McAfee 7.0

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by notageek, Mar 7, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. notageek

    notageek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Posts:
    1,601
    Location:
    Ohio
    Does anyone know if McAfee 7.0 comes with an ingoing and outgoing email scanner?
     
  2. Technodrome

    Technodrome Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    2,140
    Location:
    New York
    There is a feature called HAWK, which scans incoming email.



    Technodrome
     
  3. notageek

    notageek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Posts:
    1,601
    Location:
    Ohio
    Thanks Technodrome. I'm still deciding on if I want to get NV 2003 or McAfee 7.0. Does anyone know how long McAfee offers their free subscription for updates? I know NAV offers a 12 month subscription.
     
  4. Smokey

    Smokey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    Posts:
    1,514
    Location:
    Annie's Pub
    My advice: take McAfee VirusScan 7.

    Reasons (I'm to lazy to write, just picked following at Cnet but I agree with their opinion):

    "Like its archrival Norton AntiVirus Professional Edition (NAVPE) 2003, McAfee VirusScan Professional 7.0 automatically downloads up-to-date virus definitions from the Internet; provides a cogent, lucid interface that's quick to navigate; squashes malicious scripts, worms, viruses, and other digital miscreants; and is reasonably priced at about $60. Unlike NAVPE 2003, VirusScan Professional 7.0 has superior technical support and faster scanning times, and it comes with a firewall--essential for anyone with an always-on DSL or cable-modem Net connection. Although it's a tad less slick-looking than NAVPE 2003, VirusScan Professional 7.0 is a fine first-time antivirus choice for any Windows user. If you're choosing between NAVPE 2003 and VirusScan Professional 7.0, we give the edge to VirusScan Professional 7.0."

    Besides that, the McAfee VirusScan 7 engine is pretty good.

    BTW: the free subscription for updates is 1 year.
     
  5. Chuck57

    Chuck57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Posts:
    1,480
    Location:
    New Mexico, USA
    I picked up my VS7 at WalMart for under $40 and I like it. I would prefer more frequent updates than the weekly they offer, although on occasion I've gotten two in a week.

    Other than the above, I find McAfee light on resources, but I have a fairly new generic computer with better than a Gig processor and 548RAM, which I'm sure helps keep things up to speed.

    I don't know that McAfee is at the top, with NOD32 or Kaspersky or one or two others, but I rate them in the top 5
     
  6. notageek

    notageek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Posts:
    1,601
    Location:
    Ohio
    Thanks for the insight guys.
     
  7. Smokey

    Smokey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    Posts:
    1,514
    Location:
    Annie's Pub
    You're welcome!

    My personal Top-3 of AV-scanners:

    1. KAV Personal Pro 4
    2. RAV Desktop 8.6
    3. McAfee VirusScan 7

    As you can see, there is no free AV-scanner in my list, but tiill yet reality is that you have to pay for a top-notch scanner.
     
  8. notageek

    notageek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Posts:
    1,601
    Location:
    Ohio
    Anyone know if you have to use the built in firewall with McAfee? I'm using sygate and really like it. I really don't want to change to something that might not be so good.
     
  9. Madsen DK

    Madsen DK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2002
    Posts:
    324
    Location:
    Denmark
    Hi Notageek
    No you dont have to use the Mcafee firewall.
    Sygate will be detected during the install, so only VS will be installed.
    There might be a warning, that you have another firewall installed, but just proceed with the install.
    FW4 will not be installed.
    Regards
    Ole :cool:
     
  10. notageek

    notageek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Posts:
    1,601
    Location:
    Ohio
    Thanks DK. I'm going to research the firewall that comes with McAfee and see if it's really any good.
     
  11. Madsen DK

    Madsen DK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2002
    Posts:
    324
    Location:
    Denmark
    Hi.
    I dont know which are the best, but ive heard, that FW4 is a quite competent firewall.
    Passed all stealth/ probe test ive tried :D
    Regards Ole
     
  12. notageek

    notageek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Posts:
    1,601
    Location:
    Ohio
    Thanks for the info DK. Is it call McAfee firewall 4?
     
  13. Madsen DK

    Madsen DK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2002
    Posts:
    324
    Location:
    Denmark
    Yes.
    Mostly its just called FW4
    Regards
    Ole
     
  14. notageek

    notageek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Posts:
    1,601
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ok thanks.
     
  15. Madsen DK

    Madsen DK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2002
    Posts:
    324
    Location:
    Denmark
    Just for the record,and upppps perhaps a little offtopic( sorry for that :D :D)
    A firewall that is confirmed running well with VS7, is Zapro.( mcafee online)
    Regards
    Ole

    PS. Didnt want to start a new topic, just to say that VS7 " do run well with Zapro)

    Mods. Hope you forgive me :D
     
  16. Smokey

    Smokey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    Posts:
    1,514
    Location:
    Annie's Pub
    Hi Ole,

    In addition of your explanation, when VirusScan is installed, VS asks conformation to install the build-in firewall.
     
  17. Madsen DK

    Madsen DK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2002
    Posts:
    324
    Location:
    Denmark
    Hi Smokey.
    Yes , thats right.
    Thanks for the addition/correction. :D
    Been a while since i last installed it
    If its aint broke , you know :cool:
    Regards
    Ole
     
  18. notageek

    notageek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Posts:
    1,601
    Location:
    Ohio
    I read somewhere that McAfee 7.0 works well with sygate also but you know you have to try it and see. :)
     
  19. Ashak

    Ashak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2002
    Posts:
    44
    I use KAV Pro on my main pc and Mcafee 7 on my secondary one. KAV is probably more thorough but Mcafee is much faster on scanning.

    KAV updates daily, whereas Mcafee generally update once or twice a week. Mcafee is good value IMO, renewing the license is only about $15/yr which is not bad at all. KAV pro is expensive but then you could always opt for KAV lite which is only $23/yr.

    Of course any programme only shows it's worth when it's tested. KAV zapped the J/noclose virus before it could hit my pc so showed it's mettle there.

    Mcafee hasn't been tested so far so can't really say :)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.