Malwarebytes Anti-Exploit

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by ZeroVulnLabs, Oct 15, 2013.

  1. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    5,004
    Just updated: v1.13.1.283
     
  2. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    7,009
  3. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    7,009
    Malwarebytes Anti-Exploit 1.13 Build 288 released - Oct 29, 2020
    https://forums.malwarebytes.com/top...i-exploit-113-build-288-released-oct-29-2020/
     
  4. Feandur

    Feandur Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Posts:
    429
    Location:
    Australia
    Have been watching this thread. Noticed that Cutting_Edgetech went to bat on the Malwarebytes forums to advance resolution of the Word bug. That now seems to be resolved by Arthi to the benefit of all (in version 288 ) . Thanks Cutting_Edgetech.
    This version 1.13.1.288 could be a real keeper!

    cheers
     
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2020
  5. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,657
    Location:
    USA
    No problem Feandur! They resolved one of the bugs I was having with Word, but there is at least one more false positive that I am experiencing with Word. If I decide not to save a document or not to save changes made to a document when closing word, then it will trigger MBAE.
     
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2020
  6. Feandur

    Feandur Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Posts:
    429
    Location:
    Australia
    Thanks Cutting_Edgetech. :)

    Also just noticed that a french poster (johnnycollet) identified (Wednesday) another bug with the promise from exile360:

    Hopefully, two fixes coming up.

    Thanks.

    Feandur
     
  7. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    7,009
    Malwarebytes Anti-Exploit 1.13 Build 304 released - Nov 23, 2020
    -----------------
    Edit 1:
    Download Malwarebytes Anti-Exploit Beta - MajorGeeks
    -----------------
    Edit 2:
    Malwarebytes Anti-Exploit 1.13 Build 304 released - Nov 23, 2020 - Anti-Exploit Beta - Malwarebytes Forums
     
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2020
  8. zerotox

    zerotox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Posts:
    419
    Hi, guys. I searched quite a bit for some user experience of combining MBAE with ESET AV (not ESS) on Windows 7 but couldn't find anything conclusive. Can anyone share his experience.
    Thank you.
     
  9. bellgamin

    bellgamin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    7,621
    Location:
    Hawaii
    I run Win7 and have run MBAE with trial versions of ESET & dozens of different AVs (I like to try apps out). Never a problem.
     
  10. zerotox

    zerotox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Posts:
    419
    Thank you for replying. I also installed it, so far no issues.
     
  11. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    42,809
    Malwarebytes Anti-Exploit Beta 1.13 Build 316 (January 14, 2021)
    Release Notes (Forum)
    Download: https://downloads.malwarebytes.org/file/mbae
    Malwarebytes Anti-Exploit 1.13.1.316
    Stability/issues fixed:
    • Fixed false positive detection issues in VBA7 protection
    • Fixed performance issues with MS Office applications
    • Fixed customer issue with eXtyles add-in
    • Internal security improvements
    • Internal product improvements
     
  12. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    15,193
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    OMG, what a nightmare. On a 1920x1080 resolution the GUI looks blurry and when changing DPI settings it looks very small, you would expect better from a company like Malwarebytes. Also, strangely enough no standard support for Vivaldi and still no sorting options.
     
  13. Surt

    Surt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2019
    Posts:
    381
    Location:
    USA
    It's a beta.

    Malwarebytes surely appreciates your involvement in their testing program for Malwarebytes for Windows. That free beta testing program being what they announced in no uncertain terms back when they stiffed those who paid for Anti-Exploit Premium.
     
  14. bellgamin

    bellgamin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    7,621
    Location:
    Hawaii
    ScreenHunter_01 Jan. 16 18.17.gif
    I'm sorry about your problem. I hope Malwarebytes will fix it soon.

