Malwarebytes Anti-Malware Updates

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by puff-m-d, Nov 14, 2016.

  1. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,677
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Got it! Thanks as always @1PW . :thumb:
     
  2. 1PW

    1PW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Posts:
    1,004
    Location:
    North of the 38th parallel.
    You're welcome my friend. Stay safe!
     
  3. 1PW

    1PW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Posts:
    1,004
    Location:
    North of the 38th parallel.
    Malwarebytes for Windows v4.3.0.98 - CU 1.0.1173 BETA is being pushed out.

    Announcement: https://forums.malwarebytes.com/topic/267583-malwarebytes-43-beta/?do=findComment&comment=1436637

     
  4. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,677
    The Threat Scan takes few minutes (Objects Scanned: 278.078 / Time Elapsed: 2 min, 3 sec)
    but the time needed for a Custom (Full ) Scan (Objects Scanned: 484.847 / Time Elapsed: 3 hr, 50 min, 22 sec)
    is ridiculous...........
     
  5. 1PW

    1PW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Posts:
    1,004
    Location:
    North of the 38th parallel.
    Hello @anon

    Perhaps you can please reply with answers to the following two questions.

    Q1 - Did the above Custom Scan have Rootkits enabled?
    Q2 - Did the above Threat Scan have Rootkits disabled?

    In normal everyday operation, Malwarebytes recommends the manual Custom Scan only be run very infrequently, whereas the default scheduled Threat Scan is sufficient for most Consumer users. Malwarebytes does not recommend scheduling Custom Scans.

    Thank you.
     
  6. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,677
    Q1 - Yes
    Q2 - Yes
    I know, that's why it was just an infrequent Custom Scan.
    -------------------
    What surprises me it's the huge time difference between the two scans (with and without rootkits) = 3 hr, 50 min, 22 sec / 35 min, 20 sec
    With Avira AV scans, the above mentioned difference is very small.

    For testing purposes here is a Custom scan with Rootkits disabled =
     
  7. 1PW

    1PW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Posts:
    1,004
    Location:
    North of the 38th parallel.
    Hello @anon

    I see where you've accomplished a significant cleanup that favorably improved the most recent Custom Scan's time to completion.

    For the benefit of others, invoking MB4's baked-in rootkit module during any scan has always added overhead because of its thoroughness. Because of it effectiveness, Malwarebytes has also had the free standalone utility called Malwarebytes Anti-Rootkit Beta (MBAR) for those who do not wish to use Malwarebytes for Windows.

    Both MB4 and MBAR have their own, separate, rootkit database files. MB4's default Threat Scan is optimized to scan where malware is known to exist compared to Custom Scan's much wider scans.

    Again as mentioned above, enabling the rootkit module will always add an additional level of thoroughness.

    HTH
     
  8. 1PW

    1PW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Posts:
    1,004
    Location:
    North of the 38th parallel.
    Malwarebytes for Windows v4.3.0.98 - CU 1.0.1173 has been released.

    Announcement: https://forums.malwarebytes.com/topic/267780-malwarebytes-43/?do=findComment&comment=1437890
     
  9. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,677
  10. 1PW

    1PW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Posts:
    1,004
    Location:
    North of the 38th parallel.
    Malwarebytes for Windows v4.3.0.98 - CU 1.0.1191 BETA is being pushed out.

    Announcement: https://forums.malwarebytes.com/topic/267583-malwarebytes-43-beta/?do=findComment&comment=1440533
     
  11. 1PW

    1PW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Posts:
    1,004
    Location:
    North of the 38th parallel.
    Malwarebytes for Windows v4.3.0.98 - CU 1.0.1212 BETA is being pushed out.

    Announcement: https://forums.malwarebytes.com/topic/267583-malwarebytes-43-beta/?do=findComment&comment=1442674
    Note: The MB4 release version is still v4.3.0.98 - CU 1.0.1173
     
  12. kronckew

    kronckew Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Posts:
    386
    Location:
    CSA Consulate, Glos., UK
    upload_2021-3-5_1-40-7.png
    Yup, Mine.
     
  13. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,677
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I can't update definitions, the program and I'm getting a message that MB can't access the licensing server x 2 machines (one with Norton, the other with Kaspersky).
     
