Malwarebytes Anti-Exploit

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by ZeroVulnLabs, Oct 15, 2013.

  1. KaptainBug

    KaptainBug Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2013
    Posts:
    484
    MBAE is out of beta. Did you disable realtime protection of Norton AV and Zonealarm firewall before installing MBAE ?
     
  2. LittleDude

    LittleDude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Posts:
    73
    MBAE installs and runs fine with Norton Internet Security(for me anyway) so Norton could possibly be eliminated as the cause.
     
  3. ZeroVulnLabs

    ZeroVulnLabs Developer (aka "pbust")

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,189
    Location:
    USA
    MBAE is out of beta already. Can you please post or PM all the logfiles mentioned here? Thanks!
     
  4. WSFfan

    WSFfan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Posts:
    374
    Location:
    The Earth
  5. ZeroVulnLabs

    ZeroVulnLabs Developer (aka "pbust")

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,189
    Location:
    USA
    WOW, just when you think you've seen it all along comes some clueless "tester" with something as funny as this.

    Those links are not exploits. Even if they were, the "tester" didn't even know how to trigger them. For example one page clearly showed a missing plugin. *IF* that page was an exploit, it most likely needed the plugin to exploit it. The others have no clear indication of being exploits, or maybe even exploit different browser such as IE and non-installed plugins like Flash, Java or Silverlight.

    I'm trying really hard to not call this guy a clueless **** (please mods, censor me) but it's proving really difficult.
     
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2014
  6. guest

    guest Guest

    i will not say idiot but "ignorant" , that is the problem with (most) youtube testers, they don't know about what they test and even don't bother trial the product to see what it does...then they use it on a VM (that may cripple the product ) and after they say "products x is bad"
     
  7. vojta

    vojta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Posts:
    830
    "Malware Test
    Well-Known Member
    Joined: May 5, 2014".


    Nobody is a stranger there, such a friendly place.
     
  8. crapbag

    crapbag Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Posts:
    145
    Thanks for the reply. I ran scans with HMP and MBAM and my system seems clean. I'm not running HMPAlert and uninstalled EMET a few months ago because it gave me similar trouble opening browsers under its default settings. Weird. EMET doesn't appear on my list of programs but it may have left something behind as Sandboxie always picks it up under its software compatibility feature.

    I've had a look at the MBAE folder left behind after uninstallation. Is the info you require in the log.data.dat file?
     
  9. guest

    guest Guest

    indeed ;)
     
  10. ky331

    ky331 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Posts:
    157
    jpcummins wrote: "I looked in Task Manager but did not find a process related to Malwarebytes Anti-Exploit..."

    Older versions of MBAE (0.09.x) launched the program via a Scheduled Task... the more recent versions (0.10.x beta and 1.x official release) use a START-UP PROGRAM (mbae.exe) and a SERVICE (mbae-sve.exe), both of which should appear in your WinPatrol under the respective tabs.

    "I will wait for the next version, not a beta..."

    The current version [1.03.1.1220 as I'm writing this] IS an official, NON-Beta, version... and has been out for several weeks already.

    Well, I see that other people have already included some of this information, as I was slow in typing ;-)
     
  11. ZeroVulnLabs

    ZeroVulnLabs Developer (aka "pbust")

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,189
    Location:
    USA
    Yes, you are right of course. Sorry to everybody for the outburst. I'll edit my post which is a bit out of line.

    The file log.data.dat is not from MBAE. Please take a look here for detailed instructions on how/what logs to provide.
     
  12. jpcummins

    jpcummins Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    541
    Location:
    Terre Haute, IN
    Sorry for the misunderstanding; when I said "not a beta" I didn't mean to imply that the version I attempted to install was a beta because it was in fact the latest version. As I said previously when the next version is released I will try again and if necessary delve into why it did not install. I honestly thought it was something I might have unknowingly done and thought it might be something simple to correct. I am not giving up on MBAE just addressing more pressing problems. Again, thanks to everyone who replied to my post.

    John
     
  13. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    Well you are a Mod on that crazy forum so you could tell him a few words. :D
    You could also mention to this user that they are not FP's: http://malwaretips.com/threads/eset-smart-security-7-test-and-review.29561/#post-222266
     
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2014
  14. guest

    guest Guest

    hahahaha, i wish but mod means "you have to be polite even if you are mad" ;)

    by the way we are not "crazy" just different :D
     
  15. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    Haha yeah sure, but he is far from the only member doing that on your forum. And i'm sure they would appreciate if someone said anything about how they can improve.

    I think you know what I mean by crazy, people with too little knowledge signs up and starts testing products against malware on their real systems, that is crazy not different. ;) Guidelines are needed.

    Now back on topic....
     
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2014
  16. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,985
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    After you uninstall a program, to get rid of Software compatibility settings that are not necessary anymore, go to:

    Configure>Software compatibility, double click the setting thats obsolete, click Remove, OK. After you do that, when you reopen the Software compatibility window, the old setting should not appear anymore.

    Bo
     
  17. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,569
    Location:
    The Netherlands
  18. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    USA
    Yeah, I watched that test also. My chin just kind of dropped with a dumbfounded look on my face lol Many exploits will not just automatically run by just going to the page. If there were exploits on those pages then the tester needed to locate them, and trigger them assuming the tester had the vulnerable applications installed on his machine with the needed plugins (java, flash, silverlight, adobe reader, etc..). Also the tester should have used a process monitor so we could see if any new processes were being spawned. I could go on, but there's no reason to bash the tester anymore than he already has been. I think Malwaretips needs to limit who can post test of products on their forum. Horribly inaccurate test results like those hurt the reputation of a product, and cost them money. The developer also has to waste time responding to the fallout. I test security products from home, but I send the results to the developer so if there are any discrepancies they can consult with me about my testing methods. I only do it from time to time to contribute to improving the products I use so the developers seem to value my findings.
     
  19. crapbag

    crapbag Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Posts:
    145
    Thanks Bo!
     
  20. The occasional "hanging" of Chrome at Chrome launch is gone, since this seems to be no new release it was probably related with Chrome.
     
  21. ZeroVulnLabs

    ZeroVulnLabs Developer (aka "pbust")

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,189
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks for confirming!
     
  22. luciddream

    luciddream Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Posts:
    2,545
    Looks like it's soon gonna be time for me to give this a test drive. I wanted to at least wait for stable builds. I think I'll give it a tad longer to mature still, but you could say it's on my on deck circle.
     
  23. safeguy

    safeguy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Posts:
    1,794
  24. guest

    guest Guest

    When it will be fixed the compatibility with HPA? If I remember well the issue was in MBAE, right?
     
  25. guest

    guest Guest

    the real issue is they post it on Youtube first THEN malwaretips , the damages are already done...

    I am in charge of the review/test section, and if you knew how many videos are posted every day, sometimes i don't even want to watch them :D

    the problem with youtube testers are when a product is updated/appears , they fire up the VM (what i find grotesque already, they should do it on real system), collect some samples in MDL or Malc0de, then test the product without even using it for a while to know how it works.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 19, 2014
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.