MBR Error 3

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by derrin0, Jan 14, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. derrin0

    derrin0 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    I'm sure this is not a new thread so apologies first.

    Running:
    Windows XP SP2
    Acronis OS Selector
    Grisoft AVG


    I did the forbidden thing and installed my Anti Virus Software without disabling Boot and MBR scanning. I have since corrected that so this won't happen again.

    I am trying to get OS Selector working again from boot but this is proving to be a none starter. I have followed other forum threads, Acronis Documentation and FAQs containing actions to correct MBR Error 3, to no avail :ouch:

    I deactivated OS Selector. This got rid of the MBR Error 3 and booted Windows XP successfully (at least twice).

    I then ran the Install OS Selector - which did not report any errors on installation - but MBR Error 3 returned :oops:

    Double wammy - I am unable to reach the Windows XP Recovery Console as I did not set the Administrator Password {this is questionable as it did not request such parameters during install !!!!}. Therefore if the MBR is not repairable without Windows Reovery Console, any suggestions on how to get around the Administrator password issue would also be welcomed

    Any thoughts, please? Thanks
     
  2. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    Have you tried just pressing the spacebar once when the console mode asks for the password?

    I still have the MBR 3 error, with an activated OS10, I also have found there is something possibly TI9 that helps OS10 to occasionally forget where its boot files are - it seems to happen after I've run TI9 in full backup mode including boot sector - but it might just be a coincidence.


    Colin
     
  3. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello derrin0 and bodgy,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Partition and Disk Managing Software.

    derrin0, could you please clarify whether you have tried to fix your hard drive's MBR using the way described in Acronis Help Post?

    Please try to reactivate Acronis OS Selector after that.

    If this does not resolve the issue then please create Acronis Report as it is described in Acronis Help Post and submit a request for technical support. Attach the collected report file to your request along with the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with the solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Kirill Omelchenko
     
  4. derrin0

    derrin0 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    Hi Colin

    Thanks for the tips - the space bar entry to Administrator account for Recovery Console does not work. Will hunt around for another solution.

    However, Good news that I can close this post. The http://www.acronis.com/files/support/mbrautowrite_en.exe works! Might be worth a try for your machine

    Best

    Derrin
     
  5. derrin0

    derrin0 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    3

    Thanks Kirill, the mbrautowrite worked first time.

    Best

    Derrin
     
  6. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Derrin,

    I'm glad to hear that your issue has been solved.

    If you have any further questions please feel free to ask.

    Thank you.
    --
    Kirill Omelchenko
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.