  14. kronckew

    kronckew Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Posts:
    386
    Location:
    CSA Consulate, Glos., UK
    I just ran a definition update, it downloaded & installed without error. I suspect they are staging and controlling who gets the new program changes and definitions to avoid overloading their servers.
     
  15. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,677
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    After investigating this issue I found that my ISP is blocking MB IPv6 IP address. I don't know why and their level one techs couldn't tell me either. After I disable IPv6 on my machines, or in this case, use my Netgear modem / router which has IPv6 disabled, I have no problem.
     
  16. kronckew

    kronckew Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Posts:
    386
    Location:
    CSA Consulate, Glos., UK
    I am on British Telecom, My router is their BTHH5 which doesn't fully support IPV6, it translates it down to an IPV4 address. They've started using IPV6 fully in their latest flavour router, which they won't upgrade for us as it still works. I guess I'll have to wait till it breaks, and then they'll replace it with the new one. (;)) I hope 'the dog did it' works. "Knocked it right off the shelf she can't get to. looks almost like she hit it with a sledgehammer.". Could happen any day now. I am occasionally precognitive.
     
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2021
  17. amk609

    amk609 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Posts:
    8
    Noticed that your UPDATES last updated 2 months into the future??
     
  18. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,677
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    It seems I'm not alone:

    https://forums.malwarebytes.com/top...icence-server/?do=findComment&comment=1442917

    https://forums.malwarebytes.com/top...n-token-issue/?do=findComment&comment=1442924
     
  19. 1PW

    1PW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Posts:
    1,004
    Location:
    North of the 38th parallel.
  20. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,677
    Malwarebytes for Windows v4.3.0.98 - CU 1.0.1217
    https://forums.malwarebytes.com/topic/267780-malwarebytes-43/?do=findComment&comment=1444010
    ----------------------
    Malwarebytes for Windows 4.3.0 Release Notes
    https://support.malwarebytes.com/hc...-Malwarebytes-for-Windows-4-3-0-Release-Notes
     
  21. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,677
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
  22. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,677
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Malwarebytes is using ALL my RAM (16GB+)

    https://forums.malwarebytes.com/topic/271704-malwarebytes-is-using-all-my-ram-16gb/
     
  23. 1PW

    1PW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Posts:
    1,004
    Location:
    North of the 38th parallel.
    Malwarebytes for Windows v4.3.0.98 - CU 1.0.1236 BETA is being pushed.

    Announcement: https://forums.malwarebytes.com/topic/267583-malwarebytes-43-beta/?do=findComment&comment=1445862

     
  24. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,677
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    What’s New in 1.0.1236:
    • 30 day Security Summary
    • Additional Enhanced Compatibility for Web Protection
    • Improved detection and remediation
    • Improved Updating functionality
    • Dashboard sign in forgot password (additional corner cases)

    Some Issues now addressed:

    • Fixed: MBAM consumes all RAM if a scan scheduled to time of DST adjusting
    • Fixed: MWAC BSOD with Pulse Secure VPN
    • Fixed: Websites are still blocked using excluded browser when Barracuda Content Shield is installed
    • Fixed: Scheduled scan changes are not read correctly by Narrator until UI restart
    • Fixed: Can not set password with backslash (\) or double quotes (") in Forgot Password Wizard
    • Fixed: Several Upgrade Issues that occur under certain circumstances
    • Fixed: Several minor UI issues
    https://forums.malwarebytes.com/topic/267780-malwarebytes-43/?do=findComment&comment=1447128
     
  25. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    3,870
    FP on an old file adwcleaner.exe version 3.0.2.3 from years ago.
    Yes, it is old. Nevertheless, isn't AdwCleaner now part of Malwarbytes? Don't they check their old files?

    Malwarebytes
    Version: 4.3.0.98
    Components Version: 1.0.1130
    Update Package Version: 1.0.38745

    Malware.AI.4090910830

    Checksums:
    The file AdwCleaner\Version 3_0_2_3\adwcleaner.exe has the following Checksum(s)
    MD5 - 04B47DEEB298AE90A0C42DEAED71F8BA
    SHA-160 - 04C656F5CB00708B093B050DFCBB0D3F34E4A56A
    SHA-256 - 450DE13F98DC79C3E6359CB244FAC2A6F23F848F531F5C5A3EC3B9C2AF365714

    The file has been checked at VT.
    VT 7/70
    None of those 7 ones I trust on this.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.