manually push config file

Discussion in 'ESET Server & Remote Administrator' started by nicky87t, Nov 22, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. nicky87t

    nicky87t Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    2
    Can anyone provide me the information where (path to the folder) is stored the config.xml file on the client machine?

    Thanks :)
     
  2. dmaasland

    dmaasland Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Posts:
    468
    It's not. It's generated when you export the settings from the client. What are you trying to do exactly?
     
  3. nicky87t

    nicky87t Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    2
    We've lost the server were the clients reported. Now we have a new one, but in order to make the clients report we have to send a new config file (with the new server path). So we thought to use robocopy and just overwrite the config file as we don't really want to reinstall all the clients.

    We also have a problem with a client that I manually changed the path to the server. It doesn't show up in clients list. Any thoughts. The firewall is down inside the corporate network, the computer is in domain and we don't have accounts without passwords.

    Thanks for every hint :)
     
  4. indiasupport

    indiasupport Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    India
    Dear nicky87t,

    As per you "We've lost the server were the clients reported. Now we have a new one" . I would suggest set the same host name or Ip address as applicable in Remote administration feature on any client.
     
  5. SmackyTheFrog

    SmackyTheFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Posts:
    767
    Location:
    Lansing, Michigan
    As others have said, the settings are not kept in a xml file but the system registry. XML files are just a way of distributing config files.

    The problem you're going to have is that the Self-Defense feature locks down the registry keys where these settings are kept so you can't directly modify them with a regeditor (this only applies to v4+ clients, if you have v3 you can directly edit their registry keys).

    Your best bet would be to make a new deployment package with your cfg.xml file setup with the settings to point the clients to your new server and re-deploy. Failing that, you can take the xml file around manually to the client GUIs and and import the settings.

    How were the clients configured to point to the old server before you lost it? If it was by hostname with DNS resolution, you might be able to use a CNAME record to redirect requests from the old name to the new one. Or if it was by IP then configure multiple IP addresses on the new server. Either way, if you can get your clients talking to the server then you can use that as a conduit to push down new configuration tasks to get them pointed to the correct permanent address for the server.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.