Malwarebytes Anti-Malware 2.0.X releases

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by AdvancedSetup, Oct 13, 2014.

  1. TheKid7

    TheKid7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Posts:
    3,559
  2. wolfrun

    wolfrun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Posts:
    686
    Location:
    Canada
    2.0.3.1025 seems to have settled in quite well now. Still wondering about the "Delay Protection at Startup" persists to remain checked after being unchecked many times. Also I have "Show notification after successful update" box checked in "Automated Update scheduling", "Check for updates" section. So far I don't see any notification other than in the Program Data, Malwarebytes logs or mouse over MBAM icon in lower tool bar.
     
  3. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,304
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi Wolfrun

    Noticed the same thing about Delay Protection rechecking itself, but there not does seem to be any delay in it starting at startup for what I can see.

    Take Care
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  4. 800ster

    800ster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Posts:
    207

    I read elsewhere that the option does work but the GUI has a bug that always shows it checked. You can check again and test to see if any difference or run the MBAM-Check utility from the MalwareBytes site that will show whether it is checked or not.
     
  5. wolfrun

    wolfrun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Posts:
    686
    Location:
    Canada
    Yes, same here. Even though the Delay Protection remains checked I don't notice any delay on startup. Any thoughts on the "Show notification after successful update" which I have ticked in the "Automated Update Section" ? Just curious as to why I don't see an update window after an update. In version 1.70 the notification window worked there as well as "Flash Scan" if ticked as well. Thanks again for the reply.
    Thanks I'll check out that MBAM check utility just out of curiosity. As I stated above all seems to be working well aside from these minor cliches.
     
  6. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,304
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi 800ster
    Many thanks for you reply and info. :thumb:

    Take Care
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  7. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,304
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi wolfrun
    Save you hunting for the MBAM-Check utility that Hi 800ster posted about here is the link to it :- https://forums.malwarebytes.org/ind...elay-on-startup-cannot-be-unchecked/?p=890275

    Take Care
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  8. nord1

    nord1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Posts:
    126
    Early on, but after allowing the upgrade a few minutes ago, then rebooting (XP PRO SP3), suddenly copy and paste disappeared, as in I could/can not use the clipboard to paste anything. Uninstalled and went back to 1.75. Will double check, but this is not what I hoped for and that is the only change on my system today.

    P.S. With 1.75, clipboard works just fine. Will wait for things to sort out before going back to my 2.0.xxx version.
     
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2014
  9. Countryboy15

    Countryboy15 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2014
    Posts:
    82
    Please put the ability to turn off IP filter notifications back into the program. I am quite happy with the level of protection your program gives me, but I am sick to death of having IP block messages in my face every 5 seconds. What is happening is that the IP filter blocks some image hosting services and, instead of just telling me once and not loading the images linked to said service, it pops up on my screen literally every few seconds until I just leave the unrelated website out of frustration. If the website itself is bad, MBAM simply blocks it, which is wonderful. But I do not need to be pestered by this thing on an otherwise perfectly safe website.

    Please fix that so I do not feel like I have to turn off an otherwise nice to have feature and leave myself more vulnerable.
     
  10. wolfrun

    wolfrun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Posts:
    686
    Location:
    Canada
    Thanks for the info. I had already found it in the Windows Seven Forums. http://www.sevenforums.com/system-security/240099-latest-version-malwarebytes-33.html Looks like the delay protection startup problem will be fixed in the next update according to your post.
     
  11. Mayahana

    Mayahana Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    Posts:
    2,220
    Agreed, this has to stop. I put it on a friends system and he called me the next day asking why it pops up incessantly, and why the protection service stopped, and in one case why the database refused to update. I rolled him back to 1.75... Yet again.
     
  12. Countryboy15

    Countryboy15 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2014
    Posts:
    82
    It was a stupid idea to remove it, they ought to understand that would happen. I am very happy it is trying to protect me, but protect me and then shut up about it. MBAM is not supposed to be one of those old HIPS programs. I noticed the protection stopped on me too a couple of days ago, I had to manually go in and recheck the protection module. I wonder if their answer to us would be "So don't visit "bad" websites and the IP filter won't bug you." If it is their answer, I will just be rid of the entire program and rely on Panda Cloud and free Sandboxie.
     
