Maxtor One Touch Button control of True Image Back Up

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Mike P., Aug 30, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mike P.

    Mike P. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Posts:
    8
    A few months ago I upgraded from version 7.0 to version 9.0 of True Image.

    With version 7.0 I had programmed my external Maxtor hard drive One Touch facility to run a complete system back up. I had done this by specifying for One Touch the path to the task script in C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application
    Data\Acronis\TrueImage\Scripts. This a ******.tib.tis file. As soon as the One Touch button was pressed, the back up would begin.

    With version 9.0, this is not the case. Pressing the One Touch button only takes you to the True Image window where the task name appears in the Scheduled Task window. To get the back up to run, you have to double click on the task name.

    Can anyone tell me how to programme the One Touch button so that the back up starts?
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Mike P,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please accept our apologies for the delay with the response.

    Please note that in the latest builds of Acronis True Image the scripting is organized a different way. In order to complete your task I would recommend that you do the following:

    - Create a shortcut for the Acronis True Image script file (the needed *.tib.tis in the X:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Acronis\TrueImage\Scripts\ where X is the drive letter of the partiton where Acronis True Image is installed)

    - Right-click on the created shortcut and change the "Target" field to

    "X:\Program Files\Common Files\Acronis\TrueImage\TrueImageService.exe" /script: "X:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Acronis\TrueImage\Scripts\SCRIPT_NAME.tib.tis"

    The quotation marks must be included.

    After that you can associate the Maxtor One Touch button with this shortcut.

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
  3. gumurray

    gumurray Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Posts:
    1
    I have been using True image for a number of years and I have recently upgraded to v 10. I have also just purchased a maxtor onetouch iii external hard drive. I have read and tried out the guideline you have given for programming true image to integrate with the onetouch button. I have only been able to get as far as creating the shortcut on the desktop. When I right click on the shortcut, I cannot see a Target field. The scripts folder in TI appears empty. I am not that familiar with creating scripts so perhaps I am overlooking something. I would appreciate if someone could give me a little more detailed guidance. I promise I am a quick learner !!!
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello gumurray,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for the delayed response.

    I'm sorry if I was accurate enough in my explanation.

    Please note that first you will need to create a create a new task using Schedule Task wizard of Acronis True Image 10.0 Home, but do not schedule it, i.e. choose "Do not start automatically" option on the the Start Parameters Screen.

    After you have scheduled a task please do the following:

    - Open X:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Acronis\TrueImage\Scripts\ (where X is the drive letter of the system partition);

    - Right-click on the needed script file (*.tib.tis) and press "Create shortcut";

    - Place the create shortcut to the desktop;

    - Right-click on the shortcut, go to "Properties", "Shortcut" tab and change the "Target" field to "X:\Program Files\Common Files\Acronis\TrueImage\TrueImageService.exe" /script: "X:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Acronis\TrueImage\Scripts\SCRIPT_NAME.tib.tis" (where X is the drive letter of the system partition)

    The quotation marks must be included.

    Now you can associate the Maxtor One Touch button with this shortcut.

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
  5. ableskills

    ableskills Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Posts:
    2
    I am evaluating True Image Home 10 and would like to use my Maxtor One Touch button feature. I have followed the instructions in this thread but it does not work. I don't seem to have an executable called TrueImageService.exe. I tried the /script: parameter with TrueImage.exe but it is ignored (program launches normally but does not try to execute script).

    Is the TrueImageService.exe not part of the evaluation version of Home 10 or has something changed in this version and TrueImageService.exe no longer exists? Is /script: support available in True Image Home 10 or do I need to get True Image Workstation to get /script: support?
     
  6. me75006

    me75006 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    23
    Great way to get a One-Click 'on-demand' back up of selected Files & Folders !

    Perhaps this may help, my desktop shortcut Target is as follows:

    "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Acronis\TrueImage\TrueImageService.exe" /script: "C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Acronis\TrueImage\Scripts\7FXXC5B3-XXXX-4934-AC1B-B48AE25D3546.tib.tis"

    When the shortcut is launched, the service starts ok.
    When you create the shortcut initially, create it in the Scripts folder. Then drag and drop it to your desktop.
    Don't right click and select Send To Desktop(create shortcut).
    Using TI 10 home version.
     
