MBR question

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by f3x, Aug 6, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. f3x

    f3x Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Posts:
    311
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    I use GRUB to dual boot between windows and linux.
    Can i still use FDISR or i'll loose gub functionality ?
     
  2. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Don't know what GRUB is.
    In theory FDISR allows maximum 10 bootable snapshots.
    Each snapshot can be another system partition, including another Operating System.
    FDISR allows you to create an EMPTY snapshot in which you can install another OS.
    But I never tried it in practice. All my snapshots contain winXPproSP2.
    Maybe other members have done this in practice.
     
  3. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    I have never used FDISR but from the nature of this software I think it will be better to install GRUB on a CD or floppy( or USB stick- if possible) and then boot from it to run ur linux system.

    I remember a very similar question discussed here before, try to search here.
     
  4. wilbertnl

    wilbertnl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Posts:
    1,850
    Location:
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
    At the moment it's one of the two that will reside in the MBR.
    Maybe in the future there will be an option to place the FD-ISR code in the bootrecord of the Windows partition, that way you have GRUB in the MBR and FD-ISR one step later when you select to boot Windows.
    But that is still on the wish list.

    An option for now would be to place GRUB on a floppy, and boot from floppy when you want to go Linux/FreeBSD.
    Another option would be to enable/disable the FD-ISR pre-boot screen at will. that way the MBR is only owned by FD-ISR when you want to switch snapshots.
    After disabling pre-boot, the GRUB will be restored.
     
  5. f3x

    f3x Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Posts:
    311
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    @ Eric
    GRUB is a bootloader a bit like acronis os selector.

    -------------------
    Why does everyone suggest me to put GRUB to a Floppy ?
    I switch windows/linux daily so it's pretty not convinient ...

    However i do not expect (and hope) not have to boot into FD-ISR that many time ... can i install it on floppy ?

    -------------------
    A third option is to give him his own partition.
    In my partition setup i reserved a 20 gig R: partition that is to be used only for recovery purpose. Can i setup FD-ISR to be installed on this partition ?
    Can I setup the backup to be done on this parition rather than hidden in C: ?
    Can I make this partition bootable, then install FD-ISR in the mbr of this partition and use grub to boot to R: ?
     
  6. wilbertnl

    wilbertnl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Posts:
    1,850
    Location:
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
    We offer you reasonable solutions for your setup that has very limited options.

    Not possible
    Not possible
    Not possible
    I repeat myself: "Maybe in the future there will be an option to place the FD-ISR code in the bootrecord of the Windows partition"
     
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2006
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.