McAfee 2010 reviewed by PC Mag

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by vijayind, Feb 3, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    PC Mag reviewed McAfee 2010 after its finally made some changes under-the-hood and not just the box.
    Its got a 4/5 very good rating. Has McAfee finally turned a new leaf o_O

    Link:
    http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2358593,00.asp
     
  2. eBBox

    eBBox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Posts:
    482
    Location:
    Aalborg, Denmark
    Looking forward testing it - Didnt know it was released ^^

    Why dont they release a version without firewall and other stuff - I just need the AV!
     
  3. Ibrad

    Ibrad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1,949
    Did they make it lighter in this version? Last time I had it I could not even move my mouse while updating.
     
  4. NAMOR

    NAMOR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,526
    Location:
    Arkham Asylum

    Seems to be lighter than the previous version. Anyhow, I installed the suite just to see the new GUI and I have to say that I really don't like it (the GUI). Navigation is difficult (for me) and the window pane can not be resized.

    Mcafee1.jpg

    Mcafee2.jpg


    I wish I could resize the window pane to get rid of the scroll bars. Also, I'm not sure why they made the GUI so tall and narrow.
    Mcafee3.jpg
     
  5. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,127
    Location:
    USA
    .
    I was wondering that too. Unfortunately the review didn't mention impact on resources. McAfee has always been a dog with regard to updating in particular. Hopefully the new GUI is laid out more logically in addition to the face lift. I guess what I'm trying to say is I've never liked it :D
     
  6. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    still very heavy imo but better than last year, i also do NOT like the gui at all. a bit like the nis2010 gui with the drop down menus but this is just way over complicated imo. on my test e8600 system running at 4.2 it still slowed the system down some but it was usable but i for sure knew when it was updating and i checked and sure enough it was.
     
  7. magictoaster

    magictoaster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Posts:
    24
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Where did you get the trial from? I would like to try this. Thanks!
     
  8. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    well id assume Mcafee's site wuld have the trial...
     
  9. magictoaster

    magictoaster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Posts:
    24
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Looks like you can only download the 2009 version... o_O
     
  10. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    strange, maybe softpedia or filehippo will have it.
     
  11. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    i got the file from a friend of mine im not sure where he got it from.
     
  12. iwod

    iwod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Posts:
    708
    Considering NIS 2010 is lighter, faster, better in every aspect. I see no reason to use McAfee.

    McAfee 2010 GUI, is very pretty but very not user friendly. I love to look at it but hate to use it.

    It is still one of the heaviest AV / Protection Suite i have used. Even though there are some considerable improvement from previous version.
     
  13. Legendkiller

    Legendkiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1,052
    i tried TP once when it was in beta it was decent.not as light as norton but not heavy at all.
    looks good then after some 2-3 yrs atleast.
     
  14. quanzi_1507

    quanzi_1507 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Posts:
    320
    Just get it from McAfee Australia :D

    Why?

    http://forums.mcafee.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1766&page=2

     
  15. skokospa

    skokospa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    177
    Location:
    Srbija
    looks and navigating through the software irresistibly recalls the NIS2010 .... you can see who has set the standards!
     
  16. Zombini

    Zombini Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Posts:
    469
    So is this the REAL 2010 product, or the 2009 product in the 2010 box. SCAM OF THE DECADE!!
     
  17. mikesu

    mikesu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Posts:
    27
    It's "REAL" 2010 product :)
     
  18. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,029
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I wondered why the updated Site Advisor had turned a strange luminous green, now I know! :blink:
     
  19. eBBox

    eBBox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Posts:
    482
    Location:
    Aalborg, Denmark
    Ive been testing the Antivirus Plus 2010 edition now for the last four day. After the suite got settled, I havent noticed any slowdon at all. The boot speed is definatly not slow on my machine and the overall feel is very nice. (I tested it on my old laptop T9300 2,5Ghz, 4 Gb DDR2 Ram too and got the same feeling)

    The gui is good for novices (I like their tray icon :D). To me theres to few settings to play with, but hey, the good detection is still there :)

    To me, the way the firewall works is great - I just want simple outbound control. But for all the leaktest freaks this is probarbly not a good choice.

    As I see it, this is definatly a big improvement compared to last years editions :thumb:

    Still the gui needs improvement - maby a novice and advanced user settings. And would be great if Siteadvisor would work for chrome.
     
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2010
  20. quanzi_1507

    quanzi_1507 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Posts:
    320
    @eBBox: what is your siteadvisor's version? Mine is 3.0, I wonder if a newer version is released with McAfee 2010
     
  21. eBBox

    eBBox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Posts:
    482
    Location:
    Aalborg, Denmark
    Hey. Im running v. 3.0.1.164 :)
     
  22. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,069
    What's the default outbound control setting ?
    Last time I used it, all outbound traffic was allowed by default.
     
  23. Zombini

    Zombini Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Posts:
    469
    Thats because mcAfee has ZERO protection on boot. All their protection engines are enabled long after the system has booted. They have lowered protection in order to artificially increase performance. Again, one of the many McAfee deceptions.
     
  24. codylucas16

    codylucas16 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Posts:
    267
    I've been trying to find McAfee 2010, but downloading a trial on their website just turns out to be McAfee 2009.

    o_O
     
  25. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,069
    Try a different country ?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.