Mcafee 2006

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by maddawgz, Oct 2, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. maddawgz

    maddawgz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    1,277
    Location:
    Earth
    Hi im goint to install Mcafee cuz its better then AVG but with the firewall im not sure if i should install that? Is it like Pc cillian easy ?? set and leave I mean i know to allow programs on my pc is easy But i dont know really how to use them? what if my isp needs something or and i block it? is it and easy one to use? thanks MD
     
  2. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    The mcafee firewall is really very effective and pretty easy to configure. You shouldn't have any problems learning it's settings. ;)
     
  3. maddawgz

    maddawgz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    1,277
    Location:
    Earth
    ok seems good no pop ups yet?? Also cpu seems fine!! Is it a resource hog like norton?? anyone know..MD :rolleyes:
     
  4. danny9

    danny9 Departed Friend

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    678
    Location:
    Clinton Twp. Mi
    I have Mcafee av 10 and the firewall. It uses more processes then most but you won't notice it's on your system. My runs quite smoothly and both are very easy to use. I think you'll be happy with it.
     
  5. maddawgz

    maddawgz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    1,277
    Location:
    Earth
    thanks seems ok gotta b better then avg!! :D
     
  6. danny9

    danny9 Departed Friend

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    678
    Location:
    Clinton Twp. Mi
  7. Graystoke

    Graystoke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Posts:
    1,502
    Location:
    The San Joaquin Valley, California
    I'm using McAfee VS 10 and PFP 7. Both run very nicely on my PC. I think you'll like it. :)
     
  8. maddawgz

    maddawgz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    1,277
    Location:
    Earth
    I'ts ran smooth all day!! happy :D

    Just once complaint when doing on demand scan it seems to have taken 2hrs? just on one paticular area strange?? so i gave up!!figured it will find anything if its in pc anyhow eventually... I may try again later Also how long is my subcription where do i see that?? i logged in to site said 2/2006 strange? 6months? MD
     
  9. Graystoke

    Graystoke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Posts:
    1,502
    Location:
    The San Joaquin Valley, California
    Hi maddawgz. It should be a one year subscription if you purchased it from the McAfee site or from a retail store. When you go to the McAfee site, if it's for home use, click on home and home office>my account. You'll either have to register, or if you already registered, just log in. All your info should be there......what software you purchased and the length of the subscription.
     
  10. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    2 hours seems an odd amount of time. Something may need to be adjusted.
     
  11. maddawgz

    maddawgz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    1,277
    Location:
    Earth
    i know it gets stuck scanning in documents settings outbox imm or something ? I use incredimail not sure what's happening both times ive closed it now?...
    Thanks ill log in have another look ! I bought it retail. :rolleyes:

    ok says this
    Product Name Expiration Date Product History Renew Download/Install
    McAfee Internet Security 8.0 10/2/2006

    i installed it other day so thats the 2/10/2006 im assuming is that how usa does iT?
     
  12. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    I can't help you as I don't use incredimail or McAfee but hopefully someone who is familiar with McAfee can help you out.
     
  13. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I just ordered a copy of mcafee 2006 about ten minutes ago and will give it a test when it gets here. For $12.00 and free shipping I couldn't pass it up. ;)
     
  14. Graystoke

    Graystoke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Posts:
    1,502
    Location:
    The San Joaquin Valley, California

    Your subscription is good till October, 2006.
     
  15. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    It's the 2 hour scans the fellow is most concerned about I think. See posts #8 and 11.
     
  16. Graystoke

    Graystoke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Posts:
    1,502
    Location:
    The San Joaquin Valley, California

    Hi Hammer.
    I know the 2 hour scans is maddawgz's biggest concern. I just thought I would try to put him at ease with his subscription worries. I figured someone with more knowledge than me with antivirus software would come up with a solution for his scanning problem.

    I use McAfee VS 10 and also IncrediMail. IncrediMail was on my PC first. When I first installed VS 10, and ran my first scheduled scan, the scan froze about halfway through. It did this twice. I uninstalled McAfee, ran two registry cleaners, RegSeeker and RegCleaner. I then did a manual registry search for any other antivirus that might have been left on my PC. I found a couple hanging around and deleted them. I reinstalled VS 10 and my scheduled scans have been working fine since. I don't know if maddawgz has tried this, but it might help.
     
  17. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Has McAfee moved to daily updates for their home versions of their Av and Suite?
     
  18. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    ver. 2006 has daily updates ;)
     
  19. Graystoke

    Graystoke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Posts:
    1,502
    Location:
    The San Joaquin Valley, California
    I hope this isn't too far off topic. I've been using VS 10 now for quite a while. On the whole I think it is a very good AV. You can hardly tell it's running. It has daily updates, very good detection rate. The only thing I don't like about it, and this is causing me to think about going to another AV, is that there is no scanning log. After a scheduled scan, if nothing is found, all it shows is when the scan was performed. I like to see what was scanned, when the scan took place, and how long it took. Just about every AV I've used has that feature. Just my personal view.
     
  20. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Perhaps the next version will give you what you want, but the key for me would be do I feel adequately protected? If yes why change? :D
     
  21. Graystoke

    Graystoke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Posts:
    1,502
    Location:
    The San Joaquin Valley, California

    Good point. :)
     
  22. The Maxx

    The Maxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Posts:
    27
    Yes McAfee 2006 is daily, but unless it's changed it's only Mon-Fri.
     
  23. Graystoke

    Graystoke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Posts:
    1,502
    Location:
    The San Joaquin Valley, California

    Yes, only Mon-Fri.
     
  24. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,802
    Location:
    Texas
    internetworld7

    The title of this thread is McAfee 2006. Your post is off topic to the thread so it has been removed to avoid a flamefest.
    If you want to start another thread on the subject you posted about, feel free to do so.
     
  25. Smokey

    Smokey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    Posts:
    1,513
    Location:
    Annie's Pub
    Not correct.

    Original McAfee statement:

    Does "daily DATs" mean one release every day?

    Yes and No. AVERT is planning to release at least one DAT file per day, Monday-through-Friday, including holidays, except December 25th and January 1st (or the nearest weekday). We will NOT release on Saturday or Sunday unless an outbreak scenario occurs where we assess the risk to a threat to be medium or higher.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. Ibrad
    Replies:
    24
    Views:
    2,430
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.