MBAM 2.00 Beta Released.

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by 1PW, Dec 20, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. khagaroth

    khagaroth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Posts:
    25
    Mine shows $39.99 and looks a bit different (without the dropdowns and with an additional quantity option), weird.
     
  2. FleischmannTV

    FleischmannTV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    1,094
    Location:
    Germany
    Let's get back to MBAM, please.
     
  3. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    4,360
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Sounds like an excellent idea. :D
     
  4. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,942
    Location:
    USA
    Yes, instead of speculating about price let's speculate on when they will release the beta to the public :) :thumb:
     
  5. siketa

    siketa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,717
    Location:
    Gaia
    I bet on mid January.
     
  6. The Real Shane

    The Real Shane Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    10
    Hey, Marcin,

    I'm bored! Haven't been here in 4 years. At that time I figured out a NOD32 beta problem before Eset did. In fact I've a history of finding bugs in (usually) beta (usually) security software. Been using MBAM several years since it - along with SAS was the only portable solution that killed an infection on my sister's machine. None of the AVs managed it. Incidentally, last time I attempted to run MBAM Rules to update a portable installation, it wouldn't let me. Got side-tracked by family matters and was only doing it to pass time anyway so never got round to investigating. If memory serves it was a permissions thing.

    So, I can't trial MBAM 2. Reasoning seems a bit arbitrary.
     
  7. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,749
    Location:
    EU
    There is no Beta yet at all, just a preview (something like Alpha).
     
  8. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,942
    Location:
    USA
    OK, should have said "a" beta not "the" beta :cautious: In any case that's when we get to engage :thumb:
     
  9. siljaline

    siljaline Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    Alpha release software is (prior) Beta software :D
     
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2013
  10. siljaline

    siljaline Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    As cited on the MBAM Forum discussion page (not here) link is further up the thread -
     
  11. G1111

    G1111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Posts:
    2,263
    Location:
    USA
    Right-click scanning is not working. If you scan on a file or file folder it brings up the GUI but does not scan. If you click on start scan it wants to run a complete system scan (not of the targeted file or folder).
     
  12. kaljukass

    kaljukass Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Posts:
    137
    Is it also possible to download from somewhere?
    I am a member of MBAM, but can not find anything anywhere about it.
     
  13. KelvinW4

    KelvinW4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Posts:
    1,199
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
  14. kaljukass

    kaljukass Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Posts:
    137
    Thank you for your response. Unfortunately, I don't "have permission" to get through to anything on that link.
     
  15. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,717
    Just go into 'General Settings' > 'Explorer context menu entry:', and change to YES. Apparently, default is NO.

    ScreenShot_MBAM_v2.00.0.0028_install_attempt-2_58.gif
     
  16. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,749
    Location:
    EU
    I do not have problems with the context menu scan option. Best to post your issue in the same forum you downloaded the preview from at Malwarebytes.
     
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2013
  17. guest

    guest Guest

    Is there any discount to buy MBAM while it is still lifetime?
     
  18. chabbo

    chabbo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Posts:
    366
    changelog


    Completely new look and feel including the Dashboard, a one-stop-shop for all major status info and key functions for the program
    Interactive notifications
    Malwarebytes Chameleon driver integrated to provide self-protection for the Premium version (available under Advanced Settings)
    Malwarebytes Anti-Rootkit integrated into the scanner (available under Detection Settings)
    New, enhanced version of Malicious Website Protection for Windows Vista Service Pack 2 and above (better performance, added ability to exclude processes such as Bittorrent clients from Malicious Website Protection, ability to manually exclude IP addresses and individual URLs/websites by domain name)
    MBAM can now be minimized to the tray in both Free and Premium but you can still close the program as desired so that it does not run constantly in the background (Free version still doesn't load itself on startup because we know our Free users don't want that)
     
  19. Frank the Perv

    Frank the Perv Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Posts:
    882
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    Exactly. Even though I have two MBAM licenses... now this will inspire me to buy a third.

    Could be a run on MBAM lifetime licenses while they last..
     
  20. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,942
    Location:
    USA
    I currently have an MBAM license. It doesn't specifically say "lifetime" on it but it doesn't say "one year" or something similar either. How can you tell?
     
  21. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,749
    Location:
    EU
    It must be for version 1.XX so it is lifetime.
     
  22. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,942
    Location:
    USA
    So all of the 1.XX licenses are lifetime? I can't remember exactly when I activated mine, but it seems like it was more than a year ago.
     
  23. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    4,360
    Location:
    The Netherlands
  24. G1111

    G1111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Posts:
    2,263
    Location:
    USA
    Tarnak - It is checked yes and the MBAM icon does appear in the Explorer context menu. However, when I click on it it does not run a scan on that file it pulls up the last MBAM GUI window I was in.
     
  25. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    4,360
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I'd uninstall the application, reboot, then do a fresh install.

    If still no joy, follow gerardwil's advice, and report the issue in the MBAM forum you downloaded it from.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.