McAfee 2017/15.1

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Ibrad, Sep 29, 2016.

  1. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,140
    why do you use webroot ? isn't it overkill
     
  2. Ibrad

    Ibrad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1,970
    Possibly, but when I look at it right now Webroot is only using 10MB. It's not costing extra resource usage, and it's nice to have a second layer of defense on all my computers. Right now counting me we have three college students in our house, at times we have to use random internet sites as we are researching for our studies. I appreciate the fact of having two layers of security.
     
  3. ttomm1946

    ttomm1946 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Posts:
    217
    I'm running hitman pro alert cost 34.95 along with Mcafee internet security 2017...Will this work ok?
     
  4. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,140
    It it works for you it is fine
     
    Last edited: May 23, 2017
  5. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,140
    McaFee did not do well in ransomware tests lately and it worries me a lot . I uninstalled it . Lately there is a lot of controversy about Mcfee . it has so so protection and detection capabilities . It is not as heavy as it used to be but still it does not offer decent protection level
     
  6. dansorin

    dansorin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Posts:
    236
    Location:
    EU
    compared to all major players, McAfee never really did offer a very good protection.
     
  7. Duxar

    Duxar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2016
    Posts:
    21
    Location:
    Germany
    McAfee is just slow in everything, slow Updates, slow Development, slow Customer Service..... Never ever would i install McAfee again. NEVER. :sick:
     
  8. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,746
    McAfee LiveSafe (100% off)
    https://sharewareonsale.com/s/free-mcafee-livesafe-100-discount
     
  9. Sir Pixelot

    Sir Pixelot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2016
    Posts:
    10
    Location:
    US
    I would avoid this, they require a credit/debit card to activate ur free subscription. And if you want to ensure McAfee doesn't charge you after a year of service (or sooner) don't give them your billing info.
     
  10. Ibrad

    Ibrad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1,970
    A new build 16.0.4 is starting to be pushed via automatic update. They have changed the McAfee tray icon away from their classical red M to the new McAfee Logo. Overall the GUI seems a lot snappier. On my machine using about 110MB ram but feeling very light. I just checked my other machine which was using an older build and it seems to previous be using 150 MB Ram so a drop but it's not the lightest on the RAM side.
     
  11. Spartan

    Spartan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Posts:
    1,042
    Location:
    Dubai
    When will you guys understand that how much memory an AV uses has nothing to do with how it affects performance on your system! It's the way it handles file scanning and interacts with the OS that does. This is not 1990 with systems that have 512MB of RAM!
     
  12. amico81

    amico81 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2017
    Posts:
    97
    Location:
    Germany
    How good or bad ist the behavior blocker in the new 2018 Version?
     
  13. Ibrad

    Ibrad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1,970
    I was not implying the RAM usage is connected with System Performance. I was pointing out that under the hood something changed that has caused RAM usage to drop. Considering the fact I use McAfee on a wide range of systems from a low powered All-In-One to my personal i7 gaming laptop I have already had a great personal experience with McAfee on a performance level.

    As for the behavior blocker I have not seen any activity of it warning anything on my machine. McAfee is a pretty quiet suite that has become much more "cloud" based in recent releases. It's kept all my families machines malware free and I am impressed. It's blocked a few things here and there but for the most part my family members are safe surfers so the McAfee + Webroot Combo has done well for us.
     
  14. Spartan

    Spartan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Posts:
    1,042
    Location:
    Dubai
    Ah ok, thanks for making it clear
     
  15. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,201
    I don´t want to get into the whole ´antivirus A vs B´ thing, but does McAfee have any sort of advantage ? I used to run McAfee ages ago, they were one of the first (possibly the first ?) AV products. Then I learned to add antispyware tools ... eventually I got into products like Avira, Kaspersky, Eset, Bitdefender etc ... based on my past experience I wouldn´t go back. Slow, tendency to be buggy, low detection rate, not too pleasant customer support, really clumsy uninstallers etc ...

    I looked at that review ´woah, that download is dangerous !´ Very professional ....

    Are they really into the corporate market ? I know I can get it for free with Flash ... (and sorry about the messy images, I don´t know how it got there ... twice even)
    https://assets.pcmag.com/media/images/555924-mcafee-antivirus-plus-woah.png?thumb=y&width=980&height=270https://assets.pcmag.com/media/images/555924-mcafee-antivirus-plus-woah.png?thumb=y&width=980&height=270
     
  16. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,746
  17. jjc225

    jjc225 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Posts:
    274
    I am using the latest version of McAfee LiveSafe (16.0.3) on three computers and two smart phones, and so far things are going very well. This new GUI is much better than the old one and doesn't seem to have the hangups and dragging of the old one. It is just a lot sleeker and snappier. On my main computer I am running Zemana antimalware alongside it, along with Acronis True Image which has ransonware protection. So everything is solid right now.

    Update: Just after I typed this, just this evening, I noticed a new logo in my taskbar. McAfee just updated to version 16.0.4. No reboot needed. So far so good.
     
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2017
  18. Ibrad

    Ibrad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1,970
    Another update has been pushed out bringing McAfee to version 16.0.5. No visible changes I can see yet.
     
  19. Ibrad

    Ibrad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1,970
    McAfee has shifted their release naming strategy it seems. Just saw an update came through and my install is mow 16.0R7. This release also contained updates to their Security Center and Firewall.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.