Maxthon Cloud Browser V4.4.1.3000

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Daveski17, Jul 23, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,030
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    [PC Windows Final] Maxthon Cloud Browser V4.4.1.3000 officially released!

    Hi dear Maxthon folks,

    Today, we are very thrilled to announce that V4.4.1.3000 is available for you to download. This version aims to update the Flash Plugin and solve the Flash hole. Welcome to have a try.

    http://forum.maxthon.com/thread-12174-1-1.html
     
  2. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,976
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  3. atomomega

    atomomega Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Posts:
    1,285
    Thanks @Daveski17
    I got the update notice this morning. All smooth as always. This is by far, my favorite web browser since 2012.
     
  4. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,030
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    You're welcome, and I agree, Maxthon rocks!
     
  5. majoMo

    majoMo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Posts:
    938
    Thanks @Daveski17,

    Like atomomega said, "All smooth as always. This is by far, my favorite web browser since" the end of Opera Presto.
     
  6. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,030
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Yes, I too was great fan of Opera Presto, Maxthon is the nearest thing to it and even surpasses it in many things. I use it on every computer I own. It's the fastest thing I have used and really works well as the default browser on my underpowered laptop.
     
  7. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,884
    Well this is the first browser I have installed since I don't know when...At first look it appears OK.

    However, with only one tab open, i.e. Wilders, it has 5 processes loaded. Why so many?

    ScreenShot_Maxthon browser_v4.4.1.1300_01.gif
     
  8. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,884
    How do I get rid of the column of icons at the left of page?

    ScreenShot_Maxthon browser_v4.4.1.1300_03.gif
     
  9. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    753
    Where do I find the setting to change the new tab page?

    Also. When I click the Home button, it opens a new tab. How do I stop that?
     
  10. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,884
    Just exploring...

    ScreenShot_Maxthon browser_v4.4.1.1300_04.gif

    ScreenShot_Maxthon browser_v4.4.1.1300_05.gif
     
  11. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,884
    I responded to this popup, twice since installing this browser, by denying...No problem. It looks likes it wants register some product info. Why give if it does not affect the usability of the browser?

    ScreenShot_Maxthon browser_v4.4.1.1300_02.gif
     
  12. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,884
  13. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,884
    In the Maxthon browser address bar, type in > "about:config". That will take you to the settings.
     
  14. act8192

    act8192 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    1,274
    Tarnak, I think SSM is telling you that Maxthon want to run some updater for itself with a temp file in MyDocs.
    I only use Maxthon on Android tablet, so can't comment on GUI, but would think you can in options disable its updater. Likewise the sidebar on the left is likely your quick access to a bunch of options such as links, history, downloads, etc.
     
  15. majoMo

    majoMo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Posts:
    938
    @ Tarnak,

    > "How do I get rid of the column of icons at the left of page?"

    Right click in that column and you find the option to hide.

    EDITED: I saw now you figured it out. :)
     
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2014
  16. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    753
    Thanks, but it just takes me to Settings, which I have already looked in, and they are not there.
     
  17. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,030
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    If you double click on the top part of the tab it should take you back to your homepage rather than opening a separate tab.
     
  18. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    753
    Thanks Dave, but I think that is a very silly default setting, especially if it can't be changed.
    What about the option to change the new tab page?
     
  19. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,030
    Location:
    Lloegyr
  20. atomomega

    atomomega Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Posts:
    1,285
    Maxthon only shows the 'tiles page' as New Tab page. It looks nice but I've personally never clicked on most of them. I understand this can be frustrating but one you get used to it, it really is no big deal. Hey, no browser is perfect.
     
  21. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,806
    The only gripe I have about Maxthon, of course a small gripe

    I don't like it when I hit the homepage button, that it opens in a new tab.

    Of course this is something I can live with, but it would be nice if that function operated like every other browser.

    Other than that, Maxthon is the best out there IMO.

    Super fast, nice built in features, supports the latest standards, supports almost every platform and of course looks really nice.
     
  22. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,030
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    It reminds me of Sleipnir in the tab aspect. As I said earlier though, you can go back to the speed dial by just double-clicking the top of the tab.
     
  23. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,806
    I did not know that, thank you for the tip Daveski17
     
  24. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,030
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    You're welcome. It's become natural to me over the years to double-click tabs off in various browsers. Sometimes I accidentally try to double-click Firefox back to the start page, forgetting that the 'tab-clicking options' extension closes the whole browser with just one tab running lol.

    I'm normally in Maxthon 99% of the time now, and have been for two or three years at least.
     
  25. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    i just started using Maxthon and here's a few of the things i like:

    * feels very fast in daily usage
    * night mode so you don't get blinded at night
    * split screen mode
    * skinnable GUI
    * nice download manager
    * integrated screen grabber that can grab the whole page or just part of it

    things i don't like:

    * not many quality addons/extensions.
    * not too many options in the privacy/security settings.

    things unknown:
    * security and privacy: my guess is that Maxthon is the equivalent of a out-of-the box Firefox or Opera in this regard.

    i will keep using for the next few days/weeks because i really like it.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.