Max settings ESS 4.0.474.0

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by Subgud, Dec 23, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Subgud

    Subgud Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Posts:
    151
    Location:
    Norway
    I have a question about setting up ESS with max settings. I am a bit paranoid, and after xp antivirus pro 2010 sliped through and ESS not warning about a thing I thought it was time to set my settings to max. Have been using default settings until now.

    So I jumped into the menu and maxed everthing. Runtime packers, strict cleaning, potensial dangerous files, all I could tweak to max under the different modules.

    Are there anyone else out there who has been doing the same? If so, are you experience any problems, any lag in you cpu, ram? I have noticed that when I download a file it will take some seconds from the file is finshed downloading until the file is ready to use. I think it is because ESS is checking the file extreme carefully.

    Just want to hear if I am the only one with these settings!

    Cheers!
     
  2. nikanthpromod

    nikanthpromod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Posts:
    1,369
    Location:
    India
    that might be an overkill:isay:
    This may slow file execution down.:doubt:
    may cause FPs.
    Take more time for scanning unless u have sufficient ram

    MBAM pro is good against Rogues. Im using Eset SS with MBAM pro:D
     
  3. Subgud

    Subgud Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Posts:
    151
    Location:
    Norway
    I also have MBAM. But I was very surprised when ESS didnt do anything when it installed. Lucky for me that I stopped it and removed it via a scan in safe mode. I dont remember the site I was at when this happend. But I was not visiting a porn/xxx/malware site.

    I just found it strange that ESS wouldnt detect it.
     
  4. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    I'd bet that 90-100% of other antivirus programs wouldn't have detected it either. Rogue AVs are nothing but dirty business. Their authors modify them until they are undetected by the AVs they focus on and just after that they release their creations to the public. There's a standalone ESET Rogue AV cleaner available that you can download and use ad-hoc. If you want to avoid further rogue AV infections, never rely on security programs that they'll catch 100% of malware but take precautions yourself, such as:
    - do not run programs with administrator rights unless necessary (e.g. when installing programs from a trusted source)
    - do not visit dodgy sites
    - avoid using cracks and unknown programs from sources you don't trust
    - use browsers in a sandbox or at least with scripting disabled
    - keep the OS as well as security software always up to date
    - use strong administrator passwords in LAN and disable admin shares, if possible
     
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2009
  5. nikanthpromod

    nikanthpromod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Posts:
    1,369
    Location:
    India
    Safe practices:thumb:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.