Malwarebytes standalone or w/AV

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by ankupan, Apr 20, 2017.

1. ankupan

ankupan Registered Member

Hi,

Thinking to give a trial to Malwarebytes.

is it supporting AV or replacing AV ?

Any conflict by using with AV ?

2. Krusty

Krusty Registered Member

Personally, I wouldn't trust MB 3 alone on my machines. Adding just about any AV would be a better solution.

3. ozbadcat

ozbadcat Registered Member

This is so sad Krusty - I am a long time user/believer of MBAM V2 ..... that unfortunately has only 20 days left on present subscription. I have followed yours and many others on here with installing MB 3 and the seemingly endless list of problems/issues you guys have experienced. I am loathe to give up V2 for as long as possible - and when a reputable company like Malwarebytes has lost the TRUST of users of your expertise then its all over ......

4. Krusty

Krusty Registered Member

Hi ozbadcat,

Disclaimer: I'm no expert. ;)

Don't get me wrong, MB does still offer some protection especially with its Anti-Exploit component. Since it can be used with other AVs that is what I'd be doing.

I'm still using MBAM 2 here so you can too if you like until either MB 3 becomes more stable or MBAM 2 reaches EOL. The license is good for either so you shouldn't have any problem either way.

5. Brummelchen

Brummelchen Registered Member

6. plat1098

plat1098 Guest

Last edited by a moderator: Apr 21, 2017
  7. Peter2150

Peter2150 Global Moderator

The biggest problem is there silly marketing department. They claim it 's an anti virus replacement, but people question and performance issues are greet in the forum by the response it's not a replacment. They are correct, and it's the marketing department that needs to get a dose of reality. Doubt that wlll happen.

8. Bill_Bright

Bill_Bright Registered Member