Malwarebytes Anti-Exploit

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by ZeroVulnLabs, Oct 15, 2013.

  1. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Sorry Jmonge, I forgot about the free version
     
  2. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,923
    Location:
    Canada
    no problem my friend
     
  3. Ashanta

    Ashanta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Posts:
    697
    Location:
    Europe
    Question about the beta version :

    Is the protection for MS Office, PDF Readers, media players enabled on the beta version, please ?
     
  4. ZeroVulnLabs

    ZeroVulnLabs Developer (aka "pbust")

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,189
    Location:
    USA
    Yes, Experimental/Beta versions are fully unlocked.
     
  5. Ashanta

    Ashanta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Posts:
    697
    Location:
    Europe
    Thanks !

    Could you give the direct link for beta version, please ?


     
  6. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    5,405
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
  7. Ashanta

    Ashanta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Posts:
    697
    Location:
    Europe
  8. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    5,405
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello Ashanta,

    You are most welcome ;) ...
     
  9. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    1,894
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    MBAE Free seems to be slowing down my surfing speed with Chrome. I just used my Dragon Browser for a few min and noticed it was a lot faster than Chrome was. About the only dif was that Chrome was using MBAE Free. So i stopped MBAE and started Chrome and it was as fast as Dragon was.
     
  10. ZeroVulnLabs

    ZeroVulnLabs Developer (aka "pbust")

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,189
    Location:
    USA
    @Dragon1952, do you have any of the conflicting third-party applications installed (EMET, HMPA, etc.)?
     
  11. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    1,894
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    No i don't have any of them installed.
     
  12. ZeroVulnLabs

    ZeroVulnLabs Developer (aka "pbust")

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,189
    Location:
    USA
    Are you using the latest version of MBAE?
     
  13. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    1,894
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    Yes i am using 1.04.
     
  14. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,373
    Location:
    USA
    100% agree!
     
  15. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    12,491
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    What bothers me even more is incompatibly with HMPA. The "safe browsing" feature in HMPA is pretty unique protection at the moment.
     
  16. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,373
    Location:
    USA
    Should we create a poll? ;)
     
  17. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    I suspect one is always going to have to choose between EMET,MBAE or HMPA. Note both EMET and HMPA are Sandboxie compatible.
     
  18. Yes it is smart to use CPU capabilities, big advantage of HMPA is that it outperforms every competitor when tested with the HMPA testtool. :argh:

    The proof of the pudding is in the eating. MBAE offers insight in all the exploits it blocks on their forum and has his product tested by third parties.
     
  19. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,373
    Location:
    USA
    Per the MBAE product Support page...
    I asked Curt at Invincea if this was being addressed.
    He replied as follows:
     
  20. ZeroVulnLabs

    ZeroVulnLabs Developer (aka "pbust")

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,189
    Location:
    USA
    Yes this is correct, we are looking into it. I'll update as soon as we have something.
     
  21. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,726
    Not really, HMP.A stable and the upcoming free version do not have anti-exploit enabled. Yet MBAE tends to be incompatible anyhow.
     
  22. Nightwalker

    Nightwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,169
    There is some delay when opening new tabs with Chrome when MBAE is turned on, maybe the reason is that Chrome creates a new process?

    No delay in Firefox ...
     
  23. FleischmannTV

    FleischmannTV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    1,094
    Location:
    Germany
    @Nightwalker

    I confirm. When you use Chrome it creates and closes new chrome.exe child processes all the time, even if you open a new website inside an existing tab. This is why you can feel dll injection most with Chrome and almost not at all with Firefox and other single process browsers.
     
  24. ky331

    ky331 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Posts:
    152
    I am very happy to learn that Pedro (MBAE) and Curt (Sandboxie) are in communication about the issue :). If they can work out the incompatibility, it will be an immense benefit to users of both products.
     
  25. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    1,894
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    I have 24 Extensions running in Chrome which might be why MBAE really slows Chrome down more than IE9 for me which only has a few Extensions.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.