  13. Roberteyewhy

    Roberteyewhy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Posts:
    586
    Location:
    US
    Cannot get the Contest Menu entry to show up. 2 laptops with same problem. Enabling it in Settings>General Settings>Explorer context menu entry>Yes in radio button does not work.

    Never had this problem in any other versions.
     
  14. rainbow1112

    rainbow1112 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Posts:
    77
  15. 1PW

    1PW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Posts:
    1,082
    Location:
    North of the 38th parallel.
    The application updates are being throttled so as not to negatively impact your nearest contract CDN server. If you are too anxious, and your "Update Settings" have permitted it all along, you may manually download and install the v2.0.3.1025 release on top of v2.0.2.1012 if you prefer.

    HTH :)
     
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2014
  16. nord1

    nord1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Posts:
    126
    Anyone else get an upsale notice when installing this on top of v2? (I have what purports to be a lifetime license for v2 that I got for purchasing MalwareBytesPro some years ago when it was less popular. They said to go for the upgrade from 1.75 and so I did, but this time around I got the following msg:

    (Malwarebytes Anti-Malware Premium 1 Year Subscription, 1 License per 3 PCs
    $24.95
    Delivery:Download
    This is a subscription product with a fee of $24.95 per year. You may cancel your subscription at any time.)
     
  17. Countryboy15

    Countryboy15 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2014
    Posts:
    82
    I think the lifetime license option is gone with the newer versions. I have a lifetime license too I got a long time ago, I am pretty sure they will continue to honor it.
     
  18. nord1

    nord1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Posts:
    126
    Countryboy15,

    Thanks, that was my impression too.... I never expected to be grandfathered into newer versions, but now that I am in, I wish to stay in! (Call me greedy and very, very grateful too!)
     
  19. daman1

    daman1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Posts:
    1,292
    Location:
    USA, MICHIGAN
    Yes they honor it, your good to go!
     
  20. nord1

    nord1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Posts:
    126
    daman1,

    Like that phrase: "good to go!"

    <g>
     
  21. Mayahana

    Mayahana Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    Posts:
    2,220
    I got this, then found my Lifetime keys were killed after a week or so.

    Going back to 1.75, where my keys still work... Slim shady biz.
     
  22. nord1

    nord1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Posts:
    126
    Mayahana,

    Don't like the sound of that at all. Makes we want to stick with 1.75 and fuggedabout the product down the road.
     
  23. Countryboy15

    Countryboy15 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2014
    Posts:
    82
    Just because it happens to one person does not mean it will happen to you. And instead of complaining on a forum, those folks should directly contact the developer. If your license is still working, you do not have anything to not like the sound of.
     
  24. Mayahana

    Mayahana Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    Posts:
    2,220
    For me, I have 10 licenses to MBAM, I cannot be opening tickets and attempting to resolve licensing issues on 10 different machines. I rolled back to 1.75 to be safe, never had any issues. The problem started up with the product telling me subs are 1 year, then it failed to update database, and then failed to recognize PRO edition. Uninstalled, installed 1.75x, and everything was back to normal. So something funny is up with their new licensing system. I can't make any claims either way, only stating what happened to me. MBAM has stated the resolution is to provide proof of purchase of my 2-3 year old keys when opening a ticket to support, that's not viable. I don't keep sales slips for 2-3 year old online purchases.

    I know 1.75x works, and I suspect they have difficulty decaying keys in 1.75 as I think 1.75 cannot decay legitimate keys because it's not programmed to recognize anything other than lifetime keys.
     
  25. Countryboy15

    Countryboy15 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2014
    Posts:
    82
    Something very well could be wrong with their system, I just do not know. When I lost my key a few years back, I just gave them my email address I purchased the license with and they found me in their system. They can look you up if they want to, I am sure. Try to give them as much information as possible, including address. I would also give them the Identifier code found in the "My Account" tab of MBAM, as that may be the most efficient way of looking you up in their database. If they still refuse to help without a receipt after giving them all that, then I would just walk away and not use them again.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.