MBAM Scanned almost 2 hours still not finished??

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by bonedriven, Mar 19, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bonedriven

    bonedriven Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Posts:
    565
    I went to sleep and let MBAM give a full scan of my new laptop.

    There wasn't anything running except MBAM. When I woke up,MBAM was still struggling there in drive C (25G).:eek:

    BTW,AVG on my computer uses less than an hour to finish a full scan.

    I don't think it's normal for MBAM,right?
     
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2009
  2. chris1341

    chris1341 Guest

    This is really why I very rarely do a full MBAM scan these days. On both Vista 32 machines I use it on I find it takes well over 2 hours. Most of that time scanning inside C:\Windows\Winsxs. Much quicker on an XP machine I have though. I still use it on demand fairly regularly though for scanning individual files before letting the out of Sandboxie etc.

    By way of comparison Avira takes around 25 minutes, Kaspersky about the same and ASquared around 40 minutes on these systems.

    Hope you get some responses to see if this is typical or whether we have a particular issue.

    Cheers
     
  3. bonedriven

    bonedriven Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Posts:
    565
    Hi Chris,

    Right,my system is Vista 32 too.
     
  4. PROROOTECT

    PROROOTECT Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Posts:
    1,102
    Location:
    HERE ...Fort Lee, NJ
    Prescription:

    Restart your PC 3 times a day;

    Clean your PC ( IE Temporary Files and others, CCleaner, PureRa ... Services ... junk files and Programs ...etc );

    Look to your Mem Usage and Nonpaged Kernel Memory.
     
  5. PROROOTECT

    PROROOTECT Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Posts:
    1,102
    Location:
    HERE ...Fort Lee, NJ
    ... I have:

    18 Processes in my DTaskManager; 27 Services Started;

    Windows XP SP2 Professional;

    Scan MBAM: Objects scanned: 66519; Time elapsed: 1 minute 53 seconds.


    I wish you the same.:thumb:

    PROROOTECT
     
  6. crofttk

    crofttk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    1,976
    Location:
    Eastern PA, USA
    Hmmmmm, very interesting. I found MBAM to be slow as molasses in January (even though it was March) on the 3 of my machines I ran it on - on the order of 2-3 hours to complete - FULL scans, that is.
     
  7. nomarjr3

    nomarjr3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Posts:
    502
    A full scan from MBAM takes about 30 minutes in my machine (C:\ is 120GB) with 32 processes running in the background.o_O
     
  8. bonedriven

    bonedriven Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Posts:
    565
    I bet yours' not vista.:p
     
  9. BrendanAdams

    BrendanAdams Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Posts:
    137
    Location:
    France
    Same here : 40mn on XP and almost 2 hours on Vista.
     
  10. deanmartin

    deanmartin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Posts:
    231
    Location:
    USA/KY
    Just tested, Vista 12min45s, XP 12min30s Full scan.
     
  11. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    nLited XP Pro install with only system/needed app data on C drive.
     
  12. bonedriven

    bonedriven Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Posts:
    565
    Hi deanmartin,

    I'm curious about your machine's hardware information.:)
     
  13. nomarjr3

    nomarjr3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Posts:
    502
    37 secs?:eek:
    You must have an ultra powerful rig there :D
     
  14. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    Not really, probably mid range in being a xeon quad, 4 gig 800 ram and raptor drive hooked up at the moment, dual booting XP/Vista.

    The WD 640 gig drives seems just as good.

    I think the quick times are due to having a minimal amount of data stored on the system drives and also subsequent scans may be quicker after the initial scan which may have been the case but not sure on that?

    vLited Vista Ultimate scan times:
    Drives.JPG
     
  15. deanmartin

    deanmartin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Posts:
    231
    Location:
    USA/KY
    Just Intel Core2 duo 2.33, 4GBRam, 500HD, 32bit Vista Home Premium. I dont save anything on my internal drive. My only startup programs are whats in my signature and run CCleaner and Auslogics Disk defrag every 2 weeks. Also I use Black Vipers tweak settings. With this in Place my scans are good with just about all. ;)
     
  16. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    i see in your signiture you have SUPERAntiSyWare Pro and i want to ask you?is the real time shield similar or same as Mbam ?thanks cause i have mbam in wife's laptop but it is very quiet the real time shield is silent:D is superantispyware pro same?
    note:not comparing and the reason it is that i want to know from a word of mouth before buying or maybe buy another copy of mbam but not yet decided
     
  17. deanmartin

    deanmartin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Posts:
    231
    Location:
    USA/KY
    I never used the Pro version MBAM, as for SAS on my PC its quiet. Heck all my security programs are quiet, but i guess thats a good thing. Im sure they're both good programs just pick the one you like.
     
  18. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    thanks for your advise;)
     
  19. Cretemonster

    Cretemonster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2005
    Posts:
    79
    Been this way since day one, is why they push to use the quick scan only.

    I spec its just a poorly coded scanner engine as I remember back in 2000,2001 Avira Free went through the same thing, this is a part of why things are free and folks say, you get exactly what you pay for.
     
  20. bonedriven

    bonedriven Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Posts:
    565
    It's kind of unbelievable.I mean finished in 12 mins.

    My pc is also tweaked...not completely yet though.
     
  21. bonedriven

    bonedriven Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Posts:
    565
    OK OK. Good to hear I'm not alone...:D
     
  22. deanmartin

    deanmartin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Posts:
    231
    Location:
    USA/KY
    I'm using the free version, with all scan options checked except the first 2. Dont no if that makes a difference or not. May just be my PC setup.
     
  23. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    4,350
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    As has been mentioned elsewhere, according to MBAM's developers, Quick Scan really IS all you need, as it scans all file and registry locations used by malware in its database.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.