kalpik

    kalpik Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Posts:
    369
    Location:
    Delhi, India
    Nope.. They are not shown in the logs. And i dont think anything else should affect the results. If anyone is using it, can they please check if they are getting stealth or not.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.