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2006
  7. ableskills

    ableskills Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Posts:
    2
    Thanks for the assistance. It works great! I was leaving out the \common files\ part of the path to TrueImageService.exe.

    ableskills
     
  8. Dougo

    Dougo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    For real beginners, like me, it might be good to mention you copy that final target field, then paste it into the Maxtor application field. I first tried putting the desktop shortcut into the Maxtor application field, and of course, that didn't work. I don't think you'd need to put in on the desktop. After you created the shortcut. just open the properties, then put "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Acronis\TrueImage\TrueImageService.exe" /script: in front of that target, copy the whole new target, then paste in the application field in the Maxtor OneTouch custom setting. You could leave the shortcut there, to give you the "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Acronis\TrueImage\TrueImageService.exe" /script: to copy and paste in case you want to create a new job for the One Touch.
     
  9. hiptech

    hiptech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Posts:
    42
    Excellent thread guys!!!

    This is exactly what I've been looking for, of course it took some time for me to figure out I needed to install the Maxtor OneTouch III software first...doooh!:rolleyes:

    Actually, I kept holding off on the Maxtor install because I thought it was for the Retrospect software - now it all makes sense.

    One comment and a few questions:

    - As Dougo points out, why the need to create/move the shortcut to the desktop and add to the visual clutter? Seems to work well by leaving it in the "C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Acronis\TrueImage\Scripts" folder.

    - Just curious if anyone is using the Maxtor "Sync" feature? If not, is it because the files are uncompressed or is it because they are more vulnerable without the ATI conversion to .tib files? I say this because it is possible to backup files uncompressed using ATI, right?

    - My understanding is Maxtor Sync manually copies and compares files between your PC and the OneTouch and whenever a file changes on the PC, it automatically updates it on the OneTouch?

    - Is the sync feature a viable alternative to running uncompressed TrueImage data file backup? The advantage here would be a more "real time" file updating process than provided by ATI.
     
  10. hiptech

    hiptech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Posts:
    42

    Guess I spoke too soon as this does not seem to be working after all...hmm o_O

    Re-read and tried everything I could find in all the related threads and the root cause seems to be a lack of association between the Maxtor OneTouch button and the script, regardless of where I place the script. So far I've moved it to the desktop, within the "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Acronis\TrueImage" folder, recreated it several times, still no luck.

    If I run the script manually through Windows Explorer by using open it works fine. Each time I enter the "Maxtor OneTouch Manager" program and either paste in or browse for the shortcut, it takes me the "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Acronis\TrueImage" folder but does not show or highlight any particular file?

    Any ideas from anyone else who may have experienced this?
     
  11. Mike P.

    Mike P. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Posts:
    8
    Well, hello everybody.

    I'm the guy who first posted in this thread back in August. I have to say that I didn't know the thread had continued and wasn't even aware that Aleksandr Isakov from Acronis Support had replied to me on September 20, 2006.

    I'm still using True Image 9.0 and, Aleksandr, I've tried your suggestion of creating the shortcut, changing the 'target' and then associating the Maxtor OTB with the shortcut and ---- it doesn't work! All that appears in the OTB Application box is "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Acronis\TrueImage\TrueImageService.exe". There is no reference to the "script" part of the required path. Perhaps the OTB cannot be associated with a short cut.

    I've tried double clicking on the *****.tib.tis script file in Windows Explorer and that doesn't work. The file needs to be associated with an application but I can't get it to associate with TrueImageService.exe. There appears to be a fundamental association problem here.

    However, if I double-click on the short cut on the desktop, the back up runs.

    I'm still in need of assistance
     
  12. Mike P.

    Mike P. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Posts:
    8
    Hiptech

    You appear to be able to click on the script *****.tib.tis in Windows Explorer and then click on open and the back up runs. As you see, I can't. A window opens asking me with which application I wish to associate the script file and I can't seem to associate it with any True Image executable to make it run.

