McAfee 7.0

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by notageek, Mar 7, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. notageek

    notageek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Posts:
    1,601
    Location:
    Ohio
    Does anyone know if McAfee 7.0 comes with an ingoing and outgoing email scanner?
     
  2. Technodrome

    Technodrome Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    2,140
    Location:
    New York
    There is a feature called HAWK, which scans incoming email.



    Technodrome
     
  3. notageek

    notageek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Posts:
    1,601
    Location:
    Ohio
    Thanks Technodrome. I'm still deciding on if I want to get NV 2003 or McAfee 7.0. Does anyone know how long McAfee offers their free subscription for updates? I know NAV offers a 12 month subscription.
     
  4. Smokey

    Smokey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    Posts:
    1,513
    Location:
    Annie's Pub
    My advice: take McAfee VirusScan 7.

    Reasons (I'm to lazy to write, just picked following at Cnet but I agree with their opinion):

    "Like its archrival Norton AntiVirus Professional Edition (NAVPE) 2003, McAfee VirusScan Professional 7.0 automatically downloads up-to-date virus definitions from the Internet; provides a cogent, lucid interface that's quick to navigate; squashes malicious scripts, worms, viruses, and other digital miscreants; and is reasonably priced at about $60. Unlike NAVPE 2003, VirusScan Professional 7.0 has superior technical support and faster scanning times, and it comes with a firewall--essential for anyone with an always-on DSL or cable-modem Net connection. Although it's a tad less slick-looking than NAVPE 2003, VirusScan Professional 7.0 is a fine first-time antivirus choice for any Windows user. If you're choosing between NAVPE 2003 and VirusScan Professional 7.0, we give the edge to VirusScan Professional 7.0."

    Besides that, the McAfee VirusScan 7 engine is pretty good.

    BTW: the free subscription for updates is 1 year.
     
  5. Chuck57

    Chuck57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Posts:
    1,422
    Location:
    New Mexico, USA
    I picked up my VS7 at WalMart for under $40 and I like it. I would prefer more frequent updates than the weekly they offer, although on occasion I've gotten two in a week.

    Other than the above, I find McAfee light on resources, but I have a fairly new generic computer with better than a Gig processor and 548RAM, which I'm sure helps keep things up to speed.

    I don't know that McAfee is at the top, with NOD32 or Kaspersky or one or two others, but I rate them in the top 5
     
  6. notageek

    notageek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Posts:
    1,601
    Location:
    Ohio
    Thanks for the insight guys.
     
  7. Smokey

    Smokey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    Posts:
    1,513
    Location:
    Annie's Pub
    You're welcome!

    My personal Top-3 of AV-scanners:

    1. KAV Personal Pro 4
    2. RAV Desktop 8.6
    3. McAfee VirusScan 7

    As you can see, there is no free AV-scanner in my list, but tiill yet reality is that you have to pay for a top-notch scanner.
     
  8. notageek

    notageek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Posts:
    1,601
    Location:
    Ohio
    Anyone know if you have to use the built in firewall with McAfee? I'm using sygate and really like it. I really don't want to change to something that might not be so good.
     
  9. Madsen DK

    Madsen DK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2002
    Posts:
    324
    Location:
    Denmark
    Hi Notageek
    No you dont have to use the Mcafee firewall.
    Sygate will be detected during the install, so only VS will be installed.
    There might be a warning, that you have another firewall installed, but just proceed with the install.
    FW4 will not be installed.
    Regards
    Ole :cool:
     
  10. notageek

    notageek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Posts:
    1,601
    Location:
    Ohio
    Thanks DK. I'm going to research the firewall that comes with McAfee and see if it's really any good.
     
  11. Madsen DK

    Madsen DK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2002
    Posts:
    324
    Location:
    Denmark
    Hi.
    I dont know which are the best, but ive heard, that FW4 is a quite competent firewall.
    Passed all stealth/ probe test ive tried :D
    Regards Ole
     
  12. notageek

    notageek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Posts:
    1,601
    Location:
    Ohio
    Thanks for the info DK. Is it call McAfee firewall 4?
     
  13. Madsen DK

    Madsen DK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2002
    Posts:
    324
    Location:
    Denmark
    Yes.
    Mostly its just called FW4
    Regards
    Ole
     
  14. notageek

    notageek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Posts:
    1,601
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ok thanks.
     
  15. Madsen DK

    Madsen DK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2002
    Posts:
    324
    Location:
    Denmark
    Just for the record,and upppps perhaps a little offtopic( sorry for that :D :D)
    A firewall that is confirmed running well with VS7, is Zapro.( mcafee online)
    Regards
    Ole

    PS. Didnt want to start a new topic, just to say that VS7 " do run well with Zapro)

    Mods. Hope you forgive me :D
     
  16. Smokey

    Smokey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    Posts:
    1,513
    Location:
    Annie's Pub
    Hi Ole,

    In addition of your explanation, when VirusScan is installed, VS asks conformation to install the build-in firewall.
     
  17. Madsen DK

    Madsen DK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2002
    Posts:
    324
    Location:
    Denmark
    Hi Smokey.
    Yes , thats right.
    Thanks for the addition/correction. :D
    Been a while since i last installed it
    If its aint broke , you know :cool:
    Regards
    Ole
     
  18. notageek

    notageek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Posts:
    1,601
    Location:
    Ohio
    I read somewhere that McAfee 7.0 works well with sygate also but you know you have to try it and see. :)
     
  19. Ashak

    Ashak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2002
    Posts:
    44
    I use KAV Pro on my main pc and Mcafee 7 on my secondary one. KAV is probably more thorough but Mcafee is much faster on scanning.

    KAV updates daily, whereas Mcafee generally update once or twice a week. Mcafee is good value IMO, renewing the license is only about $15/yr which is not bad at all. KAV pro is expensive but then you could always opt for KAV lite which is only $23/yr.

    Of course any programme only shows it's worth when it's tested. KAV zapped the J/noclose virus before it could hit my pc so showed it's mettle there.

    Mcafee hasn't been tested so far so can't really say :)
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. Ibrad
    Replies:
    24
    Views:
    2,406
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.