    It's sharp as a tack on my 14" laptop, as shown above in its actual size. As @Surt indicated, the MBAE freebies are all betas. Keeping the betas as freebies is how Malwarebytes kept their promise to users of this app before it was taken over by them. Their MBAE betas very VERY rarely have bugs.
     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2021
  15. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    15,193
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    They will probably not fix it, because I just realize that anti-exploit is also a component in Malwarebytes AV, so they use MBAE to test new features, like Surt said. But I'm guessing that you have a low resolution on your 14 inch laptop, is this correct? The problem that I'm complaining about is explained in the link, certain apps will either look blurry or too small on 1920x1080 resolutions with a scale of 150%. Sometimes you can fix it by manually changing DPI settings, so both Win 10 and app developers are to blame.

    https://blogs.windows.com/windowsde...ktop-applications-windows-10-creators-update/
     
  16. fblais

    fblais Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Posts:
    1,300
    Location:
    Québec, Canada
  17. Surt

    Surt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2019
    Posts:
    381
    Location:
    USA
    The efficacy of MBAE is without question, which is why I continue to use it. My post #3988 was in no way meant to demean that.

    As for Premium users being stiffed, I should report that after a strongly worded email in 2016, Malwarebytes did refund me a pro-rated amount I calculated to be owed based on the time remaining. About $12.00. I know, peanuts, but its the principle of the thing. But I wonder how many Premium users took that route.

    Though functionally ineffective, just for grins I still "validate" my license. Yes, it does connect to their server in that process.

    WildersMBAE2.jpg
    As in all betas, it's use at your risk. And you get what it is and what it is is what you get. You are 1) testing improved core mission components of their anti-exploit tech before integration into their premium product and 2) finding bugs. That was as the understanding about five years ago, so no one can be expected to know/remember that specifically; the beta is that good. Therefore, I don't agree that any promise was kept to the free users or the Premium customers of the then stable releases.

    There should be no expectation Malwarebytes will jazz up that MBAE user interface or feature enrich its user experience. Though it would be nice...
     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2021
  18. bellgamin

    bellgamin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    7,621
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Yes, quite a bit lower. I need icons etc to be large, because of my poor vision & the laptop's small screen. Lower resolution enlarges things. :D
     
  19. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    Or you can hdmi connect it to a 55 inch tv the icons looks huge ;)that's hown I have it:)
     
  20. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    15,193
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Do you also use a DPI scale of 150%? If you're using a scale of 100% then the GUI will look crisp but very small, but this is normal since it's a 1920x1080 resolution. But apps are also supposed to look crisp with a scale of 150%, and that's the problem. I also saw it with apps like Privacy Eraser and MSI AfterBurner.

    Don't forget that Apple MacBooks also have a very high resolution, but I'm guessing you can simply use a higher DPI scale without any of the problems that I see on Win 10.
     
  21. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    7,009
    Updated to v1.13.1.345
     
  22. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    42,809
    Malwarebytes Anti-Exploit Beta 1.13 Build 345 (March 12, 2021)
    Release Notes (Forum)
    Download: https://downloads.malwarebytes.org/file/mbae
    Malwarebytes Anti-Exploit 1.13.1.345
    Stability/issues fixed:
    • Fixed false positive detection issues in VBA7 protection
    • Fixed performance issues with MS Office applications
    • Fixed customer issue with eXtyles add-in
    • Internal security improvements
    • Internal product improvements
     
  23. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    42,809
    Malwarebytes Anti-Exploit Beta 1.13 Build 400 (July 26, 2021)
    Release Notes (Forum)
    Download: https://downloads.malwarebytes.org/file/mbae
    Malwarebytes Anti-Exploit 1.13.1.400
    Protection:
    • New protection technique to block exploits from abusing MS Office and scripting applications
    • New technique to protect MS Office applications from loading points abuse attacks
    • New technique to protect MS Office applications from batch command abuse attacks
    • New granular protection against VBA7 process and VBE7 object abuse
    • New protection for email clients against scripting applications abuse attacks
    • New protection to protect MS Office applications from macro 4.0 abuse attacks
    Stability/issues fixed:
    • Fixed slowdown issues with MS Excel application
    • Disabled Java shield by default
    • Improved Logging capabilities
    • Internal Product Improvements
     
  24. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    15,193
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I have decided to give MBAE a try again since HMPA isn't ready for primetime yet on my machine. And so far I'm not having any problems and I was able to fix the DPI issue with the "System Enchanced" setting. I also figured out that you can add processes like vivaldi.exe to the protection list. All in all not that bad, I'm actually surprised that they are still offering this tool for free. And to clarify, at the moment I did stop using Sandboxie for browser protection, because I know it might not play well with anti-exploit tools like MBAE and HMPA.
     
  25. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    4,418
    to mention: windows 10 defender already owns an anti-exploit module.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.