Mcafee and artemis!

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by tsilo, Dec 1, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tsilo

    tsilo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Posts:
    376
    Hi all
    I am interesting doas McAfee VirusScan Plus 2009 includes Artemis??
     
  2. marciocruz

    marciocruz Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Posts:
    249
    no,only enterprise products have artemis
     
  3. tsilo

    tsilo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Posts:
    376
    And do you know when they include it in VirusScan Plus?
     
  4. marciocruz

    marciocruz Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Posts:
    249
    now is on beta stage,on mcafee total protection beta
     
  5. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,069
    Artemis is only available in enterprise products and in the (home) beta version (for beta testers) of Total Protection, I'm not sure about Virusscan Plus, but for as far as I know you can uninstall parts/products of the SecurityCenter.
     
  6. InfinityAz

    InfinityAz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Posts:
    828
    Location:
    Arizona
    tsilo,

    You can add Artemis to any of the 2008 or 2009 McAfee products (gotta love all the misinformation on the net). You can download it from McAfee's site. They also include download on this page to test that it is working.
     
  7. tsilo

    tsilo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Posts:
    376
    Thanks InfinityAz.. :thumb:
     
  8. Bunkhouse Buck

    Bunkhouse Buck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    1,056
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2008
  9. GES/POR

    GES/POR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,490
    Location:
    Armacham
  10. Baz_kasp

    Baz_kasp Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Posts:
    593
    Location:
    London

    PE= PE executable (aka .exes and .dlls)



    edit: dlls :p
     
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2008
  11. GES/POR

    GES/POR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,490
    Location:
    Armacham
    Malware wich needs execution?
     
  12. smage

    smage Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Posts:
    377
    Hi,
    Can artemis be added to the free Mcafee Virusscan Plus from AOL?
    Regards.
     
  13. TechOutsider

    TechOutsider Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Posts:
    549
    McAfee + Artemis = 99% detection
    Norton = 99% detection
     
  14. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    I think yes, since the AOL version is McAfee 2008.
     
  15. Bunkhouse Buck

    Bunkhouse Buck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    1,056
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Where did you get 99% for Norton? AV Comparatives in the latest on demand results has it at 97.9% detection for highest settings compared to the leader (Avira) at 99.2%.

    Not trying to nitpick, but Norton is not at 99%.
     
  16. JasSolo

    JasSolo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Posts:
    414
    Location:
    Denmark
    Look here :)


    Marry Christmas
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 25, 2008
  17. Makav3l1

    Makav3l1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Posts:
    241
    AOL Virusscan plus is no longer being given away for free. You have to have a paid account. Thought I might throw that out there.
     
  18. Bunkhouse Buck

    Bunkhouse Buck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    1,056
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Set B is not 99%.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 25, 2008
  19. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    You can find McAfee Virus Scan Plus for free- 1 year license- if you do a search on slickdeals.net hot deals forum.
     
  20. smage

    smage Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Posts:
    377
    Ok thanks for the info.
     
  21. smage

    smage Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Posts:
    377
    Are you sure about this?
    I just tried and they are still giving serial numbers for free for Mcafee Viruscan Plus special edition AOL.
     
  22. JasSolo

    JasSolo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Posts:
    414
    Location:
    Denmark
    True...but neither is Avira's ;)


    Merry Christmas
     
  23. Makav3l1

    Makav3l1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Posts:
    241
    Have you actually tried or have an aol plan? It definitely isn't free anymore. Check it out:
    http://daol.aol.com/security/?
     
  24. apm

    apm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Posts:
    162
    new AV 2009 so new that only MS & sophos detect it, seems the cloud scan including Artemis not so useful in prevent this kind of malware.

    came from just opening normal website and suddenly popup, ~Malware link and Virus Total results removed. - Ron~
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 26, 2008
  25. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    USA
    Symantec did recieve 99 percent on the last on-demand scan test of August 2008. They recieved 99 percent configured under their highest settings. You might want to look again. No disrespect intended. I don't use Symantec, but i just looked on AV comparatives. Symantec usually scores really good on on-demand scans Too bad they don't do so well on Retrospective/ Proactive test. Myself.. i like NOD 32, and Avira Premium. Not that it matters. They all have their strengths, and weaknesses.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. Ibrad
    Replies:
    24
    Views:
    2,402
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.