MBAM

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Firebytes, Oct 17, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Firebytes

    Firebytes Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    903
    I was updating MBAM's definitions via it's updater and it also updated to the latest program version (1.29). There was no notice that a program update was available with an option not to install at that time (which I think it needs)...it just did it.

    After the update was finished I noticed that on the update window it stated that it was strongly recommended that an uninstall of the old version be done before installing the new 1.29 version...hmmm, a little late for that notice since it already updated itself.

    Anyway, I thought to play it safe I would uninstall MBAM, reboot, and then install 1.29 again. Since I was going to be installing MBAM again I didn't use REVO Uninstaller like I usually do. I just used MBAM's own uninstaller. After uninstalling MBAM I got a notice that it could not remove everything but that I could manually remove the rest. I didn't worry to much about it as I was goinjg to be installing MBAM again. As the system was booting I got a pop-up that stated something to the effect of "Windows cannot find C:\Program Files...". Since I wasn't sure what had happened I just restored Windows to an earlier time. Then I downloaded the 1.29 version of MBAM, uninstalled my current version of MBAM using REVO (MBAM appears to leave a ton of junk behind), did not reboot, and then installed 1.29. After that I rebooted and did not get the pop-up again about not being able to find C:\Program Files (which I had never seen before this instance).

    Has anyone else tried uninstalling MBAM 1.29 and did you have any problems or was this just some glitch on my machine?
     
  2. Dark Star 72

    Dark Star 72 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Posts:
    703
    Yes, I had the same message to uninstall old version - install 1.29.
    Uninstalled MBAM using its own uninstaller, got the bit about manually removing the left overs.
    Did start > run > 'regedit' > HKEY_CURRENT_USER > software > MBAM > delete
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE > software > MBAM > delete.
    Installed 1.29 without any problems and I still have the log of past scans.
     
  3. EliteKiller

    EliteKiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Posts:
    1,138
    Location:
    TX
    Last night I upgraded 1.29 over my 1.28 install on Win XP SP3, rebooted as prompted, and the OS came up just fine. Afterwards I uninstalled, rebooted, and reinstalled just for kicks and grins.
     
  4. Firebytes

    Firebytes Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    903
    Maybe the problem here was caused by me not rebooting between MBAM updating itself and my initial attempt to uninstall it. There was no prompt to reboot after MBAM updated itself though.

    I guess I must have done something wrong or just experienced a glitch since no one else seems to be reporting a problem.

    Thanks for the responses.
     
  5. QBgreen

    QBgreen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Posts:
    627
    Location:
    Queens County, NY
    I also installed directly over v. 1.28. No issues. As a matter of fact, this is the best running version of MBAM that I've run on my XP Pro SP3 machine.
     
  6. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,408
    Updated without a hitch using the internal updater. :thumb:
     
  7. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    I updated and saw the re-install is strongly recommended too. So I uninstalled and re-installed from their web site. All went well, however, it still says re-install is strongly recommended. I don't think so. I think it's there in error. o_O
     
  8. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,408
    Is this what you are referring to?
    http://www.malwarebytes.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=6864&st=20&start=20
     
  9. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    Yeah that's it. I never thought to check their forum. Rubber Ducky says it's just news, and said he would change the wording if we like. I replied that he should just leave the "reinstall is strongly recommended" off. We tend to follow directions. :D
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. FanJ
    Replies:
    10
    Views:
    786
  2. NonGeek
    Replies:
    10
    Views:
    1,672
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.