    If you right click on the script file and left click on properties, under the General tab, with what does it say the script opens (words and symbol). Next to that is a change button so it ought to be possible to select any associated executable. Mine just says "TrueImage" and the symbol appears to be a CD on top of a disk or hard drive. I assume yours is something different.
     
  13. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello hiptech and Mike P.,

    We are sorry for the delayed response.

    hiptech, note that I suggested to place the shortcut to the desktop just for convenience. The "one button" back up described in my previous post can be used not only with Maxtor OneTouch hard drives (Maxtor OneTouch button) and it is easier to find the shortcut on the desktop.

    Mike P.:
    Please note that double-clicking on the Acronis True Image script files (*.tib.tis) does not execute them.

    If the Maxtor OneTouch button cannot be associated with the shortcut, you could create a batch file (*.bat) with the following content and associate it with Maxtor OneTouch button.

    **batch file content**

    cd X:\Program Files\Common Files\Acronis\TrueImage\

    start TrueImageService.exe /script: "X:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Acronis\TrueImage\Scripts\SCRIPT_NAME.tib.tis"

    **end of batch file content**

    Where X is the drive letter of the system partition (where Acronis True Image is installed) and SCRIPT_NAME is name of the appropriate *.tib.tis file you wish to execute.

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
  14. Mike P.

    Mike P. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Posts:
    8
    Firstly, I have placed the following batch file (given to me by Andrey Zarubin last September), on my desktop:

    ”C:\Program Files\Common Files\Acronis\TrueImage\TrueImageService.exe” /script:”C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Acronis\TrueImage\Scripts\TrueImageBack.tib.tis”

    where TrueImageBack.tib.tis is the name of the back up script file that I would like to run. If I click on this icon on my desktop, the back up immediately runs. However, if I type the copy in italics above into the Maxtor One Touch Button Application window and then press the OTB, nothing happens. The batch file is not associating itself with the OTB or the OTB requires something more.

    Secondly, I have placed a shortcut to the script file, TrueImageBack.tib.tis, on my desktop and in the ‘Target’ window under the ‘Shortcut’ tab in ‘Properties’ I have entered the same italicised copy above. If I click on this shortcut, the back up again runs immediately but, as before, if I try to associate this shortcut with the OTB, nothing happens again.

    I take it no-one at Acronis has tried to associate a current script file with a Maxtor One Touch Button in practice. Would this not be possible?
     
  15. Mike P.

    Mike P. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Posts:
    8
    Sorry

    Copy was in italics in Word but has not translated in italics. The copy I'm referring to is obviously the full batch file copy between the first and last inverted commas, including the inverted commas.
     
  16. Mike P.

    Mike P. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Posts:
    8
    Hello Aleksandr

    I tried again to see whether the OTB would start any other programme and it didn't seem to be working.

    This prompted me to uninstall the Maxtor application and re-install the utility and driver and the OTB now seems to be working. I have associated it with the aforementioned batch file.

    Thanks for your attention and perseverence and my apologies for any suggestion that the Acronis software was to blame.
     
  17. hiptech

    hiptech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Posts:
    42

    Mike,

    Glad to hear you got this running, sorry for my lack of response to your posts and messages. I'm in the middle of some home remodeling and have only sporadic network access.

    Like you, I've tried and tried and was ultimately unsuccessful at getting this to work so finally I decided to use Maxtor's One Touch Manager Utility and set it up using "Synchronize folders using sync."

    While the files are not encrypted or compressed as they would be during an ATI backup, they do occur in real time. And with a 750GB drive I'm not hurting for storage space right now. Which leads me to wonder, why bother using ATI at all?

    With the exception of performing image backups, the Maxtor util seems to work effortlessly and continuously without needing to remember to push the button each time. Now that I have been using it this way I honestly can't think of why go through the effort of using ATI for backing up anymore?

    As a point of reference, you mention uninstalling "the Maxtor application and re-installing the utility and driver." I'm familiar with Maxtor's One Touch Manager Utility but what are you referring to by app?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.