Malwarebytes Pro and Prevx

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by TheIgster, Feb 9, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TheIgster

    TheIgster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Posts:
    645
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Anyone running Malwarebytes Pro and Prevx? I've been running Avast and Prevx for quite some time together, but am considering buying Malwarebytes Pro to run in real time as well.

    Would like opinions...thanks.
     
  2. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    i did for about 5 months without any problems;)
     
  3. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,829
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    Prevx and MBAM Pro are not what might cause you problems.
    avast 5.0 and MBAM Pro might.
    A new avast! build (5.0.415) was released today... see here ... and one of its main fixes is "an attempt to solve the compatibility issue with MBAM Pro".
    In case you haven't heard, some avast! users have been reporting feezing/hanging issues when they add in MBAM Pro. Vlk says it is just like running another resident AV, and thus the trouble begins.
    HTH
     
  4. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    thanks page for letting us know this isue:thumb:
     
  5. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,650
    Location:
    Hawaii
    MalwareBytes Anti-Malware Pro (MBAM) runs nicely with Prevx on my computer. MBAM is great against rogues & drive-bys, as well as spyware etc. MBAM & Prevx make a great team, in my opinion.
     
  6. G1111

    G1111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Posts:
    2,127
    Location:
    USA
    ditto. Both worked well together.
     
  7. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    yes they are a good team and belljamin forgot to mention prevx also blocks nasty rootkits in real time;)
     
  8. TheIgster

    TheIgster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Posts:
    645
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Thanks for the posts guys!
     
  9. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,829
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    Quick follow up... it looks as though the avast folks may have fixed the MBAM Pro issue. See here. I realize the OP has asked about MBAM Pro and Prevx, but I very astutely noticed that he was also running avast as part of his set up. ;)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.