Maxthon 1.3.1 or Opera 8 ??

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by POOOS, Jun 14, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. POOOS

    POOOS Guest

    Best browser?? Opera 8 or Maxthon? Is maxthon secure?
     
  2. AnthonyG

    AnthonyG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Posts:
    614
    I would go hands down with Maxthon. I think in terms of security if you go into options at the top and click disabale Active X and java its safe but id wait for a reply from someone like Bigc or Bubba to be sure on that.

    (to be honest ive been planning on posting this question about maxthon myself)
     
  3. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I would have to argue that opera is much more secure than maxthon for the simple reason opera doesn't have a known security risk browser as it's core.
     
  4. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    I agree with you, but I only want to say that Maxthon is more secure than IE because you can only use BHO, toolbars, and other stuff that Maxthon author permit...
     
  5. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,048
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    Correct me if I am wrong, I believe that Opera, just like Firefox, doesn't even have ActiveX, isn't that correct?

    Acadia
     
  6. AnthonyG

    AnthonyG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Posts:
    614
    Yes but for ease of use, a lot of pages dont let you use Opera, or dont render properly if you do.

    I use Firefox as my main and Maxthon as my backup browsers and i am happy.

    Plus Opera is Adaware, something i do not wish to support!.
     
  7. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I have heard that statement that opera doesn't render some web pages right. I would appreciate it if you would give me the link to one of them as I have never run across one. I would like to check it out.
     
  8. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma

    and as far as adware goes here is a screen shot of the ads I have. Hardly distracting. and very little to put up with to have the free version of the best browser there is in my opinion.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. shek

    shek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Posts:
    342
    Location:
    SE CHINA/NYC USA
    there are lots of chinese websites, which are compatible with IE only and opera cannot render them correctly. For example, in bt1.btchina.net, opera and firefox cannot display the table. but IE does.
     
  10. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I appreciate the link. But I don't go to chinese sites anyways since I don't speak the language.
     
  11. shek

    shek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Posts:
    342
    Location:
    SE CHINA/NYC USA
    to be honest, i never find any english websites which have problems with opera either.
     
  12. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    We are lucky though to have the choice of all the browsers available, it makes it nice to be able to choose. :D ;)
     
  13. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,048
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    I played with Opera once, several months ago. I was able to make the ad quite small actually, but I don't remember how I did it.

    Acadia
     
  14. DigitalMan

    DigitalMan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2004
    Posts:
    90
    I've had rendering problems with some of our internal corporate webpages (expense system, database reporting web interfaces, web conferencing, etc.) with Opera in the past, but otherwise use it for visiting risky sites and have been impressed. Last time I tried Maxthon it was really buggy and not well organized IMHO (about a year ago), don't know if it is better now.
     
  15. pcalvert

    pcalvert Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Posts:
    203
    You might want to consider Deepnet Explorer instead of Maxthon. It looks pretty interesting.

    I downloaded it a couple of months ago but never got around to installing it. I might use it as a backup web browser, but not as my main browser.

    Take a look:
    Deepnet Explorer


    Phil
     
  16. Paranoid2000

    Paranoid2000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Posts:
    2,839
    Location:
    North West, United Kingdom
    This is true - Maxthon may reduce the risks of some spyware but it can't do anything about core Internet Explorer vulnerabilities - whereas Opera 8 has far fewer.
    By default, Opera identifies itself as Internet Explorer to avoid problems with certain brain-damaged websites - however I have noticed that the forum Thread Tools, Search Thread and Display Mode droplists normally displayed at the bottom are not visible with Opera 8.x (they were with Opera 6). Since they are visible at vBulletin.com (which is running version 3.5 beta compared to 3.07 here) I presume this is an issue with vBulletin that will be fixed once 3.5 is publicly available.
    While the unregistered version of Opera does display advertising, it does not involve the installation of extra software or the collection of personal data - you can choose either generic ads or ones "related" to the website you visit. See Opera's Banner Advertising Implementation page for more details. Compared to most other adware, Opera does give you rather more control and has a number of advantages to compensate - even if you don't pay to register.
    The Google Text Ads are just two lines at the top (though you lose your toolbar) and can be selected via Tools/Preferences/Advanced/Advertising/Show relevant text ads... - they can be blocked using Proxomitron or a similar web filter but registering is the proper way to get rid of them.
     
  17. tuatara

    tuatara Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Posts:
    772
    The only webpages that are not shown perfectly in Opera are those who are not w3c.org compliant.

    see: http://www.w3.org

    The reason is that in most cases this is an implementation of one Company,
    and if you can see the page correclty, it means that your browser has some
    serious vulnerabilities.

    If you want to be able to see all pages, perhaps you must test the new
    Netscape browser 8.0.x which has an option to switch between
    Firefox (safe) and Internet Exploder (unsafe) view.

    Although this new browser is not very stable yet!

    i've tested a lot of browsers, and i prefer Opera,
    because it is still the fastes! and one of the safest browsers out there,
    has features others have not.

    2nd is Firefox

    3th Netscape latest version, very nice features, for testing you just built webpages, but sadly ...still ..unstable

    then there or few dozen more and at the end is Internet Explorer.

    Which is unsafe.
    Which slows down your system.
    Is to far intergrated in OS.
    Has ALWAYS been behind on security over the years!!

    b.t.w.
    I think it is rather strange that Opera is that much faster then Firefox.

    ;)
     
  18. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,748
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Opera, no issues seen by now. I read there are no bugs to patch right now.
    The ad I blocked.
     
  19. SvS

    SvS Security Expert

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2004
    Posts:
    57
    To be fair, Opera has some rendering problems (mostly CSS related) which will prevent even 100% valid HTML pages from displaying correctly. The "Standard Compliance" fairy tale is usually brought into the game by the developers every time their rendering engine has problems. In addition, if a single missing end tag in a nested layout or a single vendor specific tag in the pages CSS destroys the entire page design, "Standard Compliance" is just a poor excuse IMO.
     
  20. Paranoid2000

    Paranoid2000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Posts:
    2,839
    Location:
    North West, United Kingdom
    Well, come to mention it, I encountered a number of crashes with Opera 8 (typically when entering a long response on a forum thread too...bah! :(). However the 8.01 beta (preview 1 build 7583, available from the Opera for Windows - Previews and Betas page) seems to have fixed that problem.
     
  21. Jamestaylor

    Jamestaylor Guest

    BTW Maxthon has a known link with steadysearch, a well known scumbag company that uses browser hijacking and other evil practises.
     
  22. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    I also don'r agree that Maxthon have a search link to "Steady Search"...
     
  23. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,825
    Not on my machine. Firefox owned Opera bigtime. Unless there are some tweaks for Opera (like FF has) then the results on my machine did not show that at all.

    Firefox opened and rendered pages MUCH faster than Opera for me.

    Windows XP SP2
    P4 3.0ghz
    1.5GB RAM

    Jag

    P.S. K-Meleon on the other hand, now that is a fast browser! :eek:
     
  24. jamestaylor

    jamestaylor Guest

  25. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.